We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
320
56
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
56
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old village sea view homemade jams isle of wight balcony room lounge bar plenty of choice hand wash owners and staff full english buffet table lovely hotel friendly hosts few minutes walk each morning fruit salad visiting shanklin
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

This is an ideal independent, well-run, friendly seaside hotel. It delivers all you would expect from this sort of establishment - immaculately kept interiors, nicely presented dining room (neatly laid tables and gleaming crockery and cutlery) coupled with friendly young serving staff. Breakfasts didn’t disappoint, and home-made jams to die for. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RGMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear RGM
Thank you very much for your kind review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
With kind regards
Dave, Ann & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Havelock.
The breakfast certainly deserves a mention. Great choice and quality of food. Superbly presented by a young, happy and smiling staff.
Rooms well cleaned each day.
Well placed for visiting Shanklin and for exploring the island.
Enjoyed drinking a local beer in the evening and chatting with Dave.
Sadly, the aircon in our room was not working - which made the room very stuffy in the muggy evenings. (Room 12)

Room tip: Room 12 - no balcony or sea view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Poisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Mr Poisson

Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us,

Unfortunately the air conditioning broke in Room 12 a week or so ago, we have placed an order for a replcement, but due to the recent hot weather, the model/size we require to fit the vent is currently out of stock, as soon as the replacement arrives it will be fiited. The current unit is less than 2 years old, but due to the continuous hot weather this summer, I think it has been used more than normal.We're told it's not economical to repair, so we're getting it replaced as soon as is physically possible.

All the best
Ann & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay in this lovely hotel. Spotless rooms,superb service and fantastic breakfast.Our balcony rooms were just perfect. The young staff are extremely efficient,polite and friendly. Thankyou Dave and Ann,see you again soon .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Liusa, Pam & Wayne

Many thanks for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us. Yes, we have an amazing team of staff this year, who are keen and eager to please. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Ann & Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Pleasant stay and good location. Very friendly staff, room incredibly clean and tidy. We had pool to ourselves on the morning of sunshine which was very relaxing. Breakfast although a bit militant (strictly between 8:30 and 9:30) was served quickly with plenty of choice. Would have been straight 5’s if room had air conditioning.(no12)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tbutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Tbutty

Thank you for your very kind review, we're glad to hear that you had a good stay. and that you enjoyed some time in the pool.
All the best
Ann & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This really is the best place to stay when visiting the island. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast is amazing (particularly the sausages!) The staff are all so lovely and friendly! It really is perfect! I've stayed twice now and been lucky enough to have room 7 both times - with the balcony. The nights we have sat out there and found looking out to sea with the handily supplied binoculars so very therapeutic! Coupled with our new favourite app on the phone called 'boatwatch' we've had much fun! Dave and Ann, as usual, amazing hosts and I'm only sorry I didn't get that talked about lottery win to let stay longer!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AbiJF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann B, Owner at The Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Abi & family

Thank you so, so much for your fantastic review, it was an absolute pleasure having you all staying here with us.
We're very lucky to have our superb team of staff too, who are very customer focused and like to excel in their roles.
Let's hope those lottery numbers come up!
All the best
Ann & Dave .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews