We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good guest house lovely hosts and a fantastic breakfast every day”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We really had a lovely time as we had never been to the IOW before we looked on trip advisor and found this guest house it is so clean and fresh you would not be dissapointed if you stayed here it is a gem. Regards Mark & Rose

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosina103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

Had a great stay - was central for shops, restaurants & beach. Breakfast excellent. Beverage facilities in all rooms & in lounge. You could have a tea of coffee & chat with other guests, if you wish. Kath & Dave very friendly couple. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDeepstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The reviews for this B&B were excellent and as such we booked a 3 night stay over the Easter weekend. The big question was whether the new owners would live up to the standards set by the old.

I'm delighted to say they did. The location is excellent - a 5 minute walk to the Old Town where there is a good selection of restaurants and pubs serving nice food and good ales.

The B&B itself is very warming, we were welcomed with a nice cuppa and some shortbread whilst Kath explained what there was in the neighbourhood.

We were in a Superior Room and it was beautifullly decorated, lots of light, lovely views, plenty of space and a very nice bathroom/shower.

Breakfast was fantastic! Great selection of cereals/breads, etc and a good choice of cooked items. Local produce was great and was one of the best breakfasts I've had for a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just returned from two lovely nights in this b&b. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfasts delicious.

Location is in the centre of Shanklin, just a short walk from the sea front, town centre or the old village. Very convenient, with off street parking.

I would definitely recommend, it's nice to find somewhere that doesn't look like it was last renovated in the 70's!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Located near the coast close to the High Street. Also close to other towns such as Ryde and Sandown. Room was clean and spacious. We really felt at home here and a great place to come back to after a lond days sightseeing. Kath and Dave were great hosts and we were well looked after. Pricing was very resonable also. Will recomend to all. Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The westbury is a great b&b in Shanklin. Our room was very comfortable and clean with nice touches like bathrobes and nice toiletries . Kath and Dave are great hosts and will try to do anything to make you more comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Fantastic location right on the coast.
Very comfortable rooms and nice big lounge area
Kath and Dave were great hosts and made our stay a delight.
Not to mention the best full english ever, set me right up for the day.
We will definatly be returning in the summer.

Many thanks again

Dave and tor x

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyG_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing