We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hosts, great B&B”
Review of Westbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbury Lodge
Ranked #6 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Kath and Dave were fantastic. They even prepared a Victorian breakfast for us after when had given permission to try new dishes on us. And we heard that now you can make your own tea in the lounge downstairs. Brilliant! Westbury Lodge is perfectly located: the train station is not far, buses run even closer, the supermarket is only three blocks away and there's a selection of top-notch restaurants that are open off-season in March as well -- of course within walking distance. The scenic bus ride along the west coast was not operating in March, but the walking path uphill from Shankin to Godshill offered some amazing views. The coastal path to Sandown was more like a street, and right at the beach there are small cafes where you can stop to have coffee and such. The coastal path from Ventnor to Shanklin was something different -- after a longish strech on the beach right after Ventnor, there were a number of steps upwards, followed by an eerie forest, an old small church and the landslip, which may well have been the most remarkable landscape we witnessed. Very impressive as well. All in all, we not only recommed Westbury Lodge for the great service, during off-season Kath and Dave even had time to talk with us about our experiences on the island. Buses and trains run punctually on the island so we found it rather pleasant travelling even without our own car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniKomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed for 1 week in July. Kath and Dave were great hosts. We really enjoyed our stay. Close to the beach and village. We had the large bright room at the front. You do not have to drive unless you want to. The train from Shanklin to Ryde is quick and convenient.

Breakfast was good. Plenty of eating places in Old Shanlin. We eat at a different restaurant each evening. Nice to be able to recommend a place when so many comments on Tripadvisor are negative.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Stayed two nights, first trip to IoW, wonderful experience and I'm glad I chose this place based on it's tripadvisor rating. Actually the management glowingly referred to in the reviews has changed but Dave and Kath (new owners) are equally friendly, hospitable and professional. The place is spic and span, looks neat and new, and the rooms well appointed. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a B&B. It's well located close to the seafront, the road it's on isn't noisy and the lounge and guesthouse in general is spacious and comfortable. Definitely would recommend, good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virtualtraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Myself and my partner stayed here on one of our more recent visits to the Isle of Wight and by all means this has been my favourite B&B to date.

The owners at the time (Pam & Sheila) were fantastic, very helpful and friendly and always around for a nice chat. Breakfast was made to order and served hot with continental breakfasts available also and a wealth of knowledge of the island was avaible in the communal living room, which leads on to a little comfy sun room extension. The bedrooms were immaculate and made daily, stocking a mini-fridge, Freeview television and even wireless internet was available. The front garden was well kept the property was just stunning to look at. Parking wasn't provided by the B&B but all the streets nearby were free to park on, though finding a space could be a bit of a nightmare at times but this was definitely a minor niggle.
We will be trying another B&B out of tradition in August this year but I will definitely be returning to the Westbury lodge in the future and recommend it to all. The hosts couldn't have made us feel more welcome if they tried!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marynjoseph, Owner at Westbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

These guests visited Westbury Lodge 8 months ago whilst the previous owners were still in residence. Please see the 2010 reviews which relate to new owners Dave & Kath Brickell.

We now have 4 off road parking spaces for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed at Westbury Lodge for a 5 day break in June. Dave and Kath made sure that we wanted for nothing, The room we stayed in was large with a bay window which made the room light and airy,with a large also bright and airy en suite bathroom (everything was provided) all you needed was a toothbrush.The room and indeed the whole place was kept very clean. The Breakfast which was included in the price was top notch,there were cereals,fruit juices,yoghurt's.croissants,fresh fruit,full English breakfast and many other choices,all were fresh and delicious.
The location was perfect,it was a short walk to the lift which took you down to the beach,
or a slightly longer walk if you went down the steps which took you to the sandy beach.
If you went the other direction,up hill you would get to Shanklin village which is chocolate box,picture postcard village, with thatched roofed Pubs,Restaurants and Gift shops and if you want to see something different,nothing is far away on the Isle of Wight.
We were blessed with glorious June weather,which always helps when on holiday in England,but our short stay at the Westbury Lodge in Shanklin was memorable in many ways and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poolest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Before we arrived at the B&B, Kath (one of the two owners) was very good and efficient at keeping us informed about the details of our stay. Once we arrived at the B&B this high level of customer service continued. We were greeted with a very warm welcome from both Kath and Dave, they both took time out of their day to welcome us to their cosy B&B. After a long journey to the Isle of Wight, it was lovely to be met by such welcoming hosts with a complimentary tray of tea and shortbread biscuits! Just fab! We were then shown our room, which was lovely. The 'unexpected' extras in our room were greatly appreciated, including cotton buds, ample shampoo & conditioner, bottles of water and biscuits. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and cooked to order. The B&B is in a great location, short walk to the beach, many restaurants and 'olde worlde' gift, cider and sweet shops. Brilliant stay, would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Isle of Wight. Thank you, Vicky and Darren x

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Kath and Dave went out of their way to make us welcome. Rooms was clean and spacious. They had information and brouchures about things to do in the area. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely. And when our train was late afternoon, they let us check-out late. Wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel223London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
488 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Lodge

Address: 25 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £73 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults (16 yrs+), 8 en-suite bedrooms. Peace & tranquility ......Moments from sea, clifftops, old village, town, rail and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Lodge Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing