We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, would love to stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #12 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, would love to stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Shockingly, I have very little to say about any negative aspects of this hotel, which is very unusual for me. The Grange is like an island of serenity on, well, the Isle of Serenity. We loved the beautiful house, rooms and big garden, the choice of activities, the location, and the very friendly staff. Any minor inconveniences were more than compensated for by the friendly, caring attitude. Staying at The Grange is not merely staying in a hotel, it's a whole holiday experience.

The hotel itself offers plenty of opportunities to relax - my room at least was very quiet and comfortable. There are 24/7 tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits - what a nice touch! Other than a big garden, including an open terracce as well as more hidden corners, there is a big games room with books, films, board games, guitar, comfortable couches, etc. The decor of the whole place is artsy and tasteful.

The location is excellent - just between Shaklin town centre and the picturesque Old Village, minutes away from several restaurants. The seafront is also a couple of minutes' walk downwards away.

The hotel breakfast was nice, and the staff very friendly and helpful. As much as I'd like to see other parts of the Isle of Wight, The Grange will certainly tempt me to come back to Shanklin!

Room Tip: If you like to keep your windows open you might like to ask for a room that's not on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! I especially liked the ' it's a whole holiday experience'! We hope to see you again in the new future

With best wishes
Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    67
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
94
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here last summer for 4 days as a mini honeymoon. Overall our stay was lovely, any issues we had were cleared up immediately & any feedback was noted & passed on to the relevant department. I was also fortunate to have an excellent massage. The receptionist was superb, very professional & helped with any queries. We loved the honesty bar & breakfast was very good. A nice touch was being able to get tea & coffee at any time of the day & there was always a gorgeous, gooey brownie available!
They very kindly had a bottle of fizz on ice for us when we arrived, a lovely gesture & it was so nice to sip peacefully on the veranda, overlooking the sea.
Parts of the hotel were stunning, including the gardens which lead down to the road above the beach.
We'd stay again & I'd consider it a perfect venue for a residential course.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in June and whilst it is a nice place, there were a few little things that made us question the 4 star rating. The actual building is lovely, down a quiet cul-de-sac, just a few minutes walk into the village or to the beach. We were put on the 3rd floor which wasn't ideal seeing as we had an 8 month old baby with us and the room had no bath. We did book well in advance letting them know this. As we were in the attic, the room was very warm (73f) all the time, I wouldn't want to be in there in August! The Grange really could be wonderful but little things let it down. The travel cot had holes in the side, the basin plug was faulty, the duvet cover had a large tear in it, parts of the room were dusty especially in the wardrobe. We had a lovely sea-view but could only see out of one side of the window as the glass had turned white. The first morning at breakfast we were given a highchair which was really grubby and full of Rice Krispies and had a strap missing. We mentioned it to the staff member and she said just tie the one remaining strap round the baby! The gardens are beautiful, but just feel a little neglected. It's a shame to have to say some negative things in this review because it really could be a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your comments which we do appreciate receiving. We have today ordered new high chairs and the travel cots are being repaired. It's a shame you didn't specify your preference for a bath when you booked your room. However thanks to your feedback we will now enquire each time someone with a baby books if they would prefer a room with a power shower or a bath. If you had mentioned to us that it was hot in your room we would have been happy to supply you with an electric fan. The weather was unusually hot when you were with us.

I do hope you will come and visit us again and see how we have upgraded the areas you have drawn to our attention.

With best wishes

Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

When you arrive, you might think at first that the building itself looks a little tired on the outside. But as soon as you enter, you will find that it is immaculate on the inside. There is a lovely breakfast room, a nice living room, you can find art everywhere and all is well maintained with eye for detail. Probably the most beautiful part of the accommodation is the garden. There are lots of private spots where you can sit and enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings. There unmistakenly is a Greek touch, in particular the statues. If you walk down the garden and go through the gated fence, you have one of the main attractions of Shanklin, the Chine, in front of you. Shanklin itself has a lot of charm, and especially in the evening when all the lights are on, it has something magical. Last but not least, the staff was very friendly and gave us a great tip for a local restaurant. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markzeedzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent a lovely weekend to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Staff were very friendly and offered advice on places to visit and local restaurants. Room comfortable and food excellent.very quiet but close to old village so lots to see and do in the evening. Grounds were spectacular and well worth a visit, very relaxing, thank you for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Beautiful garden; lovely house; good breakfast; extremely welcoming staff. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here and will be returning next year. Shanklin is lovely too and this place is ideally situated between the old and new parts. Only negatives: could do with some bottled water in rooms, but I guess that is now a debateable point from an environmental perspective.

Room Tip: We had number 13 overlooking the garden and sea. A little small and on the top floor, but still very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanJukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Grange is a nice enough hotel but it really isn't that special. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location fine (local to Shanklin old town) and the rooms adequate. But the outdoor spaces were poor - the deck was untidy and the garden overgrown. The plastic garden furniture was functional but looked cheap and to be honest I expected better for a 4 star stopover.
I was slightly disappointed with the rooms too. On the small side (especially the bathroom) and surely at £100+ per night you'd expect a flat screen TV not a tired out antique.
This was supposed to be a very special stay for my wife's 40th but unfortunately it wasn't. It was ok but over priced and we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms will give you a glimpse of sea view but you will be in the eaves and so you may find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I'm afraid that I cannot entirely agree with your comments regarding the patio and garden. By looking at the other reviews you will see that the majority of our guests think they are superb. However, I do agree that we could replace one set of garden furniture which is white plastic and out of keeping with the rest of the garden furniture. We'll move this from the garden this week. Thanks for your feedback. We are also gradually replacing our televisions in favour of flatscreen versions, the first of which was delivered earlier this week.
With best wishes
Jenni Canakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Property: The Grange
Address: 9 Eastcliff Road, Shanklin PO37 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange by the Sea is a gorgeous Georgian country house tucked away in Shanklin's Old Village and nestled in greenery. Picturesque thatched pubs and restaurants are close by and Shanklin's long, sandy beach is just a short walk from the end of the garden. Transport links are straightforward from here as are local shops for Isle of Wight souvenirs and local produce. The Grange has the AA's Four Star Guest Accommodation grading and has been awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for the past three years. Friendly and informal, our team aims to make your stay at The Grange stand out as an ideal short break. You will be accommodated in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms. You may wish to enjoy one of our double or twin-bedded rooms or perhaps you would like a double room for single occupancy. Soothing and comfortable, each room is elegantly decorated in natural tones mirroring the surrounding environment. Power showers and complementary luxury toiletries ensure a good start to each day. There are also a variety of treatments available to you during your stay with us ranging from Swedish massage and aromatherapy to facials and manicures. In addition, you can book one-to-one tuition in various subjects including yoga, creative writing and life coaching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing