We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay on the isle of Wight”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #5 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ickenham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay on the isle of Wight”
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The westbury is a great b&b in Shanklin. Our room was very comfortable and clean with nice touches like bathrobes and nice toiletries . Kath and Dave are great hosts and will try to do anything to make you more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
252
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Fantastic location right on the coast.
Very comfortable rooms and nice big lounge area
Kath and Dave were great hosts and made our stay a delight.
Not to mention the best full english ever, set me right up for the day.
We will definatly be returning in the summer.

Many thanks again

Dave and tor x

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

If you have read the other reviews on Westbury Lodge then here we go again. Pam & Sheila are great. Helpful, interested but not in your face. Welcome was good and informative. Room was very nice. Breakfast was excelent and nothing is to much bother. Ideally located for old and new Shanklin. Our favorite bar was Harry's,a bit tucked away but worth the visit(old Shanklin). Best resturant in Shanklin was Pendletons, great service and food (Italian). The Taveners in Godshill was our favorite eating place but you need to book. 
I have never given 5* but for a B&B this well deserves it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Four of us (two couples) stayed for three nights over a weekend in September. Pam and Sheila are wonderful hosts. We were welcomed with a much appreciated cup of tea and a chat providing all the local information we needed including places to eat and pubs with the best real ale! All this while our (numerous) bags and suitcases were taken up to our rooms. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and a good size. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the bathrooms were large and nicely decorated as we had past experience of rather minuscule facilities in other B&Bs. On the ground floor there is a large lounge and lovely conservatory opening out onto a patio in the garden with tables and chairs. Breakfast was excellent. Try the cheesy scrambled eggs! We had a very early (5:00 a.m.) departure and Sheila was kind enough to make us a packed lunch. We visit the Island every year and will definitely be back to the Westbury.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed at Westbury Lodge for 4 nights in September and fully endorse all the other great reviews here. Pam & Sheila work very hard to make sure the accommodation is spotless and beautifully presented. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are excellent. Shanklin turned out to be a good choice for a base to tour the IoW -- big enough to be interesting and small enough to be walkable; with an excellent choice of restaurants and pubs. Westbury Lodge is well placed, 5 minutes stroll from the Cliff Lift to the Esplanade and 10 minutes from the shops etc. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This is as close to perfection as you can get, thanks to Pam and Sheila's attention to every detail of your stay. Comfortable, beautifully decorated and immaculately prepared and maintained rooms, a superb choice of top-quality freshly-cooked breakfasts, all the tourist and eating-out information you could need, and the best welcome you could imagine.

Pure enjoyment!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The Westbury certainly deserves the wonderful reviews it recieves on Trip Advisor, we have never recieved such a warm welcome. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the offers fantastic value for money, with many unexpected extras such as branded full size shower gel and soap in the bathroom! Our hosts were so warm and relaxed as they greeted us that we felt like we were visiting members of the family. The choice offered at breakfast is fantastic with each individual guests needs being catered for on a daily basis. The Westbury is situated just a short walk away from the seafront at Shanklin, making our stay partially car free as we enjoyed the delights that the town has to offer. We would whole heartedly reccommend The Westbury Lodge to adults wanting high quality accommodation and service at an excellent price. Thank you ladies for a first class stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyholsTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Property: Westbury Lodge
Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing