We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly hotel”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Havelock along with six family members for three nights in October.
The welcome from the owners was extremely friendly. The accommodation was very comfortable. The breakfasts were served by friendly staff and were most enjoyable.
The location is excellent - turn one way for shops and restaurants and turn another for the beach and walks.
We plan to return. Indeed for two members of our family this was a return visit.

Room Tip: I fancy a balcony room next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    52
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
198
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at the Havelock for three nights-what a lovely place. The room with a balcony and sea view was perfectly clean and the bed was very comfortable.The breakfast was cooked to our preference and there was plenty of it. The hosts David and Anne were more than helpful with advice on good places to eat etc. The lounge bar where drinks were served was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly.The location to the old village was great-just a five minute walk down a beautiful leafy lane. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Had a very nice weekend stay here with the family. The hotel has a lovely location with sea views from some rooms. The room and beds were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. All in all very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightowl281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we stayed for two nights wished we could have stayed longer! Anne and David brilliant hosts helpful with advice on places to visit and where to eat ,breakfast was great and due to the fact that we had to catch an early ferry they even did us a special early breakfast .The room we had was a balcony sea view room very clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated to a high standard all in all lovely

Room Tip: room 8 with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

What an excellent B&B this turned out to be, spotlessly clean in all areas with the best presented dining room we have seen in a long time. Well trained friendly staff who couldnt do enough to ensure your stay was as pleasant as possible. Located in an ideal position close to both the beach and old village which was a delight to visit in the evening with a good choice of dining and drinking venues. Dave and Anne were the perfect hosts and run a very efficient establishment that we would recommend to anyone. Give it a try and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a sea view, and these were excellent but didnt here anyone complain about the standard of any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungatHeart320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

just got back from a four day break in shanklin stayed at the havelock very comfortable stay rooms clean good food friendly staff would go back again it was a short walk to shanklin high street also a short walk to sea front the path is quite steep but there is a lift to use to get back to the top at a cost of £1 each we walked into sandown from shanklin nice level walk just follow the beach we got the number 3 bus back into shanklin beware it cost £2.50 each one way

Room Tip: front rooms have a nice sea view two of the front rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Fantastic B&B! We only stayed for 2 nights, however we could of easily of stayed longer and sad we didn't! Dave - the owner, was very friendly and very helpful at telling us great places to visit. The B&B was everything you would want a B&B to be - cleanliness was wonderful, the bed sheets were so luxurious and the food they offered for breakfast was to die for! You would never want to miss out on breakfast again!! They offer a wide range of food, so it would cater for all palettes easily. Serving things such as cereals, fresh bread and homemade jams, all the way to fried breakfast with the local homemade sausages! I had smoked salmon and poached eggs on granary toast, which was delish! Highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Shanklin!!! Go for it!

Room Tip: Room 10 - I think that was our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
427 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing