We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of The Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Havelock
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This was our second visit this time with parents.

Again a great stay - rooms comfortable, breakfast great and all very friendly. The location is ideal for both beach and the town with many places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk

We will be returning

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfcsccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

The hotel is well situated close to all the local shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was faultless, the room we chose was the en-suite shower with balcony, it was lovely bright and clean. The breakfast was excellent and would suit all tastes. The couple who run the hotel were very friendly and helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back there myself in the very near future!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Booked a stay at The Havelock with my Boyfriend as a last minute break. We were after a few days of peace and quiet to get away from a few things and weren't let down. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, the owners do everything they can to make you feel utterly welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean with a remarkably comfy double bed and a brilliant little TV which had a DVD player built in. The bedroom was comfortable and a decent size with a very homely feel to it. The tea/coffee and hot chocolate tray was topped up as much as needed and the room serviced to a very high standard every day.
Breakfast is served between 8:30am and 9:30am which does seem a little early on holiday but meant we were able to sit each morning with a beautiful view over the English Channel and watch a few boats go by. The food itself was really, really nice with a wide choice of cooked and continental items which should be enough to satisy even the pickiest of eaters. The staff serving are extremely friendly though understandably have less time to chat at busy periods.
This is a hotel which has a truly personal service and, though we had no problems during our stay, I am confident that if anything had happened the owners would have done everything within their power to put it right. We loved it so much we are hoping to go back next year :-)

Only 'downside' we could find is the parking which is 'interesting' to say the least. Nervous reversers or new dirvers would be better using the rear car park.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

First the downsides:-
There is plenty of parking space but you do have be able to reverse (we saw one person leaving who quite clearly had no clue!)
Breakfast is between 8.30am and 9.30am only
Our room was quite compact

Now the upsides:-
We were very warmly welcomed and supplied with a massive pot of tea on arrival
The room was beautifully decorated, had tea and coffee makings and all mod cons
The bar is open when you return to the hotel (it was open later than the Clifton over the road!)
It really is well located for Old Shanklin and lots of restaurants are all within an easy stroll.
The breakfast is brilliant!

All in all a great place which I'd recommend

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

A friend and I stayed for three nights and were extremely impressed with every aspect of the Havelock, from the friendly staff to the lovely bedroom and communal areas, to the fantastic breakfasts. This is really an hotel that happens to not offer evening dining and that charges as if it were a B&B, so it's superb value. I will stay again and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. it's also in a great location two minutes from the sea and the pleasant Old Town. Simply the best B&B I've ever stayed in and, for the money, the best hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinTafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Spent 3 nights here on a package including car ferry from Lymington to Yarmouth.
The room was small but adequate with an en-suite shower room. Breakast was excellent with lots of choice including several diferent cereals, yoghurts,juice etc. Full English breakfast was freshly cooked and was delicious! The staff were efficient and very helpful. The hotel has a heated outdoor swimming pool and a terrace to sit out and relax.
The only downside to this hotel was the car parking situated on the front of the property-
this consisted of two rows of cars down either side of the driveway (which was quite narrow) We had a few scary moments reversing out. There is more parking round the back but there you run the risk of being blocked in as it is a two row system.
The location was perfect for visiting the old village and also the sea-front esplanade.
Various places to eat in the old town Legends pub do a great hot rock sizzling steak.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and particularly the hotel+car ferry deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollymix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Very friendly welcome. Beautiful room. Excellent breakfast with very varied choice. This was our second stay at the Havelock and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock

Address: 2 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £68 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Havelock was originally built as a gentleman's residence and over the years has been sympathetically renovated and extended to provide a mixture of 22 superb bedrooms & family suites, 10 of our rooms also have sea views. Set in attractive gardens, near to the sea and with its own Mediterranean style heated outdoor swimming pool (open mid-May to mid-September), we offer the ideal location to relax and unwind in friendly and comfortable surroundings at outstanding value. Open mid-March - November annually. Guest bar/lounge. Free WiFi available most rooms and bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Hotel Shanklin
The Havelock Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing