We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel Base”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wallington,surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel Base”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

3 of us have Just Returned from a weeks stay at this Hotel,and would thoroughly recommend it.Friendly hosts,comfortable clean rooms,great breakfasts.Good base for travelling around all the sights of the island.We had a double room with sea view,which was quite small but adequate,and my friend had a single room on the ground floor,which she said was fine for her.The swimming pool was an added bonus,not that we used it,too busy seeing everything there was to see on the Isle of Wight,we hadn' been there for 36 years but not a lot had really changed,the roads are a pleasure to drive on.We particularly liked the fact we were very close to the esplanade and Shanklin old village which had lots of places to eat and drink.Enjoed our stay there and would like to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncypruslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. So glad that your visit to the Isle of Wight was a lovely experience, especially after so many years. Thank you for choosing The Havelock for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    51
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
191
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful few days away on the Isle of Wight. The Havelock is so well run by the welcoming owners and their lovely friendly staff. The place is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with a really lovely pool and gardens.Our bed was SOOOOO comfortable! The breakfast is superb, we can't fault it. The Havelock is only a few minutes walk from the town and old village where there are so many great places to eat, you don't need to get the car out in the evening. We look forward to returning and can highly recommend to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hairnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're glad you had a lovely weekend and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend break.. very welcoming and friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice, the facilities are excellent.. the hotel itself has sea views, a lovely garden and a heated outdoor swimming pool.. I really cannot fault this hotel... thank you for making us feel so welcome.. we are already planning on returning later in the year :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindyl0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. It was lovely to meet you and look forward to hopefully seeing you again before the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Every year we travel with our friends for either a long weekend or week, this year it was a long weekend at your beautiful hotel, you made us very welcome thank you both very much.
The room was lovely whilst next time I would request a room on a lower floor, nothing wrong with the room simply old age and creaky knees!
The breakfast was awesome and returning after our evening meal fir a night cap was a added bonus to our friend
We didt experience any problem with parking.
All in all a wonderful hot weekend
Keep up the good work you should be very proud

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

Yes, our guest house has 3 floors and it's always worth mentioning at the time of booking if you'd prefer a room on the 1st floor with less stairs, we always try to accommodate requests, although if we have limited rooms available it isn't always possible. Unfortunately, we only have a single room on the ground floor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

2nd visit to this B&B..
It is so relaxing, everything has been thought of, even towels for the swimming pool.
Extremely friendly and genuine owners. There is a bar area and lounge which provides fantastic facilities and great conversation!!! Backs on to a stunning garden..
Awesome breakfast, the meatest bacon and sausages I've ever eaten!! So much choice!!
Ultra clean, well decorated rooms,
I really wish I was there now!! :)
Thank you so much for a lovely break!!
If you book at the Havelock, I can confidently say you will not be disappointed. Once people discover this, they regularly revisit... (WARNING: BOOKING AT THE HAVELOCK MAY BECOME ADDICTIVE)
What a lovely place.. I recommended whole heatedly that you check it out!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Re T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We aim to please and enjoy spending time with our guests. So glad you enjoyed your stay on the lovely Isle of Wight & look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went for a last minute weekend in the Isle of Wight,stayed at numerous places in Shanklin but first time in the Havelock,what a lovely surprise it was. Very friendly hosts and friendly and efficient staff at breakfast.very comfortable rooms,beautifully clean and lovely smellies in the bathroom.More than enough tea/coffee supplies but very welcome.very well situated for Shanklin old town and esplanade.I shall definitely return again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We're glad that your stay with us and on the island was enjoyable. The good weather over the weekend was also the icing on the cake.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay at The Havelock and we stopped in room 7 which has a excellent view of the sea and own balcony. Our room was excellent and well maintained.
Breakfast service was superb and the new sausages were delightful.
Evening bar service was very relaxing and as always a good chat with Dave...

Room 7 is now our favourite and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Room 7 Balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamford-Family-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnB65, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to see you again.
The balcony rooms are special and it's lovely to sit out on the balcony at the end of the day and watch the ships as the sun goes down.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing