We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #5 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Spent 2 nights in July with my husband. Good location. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Many choices for breakfast :-)
Kath & Dave were wonderful and welcoming hosts. Good value for money.
I would come back with no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
244
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in July and had a really nice time. Westbury Lodge is a very good B&B that we would recommend to anyone staying in the Shanklin area. It is an impressive property and is really well located for walking to the village or to the beach. The breakfast was very good and it is clear that the owners are working hard to make it a really successful venture.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leeds0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Returned home from Wesbury Lodge today (21 July) having spent the past 4 days there. I have stayed there four times over a few years and can thoroughly recommend it. In an excellent position for beach, town, bars and restaurants, but also very quiet.. Very friendly and effeciently run with breakfast being ample with cereals, fruit,croissants, yoghurt etc etc and then cooked breakfast. The whole place is very clean and there is a lounge and conservatory for guests use. This hotel is for adults only and there is internet for guests to use. Go for it , you cannot go wrong !! (Jan)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParsnipsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a great week - room was clean and comfortable and the wife had absolutely nothing to moan about (which makes a change!!). Full breakfast menu available, from full English, kippers, fruit and porridge to croissants.
Shanklin is a great resort - long sandy beach, places to eat, pubs and curio shops - lots to do and with a good place to stay like Westbury Lodge you can't go wrong.
We will certainly return for another stay soon and would highly recommend.
See you again soon Kath and Dave

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithPNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Despite only staying at Westbury Lodge for a couple of nights it felt like a home from home and Kath & Dave were wonderful and attentive hosts. The weather was indifferent but the warm atmosphere, comfortable room together with a lovely breakfast more than made up for it. We totally agree with all the positive and complimentary comments already made on this site by other visitors. Kath was very helpful when booking on line and ensured our short stay went smoothly. Hopefully we will be able to return at later date when the sun shines!

Room Tip: The superior room upgrade is worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My cousin and I recently stayed for a few days at Westbury Lodge.
Never knowing what to expect from a B&B, I am pleased to say we were delighted with the reception we received, and everything after that!
Our rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel welcome to make ourselves tea or coffee during the day in the very comfortable conservatory and sitting room
Nothing was too much trouble, and in fact it was the best B&B I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: We had separate single good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bear037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This Guest House was wonderful value for money. Immaculate, friendly, good food, every conceivable effort to make our stay memorable. We'll definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murielewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Property: Westbury Lodge
Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing