We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“west is best”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #1 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went back to Shanklin again and of course stayed at Westbury Lodge where Kath and Dave were just as welcoming, you cannot fault Westbury Lodge as far as i can see its the best place to stay if your visiting Shanklin for a few days or two weeks, Dave"s breakfasts are brill served up by Kath setting you up for the day to tour the island. I recommend Westbury Lodge to anyone you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: any all are good
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Westbury Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in a superior room for 4 days in June.Wonderful cannot fault the property and the hosts Kath and Dave.Very clean.tea making facilities in room,lovely hot shower and nice white fluffy towels.
The breakfast was superb freshly cooked when ordered and lots of choice.
We would not hesitate to recommend, hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arrived at Westbury Lodge earlier than stated book in time but this was no problem for Kath & Dave who were exceedingly welcoming and settled us in with a drink and showed us to our room. The room was a superior twin and lived up to our expectations. Although there was no ceiling fan in our room, Kath & Dave provided a large fan to keep the room cool. Breakfasts were spot on with an amazing choice to suit anyone, the homemade grenola, waffles, banana bread, ..........The lodge was very comfortable and really quiet at night. Well situated near to the cliff top and within easy walking distance of many restaurants. Would definitely recommend this B and B. Many thanks to Kath & Dave for being fantastic hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Shanklin was the second last location we stayed on our trip to Cornwall. It is a good place for walking. Very nice walk to Ventnor!
The BnB of Dave and Kath was very good. Clean, good breakfast, welcoming atmosphere. No complains. Would go back any time. There is a small road outside, but at night it is quiet anyhow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a superior twin which room which had a lovely big bay window and large bathroom with a window. The ceiling fan in the room was very much appreciated as we had HOT weather! Kath and Dave are excellent hosts and the breakfasts must be the best on the island. (where else are you going to get home made banana bread one day and omelette or kippers the next? with many other choices also). The garden and the conservatory add to the attractions of this guest house along with the little extras - they've thought of everything. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaja25_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first stay at Westbury Lodge on recommendation and we were not disappointed.
Kath and Dave were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The property was immaculate, with tasteful decor, and the rooms had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.
Breakfast choice and quality was superb and was a great way to start the day.
The location was ideal with the town or the esplanade just a short walk away.
All in all....a little gem, i would have no hesitation in recommending Westbury Lodge to anyone !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just returned from a lovely week in Shanklin with Kath and Dave. They seem to have thought of everything to make us welcome and comfortable. The accommodation is situated near the cliff walk and lift to the beach plus there is easy access into the town. Our room was spacious and the breakfast had everything you could have wished for. Best value B and B we have found.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginna73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
223 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £70 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing