We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and excellent facilities at the Belmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and excellent facilities at the Belmont”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We chose to return on St Valentine's day to the Belmont and we were made to real feel really special on 14th February. On our arrival at Room 15 a complimentary bottle of pink champagne, a box of chocolates and a romantic rose had been provided.

As usual, the room and bathroom were immaculate and we love the subtle extras such as flannels, toothbrushes and shower soap in the bathroom and cotton buds, tissues and make up remover equipment in the bedroom.

Again the breakfasts were outstanding. All freshly cooked to order and our special requirement of poached (instead of fried) egg catered for in a blink of the eye.

Thoughtful provision of Soya milk as well as skimmed milk and a huge range of toast, marmalades and different types of cereal all contribute to a happy relaxed time.

We are impressed with the Free internet access in the lobby and the sumptuous lounge equipped with tea/coffee facilities and an extensive library. You felt that if it was a rainy day, then you could easily relax in the lounge and not need to leave the hotel at all.

Delicious evening meals are provided in the bar if you prefer to stay in, but there is an excellent selection of restaurants in Shanklin within easy walking distance if you prefer to make an evening of a meal out.

We will be certainly returning to the Belmont!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
299
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Very friendly service, comfortable room, nice hotel, beautiful views and a big choice of fresh food and drinks for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanjippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiddingfold, Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The service from the staff was excellent they were polite, courteous and very helpful during my stay.
The room and en-suite was very clean, and well presented.
I thought the location was excellent. and within easy walking distance of the beach and public transport.
Me and my partner had a fantastic break, and this was due to the great food, just can't say enough about the hotel ( fantastic ) and most of all the staff.
What i liked the least, plain and simple NOTHING.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We stayed here to celebrate our daughter's wedding, the staff are so kind and welcoming they made our stay special. the food was good bar snacks were like full meals and the breakfasts were excellent value so much choice!
They all went out of their way to help us without intrusion and made us feel at home. All of my family enjoyed their stay and we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.
Anita & Steve
Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracemchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Stayed for 3 nights and can definitely say we were very pleased with this accommodation. Huge room with large bathroom, the small details made it work all the way. The owner is very friendly without being intrusive and we felt very much at ease while staying in our room. Breakfast was really good with both a continental buffet and English cook-to-order if we wanted. There is not much to add then all in all we found it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefortA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We chose this small family-run hotel for our first visit to the IOW, after being impressed by all the good reviews. We weren't disappointed. We had room 15, which was a super size with a great shower and lovely sea view. The staff are very friendly and you were treated as a guest and a friend. The bar meal we had one evening when we just wanted to stay in, was very tasty and good value for money. The breakfast was brilliant and kept us going all day!!
It is ideally situated for the beach, the Chine and the village itself.
We will recomend to our friends and would definitely stay in this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woods888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This Belmont expereience was superb from start to finish for our 6 day break. The initial telephone booking by Linda was straightforward including instantaneous ferry booking at a discount from personal booking . On arrival 2 hours early we were shown to our room, given a tour of the amenities(including lounge and licenced bar) and greeted with free tea and biscuits.
The room was as promised, clean, spacious, comfortable bed, daily maid service and vast variety of toiletries including those not often seen such as toothbrushes and paste, comb and shoeshine.
The decor of the Belmont was superb with quality furnishing throughout.
Breakfast was unbelievably good with choice of cereals, fruit, cakes, croissants, ham, cheese, yoghurt and then followed by a brilliant "Full
English Breakfast" cooked to order with choices including the usual bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms etc or kippers, beans/eggs on toast all accompanied by unlimited toast with jam/marmalade/honey and tea or coffee. What abrilliant way to start the day. Absolutely superb!!!
Linda and Dez were ideal hosts, offering advice on local restaurants, places of interest and they were always friendly and cheerful. We would recommend the Belmont to anyone who wanted superb accommodation, friendly service and A1 breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where comfortable hotel meets staying with friends, Shanklins Premier Adult Accommodation, the Belmont is an imposing and unique Victorian building in Shanklin which has been receiving guests since the late 1800's and was built as a gentleman's residence. The Belmont Hotel is independently owned and is 4 star adult accommodation and is well known for our warm welcome, friendly efficient service and the relaxing atmosphere. Combining Victorian elegance and modern comforts, we offer Classic and Luxury rooms in an excellent location close to Shanklin Old Village, the Chine, Railway/Bus stations, Lift and the beach. The Belmont enjoys a suntrap garden, unheated outside pool, Dr Detox Cabin,licensed bar and restaurant. There is also free off-street parking covered by CCTV, Infinity fibre optic hi speed Wifi, lounge area with TV, games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing