We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at The Havelock”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at The Havelock”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay at The Havelock and we stopped in room 7 which has a excellent view of the sea and own balcony. Our room was excellent and well maintained.
Breakfast service was superb and the new sausages were delightful.
Evening bar service was very relaxing and as always a good chat with Dave...

Room 7 is now our favourite and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Room 7 Balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamford-Family-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to see you again.
The balcony rooms are special and it's lovely to sit out on the balcony at the end of the day and watch the ships as the sun goes down.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    51
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
191
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here 25th April 2014, our 4 night stay was very comfortable. Hosts Anne & Dave run this small hotel very well. Friendly & efficent waiting staff @ breakfast. Well cooked & good choice @ breakfast too. Clean, comfortable & nicely decorated double bedroom, well stocked with toiletries & tea/coffee.Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were offered choices of room type eg ; basic double, sea view etc when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have noted, we have a selection of rooms here, we don't sell our Balcony and Superior rooms through booking agents (Booking.com, Late Rooms etc), so it's always worth giving us a ring if you can't find exactly what you're looking for, as we may be able to jiggle things around to help accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went for a weekend break to this hotel and only stayed one night. The hotel is fantastic, very clean, and the breakfasts are really nice too, friendly staff at breakfast. Loverly place, just a shame we had a wet weekend. As we went in april not many places where open in shanklin the season starts from may so i expect this hotel could get very busy.

Room Tip: top floor great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XalwaysanangelX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, such a shame it rained whilst you were here, as the island is just beautiful when the sun shines. Maybe you'll be able to return during the summer months, to enjoy some summer sun here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have visited the area for a long weekend in september for the last 10 years to visit relatives and have stayed in a selection of hotels. This visit was unexpected and booked at short notice, as our regular hotels were unable to accomodate us we had to start phoning round, one of our party is unable to climb stairs and the Havelock were able to move bookings around to freeup their only ground floor (single) room for him.
We found the whole experience from enquiring right through to leaving to be very pleasant and easy, we had the single and a double room, both being the basic price range and found them to be totally adequate, and a VERY GOOD SHOWER.
The lounge/bar is filled with comfy sofas and there is a pile of puzzles (mostly bent metal types) to play with if thats your style, our host was very welcoming & friendly and keen to pass on a good knowledge of the area if wanted and nothing was a trouble to him.
A lovely breakfast was served to us in an unrushed and uncluttered room.
The whole place is very clean and tidy and with fresh decor giving the impression of being loved.
We found this to be a quiet and relaxing place to stay which absolutely suited our requirement for this visit.
I wish the overall rating was marked out of 10 because it is better than 4/5.

I must explain that I have back problems. I am sorry to put sleep quality as average but what felt like a good quality mattress with a topper was simply too soft for me. The others in our party have a different, higher, opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your night's stay with us and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a birthday treat and had a lovely time. The host was very welcoming, friendly and gave us some helpful directions to get around the local area. Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool area (closed as we were off season, but it looks great!). The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. The toiletries were good quality and there was a nice selection of tea and coffee.
Breakfast was a highlight, a really great selection from the buffet table including home-made jams and marmite (a rare inclusion!) and the cooked breakfast was superb. Freshly prepared and the eggs were perfect, every day. No wonder it has won awards.
The bar area was the perfect place to unwind before an evening out, and the hotel has a lovely view across the lovely garden to the seafront.
We didn't encounter any problems with parking, but I expect in high season you might find a little bit of trouble with getting blocked in on the top carpark but the hotel have a good system for managing this. Overall we had a really lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone looking to totally relax on the beautiful Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your birthday stay with us, the weather for the time of year has been a real bonus too. We have more parking than many accommodation providers locally and usually have enough spaces for all of our guests, there is also free on street parking close by. All the best. Dave & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my second visit to "The Havelock" hotel and again I was very impressed with the hospitality from David & Ann Bunney . An excellent venue, the rooms are of a very high standard, along with the choices for breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking to stay at a location in Shanklin that provides easy access to all amenities

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We aim to please and keep the rooms and breakfasts to a high standard. We hope to see you again in the future. Dave & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed the cosy room and excellent breakfast. They cater for all kinds of dietary requirements, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is only a short walk away from the beach and town centre. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing