We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place!”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #7 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great place!”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

A great bed and breakfast; charming hosts. Very clean rooms and very comfortable beds. Breakfast service impeccable.
A great place. Thoroughly recommend as a base.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreaterLondonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    50
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
188
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just got back from a four-day break at the Havelock with wife and son (aged 7). This is our second year at the Havelock and it's just as good as last summer. Great location, lovely fresh dedor, really friendly staff, great breakfasts, nice swimming pool, good mixed clientelle (families with young children and couples of all ages). What more could you want?!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zacmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We picked this hotel after reading a load of reviews for many different B&B's on the IOW. I read all the reviews for this one and decided to take a chance. What a good decision. The hotel was just what we wanted. It is spotlessly clean, very homely, and the owners
Anne and Dave are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.
From our room we had a beautiful sea view. The beach is a three minute walk from the hotel. Shanklin Old village is a three minute walk in the opposite direction. Shankiln Chine is two minutes away. This hotel is so well placed for everything. But the thing that really sold us was the rooftop swimming pool. It is in a real suntrap corner. What a bonus. We enjoyed a morning and afternoon swim most days and it was great.
In fact the first day we arrived I mentioned that I would like to go for a swim right away, and within minutes Anne appeared with two fresh cups of coffee, and two bathe sheets so we didn't have to use our room towels.
The breakfasts are something to behold, from fruit and cereal to a full english, all perfectly cooked fresh to order, with all the toast and jams you can hope for. The morning staff are all lovely, and are there whenever you need anything.
The hotel had free wifi, and if you needed to borrow ann iron/board it was available
Dave runs a bar in the evening, it was so so nice to have a wander back from an evening out to sit and have a chat and a drink with some of the other guests, just to sit and unwind. But if you prefer to go up to your room instead there was no pressure to do otherwise. All in all a very nice break.
We will be going back as soon as possible

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

Pros
- Modern decor in the room, modern bathroom, balcony looking out ot the sea.
- Good decor throughout common areas.
- Great selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, hot meals and even freshly baked, warm croisants.
- Short stroll to high street / restaurants / old thatched roof cottages / beachfront
- Extremely friendly owners
- Endless supply of mints on the reception desk.
- Free WiFi

Cons
- A bit noisy at night untl about 11pm. Not sure if this was from people talking in the lounge below us, or in the next room. Probably quieter in other areas of the house.
- Parking could be a squeeze at busy times (you might have another car blocking you in)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_of_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Chose this hotel bearing in mind that this was the first time I've visited the Isle of Wight and we needed a good base in which to see a large part of it in a few days. Thanks once again fellow Tripadvisors for pointing us in the right direction and to the Havelock.

A great value for money stay in an extremely friendly, welcoming and comfortable hotel. On one side, access to the fabulous beach and Shanklin Chine and in the opposite direction, Old Shanklin, town with pubs, restaurants (recommend Pendleton's for flavoursome cooking and a great choice in wines at reasonable prices) and great tourist shopping.

A particular mention here of all the wonderful staff at the Havelock - particularly at breakfast time when we really were made to feel special. A great start to the day.

Just a word about travelling by car on the Island. Take a reasonable road map as road signs are not as plentiful as elsewhere in England! The island also has its fair share of one way sytems too and we found it rather difficult to find the hotel on the first day as we approached from the Ventnor direction, (Once you get the hang of the directions, there's no further problem). Basically, drive into Shanklin and follow the signs for The Esplanade (beach front) and then turn into Queen's Rd back in the direction of the Chine past the large Church of St Saviour-on-the- Cliff. The hotel is a little further on the right.

We have very fond memories of the IOW and of all the friendly people we met wherever we went and hope very much to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We have just returned from a very nice week staying at the Havelock in Shanklin with our 12 year old daughter. We were offered a sea view room when we booked or the double/king sized room with the adjoining single bedroom (ensuite) which we chose. We were very pleased on arrival with the bedrooms. Modern and very clean and conmfortable. We also enjoyed having plenty of storage room ie wardrobes, draws for our clothes. Little things like the carpets looking new and the curtains being nice quality gave it a nice feel. The bathroom though small was clean and quite new looking. There was tea and coffee (and hot chocolate) making facilities and a nice small, though plenty big enough for the room, flat screen tv in our room. The towels were changed regularly and we believe the bedding was changed half way through the week. The room was also quiet which we liked. The parking was better than we expected after reading other customer comments/reviews. The Hotel next door was having some work done but that wasn't any problem at all. The Hotel was very convenient for walking to local pubs and the sea front. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice for starters including couissants, fruit etc and a good cooked breakfast and plenty of toast and tea and coffee. The waitresses were very helpful and friendly and made sure we had all we wanted. The bar and guest room was very nice with comfi settees and a telescope but we didn't get to use it much mainly because we were busy visiting island attractions. The swimming pool was shut during our stay but in the summer we could imagine it would be a lovely place to enjoy a swim and lie on the patio. We would definitely go again if visiting the island again and will recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for our stay and for the Easter egg and biscuits!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I am delighted to have just booked a return visit to 'The Havelock'. This will be the third time we have stayed there and I have to say i would not choose to stay anywhere else. We are well travelled people and I am the fussiest person ever. I usually find fault with something, but I have to say, hand on heart, that I cannot find fault this establishment in any way. The room we stay in is immaculately clean and beautifully presented. Ann & Dave are the most wonderfully hospitable people, personable but professional at all times. They are almost like family to us now. They deserve every success and I certainly have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#3 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Property: The Havelock
Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing