We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We first visited this hotel in November 08 and enjoyed it so much that we treated ourselves to another short break and have just returned.
The hotel is ideally situated mid way between the small town of Shanklin and the beach. There is excellent walking and cycling close by which appeals to us and the owners are extremely knowledgable having always lived on the Island.
The hotel is spotless and we enjoyed the bar and general friendliness. The view over the sea from Room 2 is wonderful. The breakfast was incredible!
We will certainly visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peddlingstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed here over Easter 2009 and received excellent service from the owners of this small hotel. Nothing ever appeared to be to much trouble for them. The rooms were large, plenty of hanging/storage space and with decent bathrooms with all the usual supply of lotions & potions. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in the rooms along with a TV and telephone. Substantial main meals are available in the evening if you do not fancy going out. There is a very pleasant bar area with a large choice of 'goodies'

The hotel is very close to the old village and the Chine. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, be warned it is a very steep walk back from the beach so either use the lift or the little land train that runs along the Esplanade up to the Chine.

Breakfasts were large and freshly cooked, only slight 'gripe' is that 8.30am is the opening time for breakfast so if you want a early start it could prove a bit of a problem, but do not let this put you off what for us was a very pleasurable stay at the Belmont

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at the Belmont and very much enjoyed the experience. The Hotel owners are extremely helpful and provide excellent service as well as very good breakfasts.

Although our room was a tad on the small side, there are larger rooms that you can upgrade to. However, the room was more than adequate with a good bathroom, plenty on the "hospitality" tray and spotlessly clean. The star of the show, however, is the building itself, a real gem with its beautiful veranda, period features and wonderful brickwork for those who appreciate that sort of thing, which we did. There is also the convenience of lots of off-road parking at the front of the hotel.

The situation of the hotel is ideal with sea views and centrally placed for esplanade and town. Shanklin itself is a good location for making trips around this very interesting island.

Most definitely recommended for a stay on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

After staying at the Belmont last year while on business, i decided to revisit and i was not disappointed, the service was as excellent as last time. I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. This is a lovely hotel, great value for money and is set in a great location. I have already rebooked for my next business trip next month.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyLouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

I have stayed at the Belmont a couple of times recently whilst visiting the island on business. On both occasions i found the accomodation to be superb and very good value for money. The family who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming (especially Bruno the dog!) and the food and general service has always been excellent.

I decided it was a bit too cold to brave a morning dip in the pool, but maybe next time......i'll be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Morrison_mainlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Wonderfully friendly comfortable hotel. Bruno the dog makes you welcome as soon as you throw his latest toy for him. Lin and Des provide a home from home and Lin's breakfast is not to be missed. This hotel provides wonderful accommodation in the most peaceful surroundings but still within easy walking distance of the town.
If you miss this gem then it is at your own loss.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tracytracy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

It is my misfortune to have a January birthday, but we try to make light of it by spending it away from home. This year we decided to visit the Isle of Wight, and were rewarded by choosing the Belmont Hotel.

A beautiful rambling Victorian house, our bedroom and ensuite were capacious (luxury bathrobes provided) with SK bed, ample wardrobe and drawer space and views out on to the front verandah and beautiful St Saviour's church, which was fascinating to visit.

The homely lounge was well equipped with a huge fireplace, bookcases and games, the cosy bar was well stocked and the dining room overlooked the terraced garden with pool. There was a great choice for breakfast and Belmont's owners and managers, Linda, Des - and Yorkshire Terrier Bruno - made us feel very welcome and relaxed while at the same time keeping everything ticking over efficiently in the background.

There was ample parking to the front of the property and the road, although just around the corner from Shanklin village, is a quiet and tree lined residential one.

The great thing about the Belmont was that it was open during this most severe January, and we were surprised not only to find other guests but that there was so much going on in IofW at this time of year. We visited Amazon World and Osbourne House, walked the Downs and found all the Shanklin pubs and most of the shops open as usual. There were plenty of other attractions but they will have to wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GiovannaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
467 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, the Islands Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing