We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #13 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Beds were very comfortable, rooms lovely and clean. Food was very nice indeed. Large garden with plenty of seating areas. Different types of massages were available at very reasonable prices. The location is good as well - right in the middle of Shanklin Old Village. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PescatarianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    73
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
104
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Grange with my family. 7 adults and 2 children. Accommodation was clean and beautifully presented. The house its self was charming and full of character. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Would highly recommend.
I'm sure we will back again. Thank you to the staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've stayed at the Grange several times whilst working on the Island and I must say, I'm so pleased that my office found The Grange.
We could have ended up in a Premier Inn!
The staff are always helpful and make you feel so at home.
The Hotel is gorgeous! The atmosphere is so chilled and the attention to detail is amazing! They even leave out cakes and coffee in the evening.
Breakfast is really nice with a great choice.
Rooms are spotless and comfortable.
Hope to see you all soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to welcome back previous guests! Please feel free to 'move in' whenever you wish.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grange in the near future.

With best wishes
Jenni Canakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed at the Grange middle of March with my husband. Although snowy and cold outside, inside was cosy and the room was very comfortable, with a glorious view of the sea (although hidden by clouds and mist). The bedroom was very clean, shower room small but compact. (would of liked a better T.V. As the sound was out of sync!) Great location. Staff friendly, breakfast was good. Good value for money. Would stay again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the Grange 18th 19th Feb 2013 on my own, The staff were friendly, the room was clean, fresh, warm & comfortable and the breakfast was fine.

When i arrived the front door was opened for me and i was greated with a smile & shown to my room (dont remember getting that from the Premier Inn)

It is at the end of a no though road, has a large garden and has gated parking.

I travel away from home each week and i have got a bit fussy but i will go back it was great for the money with pleanty of pubs & eaterys within walking distance

Room Tip: Pleanty of rooms but the top rooms have a nice view over the cliffs & gardens & are very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Jeff

Many thanks for the great review. It's always nice to hear what our guests enjoy about The Grange. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are on the Island.

With best wishes,

Jenni Canakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed at the Grange 11th and 12th February as a solo business traveller. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and warm with a very comfortable bed. OK, so it didn't have a flat screen TV or DVD player, but I wouldnt expect such luxuries given the great value for money the Grange offers.

The fruit and brownies availlable all day were a nice touch, as was the honesty bar.

The full English breakfast was very good - delicious local produce well cooked and served on hot plates.

Given the Grange's location in a cul-de-sac you're assured peace and quiet, but it's not too far to walk to the shops, pubs and restaurants in Shanklin.

All-in-all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503839Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This B&B was set in a truly stunning old building in Shanklin. Lovely high ceilings, very tasteful decorating and friendly staff. The room was very nice and cozy with a great view of the surrounding landscape. Great location and very short walk to many restaurants and the old village.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 9 Eastcliff Road, Shanklin PO37 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange by the Sea is a gorgeous Georgian country house tucked away in Shanklin's Old Village and nestled in greenery. Picturesque thatched pubs and restaurants are close by and Shanklin's long, sandy beach is just a short walk from the end of the garden. Transport links are straightforward from here as are local shops for Isle of Wight souvenirs and local produce. The Grange has the AA's Four Star Guest Accommodation grading and has been awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for the past three years. Friendly and informal, our team aims to make your stay at The Grange stand out as an ideal short break. You will be accommodated in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms. You may wish to enjoy one of our double or twin-bedded rooms or perhaps you would like a double room for single occupancy. Soothing and comfortable, each room is elegantly decorated in natural tones mirroring the surrounding environment. Power showers and complementary luxury toiletries ensure a good start to each day. There are also a variety of treatments available to you during your stay with us ranging from Swedish massage and aromatherapy to facials and manicures. In addition, you can book one-to-one tuition in various subjects including yoga, creative writing and life coaching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing