We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but not very child friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #12 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel but not very child friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a lovely B&B and very central to the shops and beach. The Grange is a beautiful property with superb gardens and I loved the honest bar idea. The staff were friendly, and the hotel was clean and tidy. The only downside was we took our 14 month old and it wasn't very practical for a baby. A cot and highchair was supplied but the hotel has a big dog and also the "rest room" definitely wasn't somewhere you could let a child crawl around freely as too many breakables and glass tables! No baby changing facilities in the disabled toilet by reception. I definitely think this is a perfect place for couples though, and would recommend to any couple wanting a romantic break - so long as you don't get the "ever-so creeky" bed in room 10 that we had!!!

Room Tip: If you have small children definitely ask for a room on ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobylou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    67
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
94
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

What a barutiful place, both in aspect and atmosphere. This was our honeymoon and we found the hotel a welcome regret from the usual holiday hubbub on the island. Tasteful objects d'art and a verandah and terrace with a distinctly French feel to it and friendly staff. We couldn't have wished for more (other than less chewy sausages at breakfast which seems trite all things considered)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classicalbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Grange lived up to what we expected... stunning venue, excellent accommodation and a superb Manager in Jenni. The hotel allowed guests to relax, whether in the extensive beautiful garden areas, the bar room or the lounge, although my husband found the 'classical music' at breakfast, a little hard to cope with... maybe something a little more upbeat could be added by the time we return again. The Old Village of Shanklin boasts a huge variety of restaurants along with some interesting shops and galleries.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Spent a long time researching hotels in the isle of Wight, trip advisor wasn't as helpful as it usually is. looked for hotels in isle of Wight and the list presented on the first page instantly made me lose all hope. The top of the list was a, frankly, awful looking hotel where they wake you up a 6:30 with a bell? not exactly what i was looking for a relaxed get away...

anyway after an hour of research i found The Grange and I was excited to just book a place.

The first thing i have to compliment The Grange on is their "honestly bar". I know no other bar, restaurant or hotel which would trust 2 students with making note of their own drinks... i was touched :')

The rooms was well furnished, decorated and had information about the island and what to do.

The hotel had a beautiful little garden, at the bottom of which had a gate leading straight to the town and beach.

I had a very relaxed and chilled time at the grange. If you like me have spent WAAAAY to long looking for a nice hotel in the Isle of Wight you can stop looking.

thanks for everything, hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sean f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

This B&B is ideally located in Shanklin all bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance, the room we had was comfortable and well decorated. Andrea who was looking after the hotel when we arrived was very helpful and chatty and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The honesty bar is a great idea and we enjoyed a night cap in there with the new friends we had made. The only negative thing I can think of was the parking with 17 rooms there is simply not enough parking for all the cars.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Wonderfully relaxing break in The Grange. Friendly staff and fantastic breakfast with comfortable rooms would recommend to anyone. Very trusting with arrangement with bar and lovely to have a nightcap when coming in at night

Caroline C

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel style is very formal with self service bar and tea and coffee. Staff really friendly and helpful. Hotel is in great location near to shanklin chine and easy access to the old village and the beach. You also have good access to the island's bus links. Staff can organise spa treatments, I had the best massage at a really reasonable price £40 for 60mins. Room was comfortable, my only niggles the wardrobe door creaked when you opened it and although you had a kettle no easy access to plug it in lead too short. This is nothing that would stop me using this hotel again . Overall , If you are looking for a informal relaxed holiday location this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 9 Eastcliff Road, Shanklin PO37 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange by the Sea is a gorgeous Georgian country house tucked away in Shanklin's Old Village and nestled in greenery. Picturesque thatched pubs and restaurants are close by and Shanklin's long, sandy beach is just a short walk from the end of the garden. Transport links are straightforward from here as are local shops for Isle of Wight souvenirs and local produce. The Grange has the AA's Four Star Guest Accommodation grading and has been awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for the past three years. Friendly and informal, our team aims to make your stay at The Grange stand out as an ideal short break. You will be accommodated in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms. You may wish to enjoy one of our double or twin-bedded rooms or perhaps you would like a double room for single occupancy. Soothing and comfortable, each room is elegantly decorated in natural tones mirroring the surrounding environment. Power showers and complementary luxury toiletries ensure a good start to each day. There are also a variety of treatments available to you during your stay with us ranging from Swedish massage and aromatherapy to facials and manicures. In addition, you can book one-to-one tuition in various subjects including yoga, creative writing and life coaching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing