We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #6 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have been to the westbury Lodge 3 times before, and we were just as pleased this time as we were when we came in 2009. The hotel was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. The hotel is in a good spot close to beach and the old village. We came for a three night break, myself and my husband. We would certainly come back if in the Isle Of Wight. Hopefully they will have vacancies.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank grandma379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Spent 2 nights in July with my husband. Good location. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Many choices for breakfast :-)
Kath & Dave were wonderful and welcoming hosts. Good value for money.
I would come back with no doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in July and had a really nice time. Westbury Lodge is a very good B&B that we would recommend to anyone staying in the Shanklin area. It is an impressive property and is really well located for walking to the village or to the beach. The breakfast was very good and it is clear that the owners are working hard to make it a really successful venture.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Leeds0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Returned home from Wesbury Lodge today (21 July) having spent the past 4 days there. I have stayed there four times over a few years and can thoroughly recommend it. In an excellent position for beach, town, bars and restaurants, but also very quiet.. Very friendly and effeciently run with breakfast being ample with cereals, fruit,croissants, yoghurt etc etc and then cooked breakfast. The whole place is very clean and there is a lounge and conservatory for guests use. This hotel is for adults only and there is internet for guests to use. Go for it , you cannot go wrong !! (Jan)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParsnipsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a great week - room was clean and comfortable and the wife had absolutely nothing to moan about (which makes a change!!). Full breakfast menu available, from full English, kippers, fruit and porridge to croissants.
Shanklin is a great resort - long sandy beach, places to eat, pubs and curio shops - lots to do and with a good place to stay like Westbury Lodge you can't go wrong.
We will certainly return for another stay soon and would highly recommend.
See you again soon Kath and Dave

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithPNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Despite only staying at Westbury Lodge for a couple of nights it felt like a home from home and Kath & Dave were wonderful and attentive hosts. The weather was indifferent but the warm atmosphere, comfortable room together with a lovely breakfast more than made up for it. We totally agree with all the positive and complimentary comments already made on this site by other visitors. Kath was very helpful when booking on line and ensured our short stay went smoothly. Hopefully we will be able to return at later date when the sun shines!

Room Tip: The superior room upgrade is worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My cousin and I recently stayed for a few days at Westbury Lodge.
Never knowing what to expect from a B&B, I am pleased to say we were delighted with the reception we received, and everything after that!
Our rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel welcome to make ourselves tea or coffee during the day in the very comfortable conservatory and sitting room
Nothing was too much trouble, and in fact it was the best B&B I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: We had separate single good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bear037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £73 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing