We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

A warm welcome awaits you at this character hotel. The double ensuite room was spacious and provided a comfortable nights sleep. The breakfasts were ample! The owners made you feel part of the family and were involved throughout. Set in a lovely location 2 minutes walk from the south coast of the island. It is well situated for walks on either the coast or downs. Another visit awaits!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
299
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My Partner and i booked the hotel for 3 nights as a base for a wedding and to explore the island. The hotel also organised our ferry crossings at the times we required and we got a great vibe from the hotel just from phone and e-mail correspondance. When we arrived we were shown personally to our room which was very clean and airy. The complimentary drinks and toiletries were excellent and included everything you might have forgotten. We were then invited to relax and take tea/coffee in the lounge (which has a great selection of board games!!) this was a lovely touch after a long journey, the fact pack of local restaurants was certainly useful along with the hosts recommendations. The service was exemplary throughout and the breakfasts, well, were simply brilliant, everything you could hope to see (including wheat/gluten free cereals) and all hot food cooked perfectly to order. The interior of the hotel and rooms were not the neutral magnolia wash and some reviews have used the words 'dated' and 'tired', not so, we found the interior charming , warm and a refreshing change to see character left in the hotel. This a wonderful hotel and deserves to be at the top of the list for the customer service (so many nice touches) and breakfast alone, we were sad to leave at the end of our stay! If i was being really picky the only thing i would say is the shower could have been a touch more powerful. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the island. Lin. Des, Bruno and family, thank you for a fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

On arrival we were met by the very friendly owner . After check-in we were offered a complimentary coffee. Our room No.15 was on the first floor and very spacious and very clean. There was tea and coffee making facilities replenished every day. The bathroom also had some very helpful touches such as toothbrushes + small toothpaste (disposable) and razor (disposable) of course along wih the usual items such as hand soap etc all of these being in pump style containers.
The bar area was again very friendly and you were made to feel very welcome. Evening meals were available served in the bar area. The breakfast was served in the breakfast room and was excellent in volume and quality.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as we had a thoroughly good time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastAngliaSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

A lovely b&b with everything you would want from a hotel. Clean, comfortable and superb service. We were greeted with a complimentary tea/coffee upon arrival, which was greatly received after a few hours travelling. There is a bar which does pub-grub and they even supply board games which can be played in the lounge!

If I HAD to make one criticism-the walls could do with sound-proofing, but then, that happens when you have "noisy" neighbours!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirtishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Have not long returned froma three night stay at the Belmont Hotel Shanklin.

Lovely Hotel. Staff very attentive and extremely hardworking. Nothing too much trouble.

The room we had overlooked the swimming pool. Which I gather is used quite a lot in the hot months.

We had a standard room.

Very comfortable with hospitality tray etc. Our only negative comment would be that the shower was very poor, but apart from that could not fault the hotel.

Would certainly use the hotel again if we returned.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We first visited this hotel in November 08 and enjoyed it so much that we treated ourselves to another short break and have just returned.
The hotel is ideally situated mid way between the small town of Shanklin and the beach. There is excellent walking and cycling close by which appeals to us and the owners are extremely knowledgable having always lived on the Island.
The hotel is spotless and we enjoyed the bar and general friendliness. The view over the sea from Room 2 is wonderful. The breakfast was incredible!
We will certainly visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peddlingstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed here over Easter 2009 and received excellent service from the owners of this small hotel. Nothing ever appeared to be to much trouble for them. The rooms were large, plenty of hanging/storage space and with decent bathrooms with all the usual supply of lotions & potions. Tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in the rooms along with a TV and telephone. Substantial main meals are available in the evening if you do not fancy going out. There is a very pleasant bar area with a large choice of 'goodies'

The hotel is very close to the old village and the Chine. The beach is a 5 minute walk away, be warned it is a very steep walk back from the beach so either use the lift or the little land train that runs along the Esplanade up to the Chine.

Breakfasts were large and freshly cooked, only slight 'gripe' is that 8.30am is the opening time for breakfast so if you want a early start it could prove a bit of a problem, but do not let this put you off what for us was a very pleasurable stay at the Belmont

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing