We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place in great location”
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #12 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special place in great location”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When you arrive, you might think at first that the building itself looks a little tired on the outside. But as soon as you enter, you will find that it is immaculate on the inside. There is a lovely breakfast room, a nice living room, you can find art everywhere and all is well maintained with eye for detail. Probably the most beautiful part of the accommodation is the garden. There are lots of private spots where you can sit and enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings. There unmistakenly is a Greek touch, in particular the statues. If you walk down the garden and go through the gated fence, you have one of the main attractions of Shanklin, the Chine, in front of you. Shanklin itself has a lot of charm, and especially in the evening when all the lights are on, it has something magical. Last but not least, the staff was very friendly and gave us a great tip for a local restaurant. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markzeedzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    72
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
96
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent a lovely weekend to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Staff were very friendly and offered advice on places to visit and local restaurants. Room comfortable and food excellent.very quiet but close to old village so lots to see and do in the evening. Grounds were spectacular and well worth a visit, very relaxing, thank you for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Beautiful garden; lovely house; good breakfast; extremely welcoming staff. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will be returning next year. Shanklin is lovely too and this place is ideally situated between the old and new parts. Only negatives: could do with some bottled water in rooms, but I guess that is now a debateable point from an environmental perspective.

Room Tip: We had number 13 overlooking the garden and sea. A little small and on the top floor, but still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanJukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Grange is a nice enough hotel but it really isn't that special. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location fine (local to Shanklin old town) and the rooms adequate. But the outdoor spaces were poor - the deck was untidy and the garden overgrown. The plastic garden furniture was functional but looked cheap and to be honest I expected better for a 4 star stopover.
I was slightly disappointed with the rooms too. On the small side (especially the bathroom) and surely at £100+ per night you'd expect a flat screen TV not a tired out antique.
This was supposed to be a very special stay for my wife's 40th but unfortunately it wasn't. It was ok but over priced and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms will give you a glimpse of sea view but you will be in the eaves and so you may find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I'm afraid that I cannot entirely agree with your comments regarding the patio and garden. By looking at the other reviews you will see that the majority of our guests think they are superb. However, I do agree that we could replace one set of garden furniture which is white plastic and out of keeping with the rest of the garden furniture. We'll move this from the garden this week. Thanks for your feedback. We are also gradually replacing our televisions in favour of flatscreen versions, the first of which was delivered earlier this week.
With best wishes
Jenni Canakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely touches made this place special: lovely gardens, stylish decor, the cake and fruit left out for guests, the helpfulness of staff, the honesty bar and so on. All of this was in addition to a really beautiful, spacious room, a wonderful breakfast, and a quiet but excellent location steps away from Shanklin old village. All for little more than a decent B&B. I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed so many different aspects of The Grange and we hope to see you in the near future.

With best wishes

Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stylish, comfortable,good breakfast, nice bar, beautiful grounds, very friendly reception and staff and in the perfect area to walk around the Old Village with its shops, pubs and restaurants. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Beds were very comfortable, rooms lovely and clean. Food was very nice indeed. Large garden with plenty of seating areas. Different types of massages were available at very reasonable prices. The location is good as well - right in the middle of Shanklin Old Village. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PescatarianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 9 Eastcliff Road, Shanklin PO37 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange by the Sea is a gorgeous Georgian country house tucked away in Shanklin's Old Village and nestled in greenery. Picturesque thatched pubs and restaurants are close by and Shanklin's long, sandy beach is just a short walk from the end of the garden. Transport links are straightforward from here as are local shops for Isle of Wight souvenirs and local produce. The Grange has the AA's Four Star Guest Accommodation grading and has been awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for the past three years. Friendly and informal, our team aims to make your stay at The Grange stand out as an ideal short break. You will be accommodated in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms. You may wish to enjoy one of our double or twin-bedded rooms or perhaps you would like a double room for single occupancy. Soothing and comfortable, each room is elegantly decorated in natural tones mirroring the surrounding environment. Power showers and complementary luxury toiletries ensure a good start to each day. There are also a variety of treatments available to you during your stay with us ranging from Swedish massage and aromatherapy to facials and manicures. In addition, you can book one-to-one tuition in various subjects including yoga, creative writing and life coaching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing