We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts,Wonderful Location.”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #5 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
1 review
“Great Hosts,Wonderful Location.”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed at Westbury Lodge for a 5 day break in June. Dave and Kath made sure that we wanted for nothing, The room we stayed in was large with a bay window which made the room light and airy,with a large also bright and airy en suite bathroom (everything was provided) all you needed was a toothbrush.The room and indeed the whole place was kept very clean. The Breakfast which was included in the price was top notch,there were cereals,fruit juices,yoghurt's.croissants,fresh fruit,full English breakfast and many other choices,all were fresh and delicious.
The location was perfect,it was a short walk to the lift which took you down to the beach,
or a slightly longer walk if you went down the steps which took you to the sandy beach.
If you went the other direction,up hill you would get to Shanklin village which is chocolate box,picture postcard village, with thatched roofed Pubs,Restaurants and Gift shops and if you want to see something different,nothing is far away on the Isle of Wight.
We were blessed with glorious June weather,which always helps when on holiday in England,but our short stay at the Westbury Lodge in Shanklin was memorable in many ways and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
234
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Before we arrived at the B&B, Kath (one of the two owners) was very good and efficient at keeping us informed about the details of our stay. Once we arrived at the B&B this high level of customer service continued. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from both Kath and Dave, they both took time out of their day to welcome us to their cosy B&B. After a long journey to the Isle of Wight, it was lovely to be met by such welcoming hosts with a complimentary tray of tea and shortbread biscuits! Just fab! We were then shown our room, which was lovely. The 'unexpected' extras in our room were greatly appreciated, including cotton buds, ample shampoo & conditioner, bottles of water and biscuits. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and cooked to order. The B&B is in a great location, short walk to the beach, many restaurants and 'olde worlde' gift, cider and sweet shops. Brilliant stay, would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Isle of Wight. Thank you, Vicky and Darren x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Kath and Dave went out of their way to make us welcome. Rooms was clean and spacious. They had information and brouchures about things to do in the area. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely. And when our train was late afternoon, they let us check-out late. Wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel223London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Went here for our 9yr anniversary and had a lovely time. Kath and Dave make you feel very welcome and try hard to accommodate any particular needs. We stayed in a superior room, which had a beautiful bay window with nice views at sunset and a big comfy bed. Breakfast was great and made to our specific requirements. We would recommend eating at Purple Mango (delicious indian), and fishermans cottage nearby, or baywatch on the beach in st helens. All did outstanding food. Overall had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I stayed in Westbury Lodge with my disabled elderly mother and my sister just after Easter. Kath and Dave are very good hosts, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. They were helpful in accomodating our needs both with respect to the rooms, parking and our table in the dining room. It is their attention to detail which makes this an excellent place to stay from the fresh milk available on the beverage bar to the choice of breakfast and excellent coffee. We all enjoyed our stay on the Island and were lucky to enjoy beautiful weather. Kath and Dave also keep a very useful selection of pub/restaurant guides as well as other tourist information.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee_Lady_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We arrived for a birthday weekend for my partner to a warm reception from the proprietors Kath & Dave. Our first impressions were 'fantastic, what a great find'. Both Kath & Dave showed us round and made us extremely welcome. The accomadation was exeptionally clean throughout, with tea and coffee making facilities available either in the room or in the communal lounge. There was free wi-fi or the use of the internet from a dedicated area in the lobby / reception. The reception had plenty of local information as well as the comprehensive 'information manuals' regarding island attractions, dining, and walking. The decor in the rooms, and indeed throughout the building were to a high standard with some 'nice touches' in terms of comfort. Having had a relaxing and very comfortable nights sleep we arrived for breakfast. The service was fantastic, the menu great, we recommend everything from the menu, but personal choice, try the ommlettes, absolutely first class ! We were given the impresion that nothing was to much trouble which is great when you need good information and services. Shanklin is a great little town with everything you need, all types of cuisine are available wheather you like thai, indian, chinese, italian, or just a good old bit of pub grub. In truth you would not starve in Shanklin. The town has tradition and history along with a good atmosphere and a nice beach. In summary we had a fantastic four days on the island. Kath and Dave were first class host's and the accomodation was suberb. We highly recommend to anybody.

Richard & Karen (Bristol)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We really had a lovely time as we had never been to the IOW before we looked on trip advisor and found this guest house it is so clean and fresh you would not be dissapointed if you stayed here it is a gem. Regards Mark & Rose

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosina103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#3 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#1 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Property: Westbury Lodge
Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing