We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful OK GREAT”
Review of The Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grange
Ranked #12 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very friendly helpful nice ,room good size (just as well) very large bed ,
tea and biscuits and tea cake biscuits and fruit all day on the house in the lounge a very nice touch breakfast very good anything you want , lovely garden and terrace, WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: our room was top of the house super would say any room would be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We always appreciate guests taking the time to let us know what they enjoyed!

Hope to see you both again soon

With best wishes

Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Grange with my partner, niece and elderly mother-in-law who is mainly dependent on the use of a wheelchair. The Manager, Jenni, was so helpful to ensure that our Mother's needs were catered for with a comfortable ground floor room with easy access via french doors that opened onto the courtyard. She reserved a parking space for us as spaces are limited and we understand from other guests that whilst we were out one day she ferociously protected our parking space that someone else was trying to occupy. Thanks Jenni.
The Grange is a guest house with high standards, comfortable rooms with quality bed linen and towels. The mature gardens are stunning, but, they are steep and not suitable for those with limited mobility. However, they can be enjoyed from the decked verandah whilst sipping a chilled glass of wine. The Grange is ideally located within easy walking distance to Old Shanklin where there is a good choice of places to eat. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. We do try hard to make every guest feel at home and cosseted at the same time!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

with best wishes

Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Last week I took my 18 year old granddaughter away to the Grange as a "Reward" spa break for getting her Uni place - she has worked so hard to achieve this. I couldn't have been more delighted with my choice of hotel. It is situated in the heart of Shanklin old village and looks like a Victorian manor house from the outside whilst the décor is restful and elegant and the welcome from Jenni as friendly as you could wish for. The restaurant is only open for breakfast, which is buffet style but there was an impressive array of choice - from cereals to full English. Our room was clean and comfortable with complimentary, good quality toiletries and fluffy white towels. (Don't forget to bring your own beach towels) The only shortcoming is the lack of a pool, but this is more than made up for by the range of therapies on offer- we opted for the reflexology and Indian Head massage.............wonderful. The hotel is situated in it's own, grounds which can best be described as "atmospheric" with trees, shrubs and flowers everywhere, not forgetting various statuary hidden amongst the bushes. It is a relatively short walk to the beach, although it is a steep climb back up again. I will definitely be going back there again - I might even take the husband this time!!!!

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have problems with stairs then you need to make this clear when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwynethSangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at the Grange with my daughter for four days and it was lovely, the staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Jenni was lovely as we're the rest of the staff and I will definitely be staying there again in the future, the gardens and surrounding area are stunning and the whole area of the old town in Shanklin is lovely.
Brilliant holiday even the sun was out all week and it was hot.
Staff very trusting leaving you to help yourself to drinks at the bar and pay at the end of your stay, complimentary coffee and tea all day with fruit and refridgerated chocolate cake which was yummy, read some reviews regarding the breakfast cook being grumpy but think this is just her personality and I did manage to get a smile out of her once or twice.
Highly recommend staying at the grange

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kym T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is the second time we have had the pleasure of staying at The Grange
The staff, management and owner cannot do enough, they are a lesson for all in the B&B business of how to run a B&B that makes you feel at home
We stayed in room 14, at the top of the house and were impressed as to its size and open and airy feel, and what a view
The shower in particular is spectacular
Breakfast is a treat
The garden, a magnificent English country garden is one of the most tranquil places I have ever been to and the hours of pleasure my wife and I got, just sitting and relaxing there was worth the price of admission
We will be back and have already decided that next year, 3 nights is the minimum length of stay one needs to escape the humdrum of the the mainland

Thanks to all of you

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room the view are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Shockingly, I have very little to say about any negative aspects of this hotel, which is very unusual for me. The Grange is like an island of serenity on, well, the Isle of Serenity. We loved the beautiful house, rooms and big garden, the choice of activities, the location, and the very friendly staff. Any minor inconveniences were more than compensated for by the friendly, caring attitude. Staying at The Grange is not merely staying in a hotel, it's a whole holiday experience.

The hotel itself offers plenty of opportunities to relax - my room at least was very quiet and comfortable. There are 24/7 tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits - what a nice touch! Other than a big garden, including an open terracce as well as more hidden corners, there is a big games room with books, films, board games, guitar, comfortable couches, etc. The decor of the whole place is artsy and tasteful.

The location is excellent - just between Shaklin town centre and the picturesque Old Village, minutes away from several restaurants. The seafront is also a couple of minutes' walk downwards away.

The hotel breakfast was nice, and the staff very friendly and helpful. As much as I'd like to see other parts of the Isle of Wight, The Grange will certainly tempt me to come back to Shanklin!

Room Tip: If you like to keep your windows open you might like to ask for a room that's not on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennicanakis, Manager at The Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! I especially liked the ' it's a whole holiday experience'! We hope to see you again in the new future

With best wishes
Jenni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here last summer for 4 days as a mini honeymoon. Overall our stay was lovely, any issues we had were cleared up immediately & any feedback was noted & passed on to the relevant department. I was also fortunate to have an excellent massage. The receptionist was superb, very professional & helped with any queries. We loved the honesty bar & breakfast was very good. A nice touch was being able to get tea & coffee at any time of the day & there was always a gorgeous, gooey brownie available!
They very kindly had a bottle of fizz on ice for us when we arrived, a lovely gesture & it was so nice to sip peacefully on the veranda, overlooking the sea.
Parts of the hotel were stunning, including the gardens which lead down to the road above the beach.
We'd stay again & I'd consider it a perfect venue for a residential course.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: 9 Eastcliff Road, Shanklin PO37 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange by the Sea is a gorgeous Georgian country house tucked away in Shanklin's Old Village and nestled in greenery. Picturesque thatched pubs and restaurants are close by and Shanklin's long, sandy beach is just a short walk from the end of the garden. Transport links are straightforward from here as are local shops for Isle of Wight souvenirs and local produce. The Grange has the AA's Four Star Guest Accommodation grading and has been awarded TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for the past three years. Friendly and informal, our team aims to make your stay at The Grange stand out as an ideal short break. You will be accommodated in one of our 15 ensuite bedrooms. You may wish to enjoy one of our double or twin-bedded rooms or perhaps you would like a double room for single occupancy. Soothing and comfortable, each room is elegantly decorated in natural tones mirroring the surrounding environment. Power showers and complementary luxury toiletries ensure a good start to each day. There are also a variety of treatments available to you during your stay with us ranging from Swedish massage and aromatherapy to facials and manicures. In addition, you can book one-to-one tuition in various subjects including yoga, creative writing and life coaching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing