We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the Havelock hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #8 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“loved the Havelock hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

we had a really great stay at the Havelock. Owners are lovely, can't do enough for you. Stayed in room 7 with a balcony. Fab room, modern and spotless. Lovely beds with thick quality mattresses, nice shower products. Greeted with tea and coffee brought to our rooms. Really quality breakfast and great service. Lovely pool with fresh towels each day. Peaceful yet central location. Only have good words to say about the place, will be back.

Room Tip: Room 7 had a balcony and extra bed for a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaced0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    50
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
185
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whippingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I live on the Isle of Wight and prior to moving to the island we always spent time during the year at the Havelock .

Dave and Anne are the perfect hosts , the rooms are 1st Class and the breakfast at the start of the day cannot be bettered .

Sue and Anne work in the dining room and with the other staff deserve a 1st class mention

Our wedding anniversary was on the 1st August and we had the most special weekend ,we would not have stayed anywere else

5 Stars +

Nigel and Maureen Moore

We would recommend anybody coming to the island to stay at the Havelock

Room Tip: Room 10 wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 51Relic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
342 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed for 6 nights at The Havelock, and couldn't fault it in any way. Great room, lovely balcony, great view, superb breakfast, friendly staff, free mints, decent bar, nice pool, brilliant location...excellent in every way.

Looked after us very well, would not hestiate to recommend and to go back.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, balcony rooms, slightly pricier, but great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Havelock 7 nights in July, had a fantastic time, and hope to go back next year. Rooms decorated very well. Superb breakfast plenty of choice, cereals, fruit juice, toast tea, then fried breakfast. Swimming pool was great and had the pool to ourselves everytime we used it. Best 7 nights holiday we have had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitelady0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Havelock is a great place to stay in Shanklin located halfway between the beach and the old village. The food isvery good the staff and owners are really friendly and the rooms are comfy and clean. Shanklin is a lovely resort but maybe a little awkward for those less mobile as it is set on a cliff (there is a lift down to the beach if you can't do stairs) We ate out at the crab the fishermans cottage and at jasmine Indian restaurant during our stay, all were good but Jasmine was really very good indeed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My boyfriend and I have just come back from an idyllic stay at The Havelock a gem of a BnB which ticks all the right boxes. We were warmly greeted by the BnB owners who gave us lots of useful information to help us as newcomers to the Isle. Both David and Ann could not have been more welcoming and went out of their way throughout our stay to ensure all our needs were met.
Our room was of a good size, with modern decor and excellent facilities (flat screen tv, dvd player, tea/coffee and WiFi access). The bed was also of a high quality, heavenly in fact!
Breakfast was yummy, The Havelock offer a wide selection to cater to a variety of tastes. The service staff were extremely friendly too, our waiter for our stay (Olly I believe his name to be) was a complete sweetheart.

A 2 min walk to the seafront and town the Havelock is faultless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Room very clean. Wonderful Town. Breakfast very good. One of the best I've stayed in on my travels so far. I would recommend it to anyone. Only £40 for the night as well!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing