We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach holiday with robinsons”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“coach holiday with robinsons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

on the 2nd to 9th june we went on a coach holiday with robinsons to the ocean view hotel shanklin isle of wight this is one of robinsons own hotels firstly we had paid for a front sea view room ad as myself and my friend are a little disabled we asked for a room with plent of room to manouver about what we got on arrival was the pokiest partial sea view room possibe i went to reception to complain and they said they would try and move us to a more suitable room next day as there were no available today the next day we were move to a much better room that had the sea view we paid for the hotel was quite nice but when we went down to the dinning room we did not get a table for two but had to share which we didnt really want but luckily the couple we shared with were nicethe food was adequetnothing more the service was good and the entertainment was also good the excursions were excellent so all in all it was a reasonable holiday but dont go if you are expecting luxury but for what we paid it was ok

Room Tip: dont get put in room 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank thetelephonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    177
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
53
184
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Similar to the previous reviewer, we too had a KGB deals voucher which we used last weekend, as a family of four adults and a child. I had no problems booking the weekend of two nights, and we found the hotel fine. Have to say right at the onset that the staff at the hotel are friendly, nice and accommodating. I think it is the management which is an issue, and the chef!

My biggest grouse is that the food that was served at breakfast and dinner was worse than you can ever imagine. Cold, not seasoned and really small portion sizes which keep you feeling underfed. The fruit cocktail was tinned fruits served with a small scoop of icecream. Fruit juices were served in the smallest glasses you can imagine. and ... ENGLISH BREAKFAST comprised of 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 half tomato, 2 spoons of bakes beans and 1 egg... really looked miserable!

Not a good experience, have to say when a good aspect of one's stay in a hotel is the breakfast (and dinner, if that is part of the deal).

Other than that enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna (the steam room was not working). The rooms were okay, a bit cold but they came around with blowers. Helpful staff as I said earlier.

Room Tip: Room 240 is good, as a non sea facing room.. very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Templefortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

For our second stay on the island, we spotted a voucher offer on the KGB website in April for a 3 days stay. We were hoping to spend a ong week-end or 4 days during the school holidays. I called the booking helpline straight away as I know these offers can get booked quickly. I mentioned the voucher over the phone and there was no availabilities for 3 nights with a week-end until the voucher was running off at the end of December 2012! I was told this is due to the fact the hotel is booked by coaches mainly, why are they running an offer on KGB is therefore purely to fill up the leftover rooms. Amazingly, I asked my partner to phone the booking line without mentining we had a voucher and they found us an availablity straight away for the 4th until the 8th of JUne, however we were told we had to book for nights and not 3 as this was their only availabiity! We were charged £80 extra for a night we did not asked for, as far as I am concerned if a room is free for 4 nights, it is available for 3!
This is the issue for this hotel, it is ONLY for coach trips and if you don't belong to the groups booked, you end up on a small table, my partner and I could not sit opposite to each other as there was no room, for 4 days we had to sit and eat at a silly angle as coaches have the best tables by the windows. During the whole stay, you are reminded constantly that you are here to fill up empty rooms, not to enjoy your individual stay.
The hotel decor is outdated and so is the menu, everything is overcooked, eggs, steaks...
The good point is that the clientele is strictly over 60s and generally quiter than another large hotel but you are left feeling out of place if you are not a coach booking. The customer service of the booking line is poor, I strongly recommend not to e-mail but phone them directly, they tend not to answer e-mails at all. I felt my holiday was spoiled by the way they are dealing with bookings and we were forced you to stay the number of nights suitable to them! My stay there was as gloomy as the hotel itself, if you have to go to the Ocean View, make sure you pay extra for a sea view, this is the only highlight you will have.

Room Tip: Sea view, 2d floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frederique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Parents and daughter with new husband stayed in rooms 4, 5 & 6, Ground floor. Excellent rooms with beautiful sea views. Sea view was from an all glass (Patio) wall stepping out onto a terrace and garden provided for these three premier rooms. Other wedding guests also reported their rooms were very good and comfortable. The staff were excellent and the maitre d'hotel (Stuart) was great and served the wedding breakfast and buffet lunch. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The only disappointment was the Full English Breakfast which was very small, but you could ask for more if you wanted it.

There are steps from the garden leading down to the lift which takes you down to sea front and restaurants.

We would certainly go back there and our daughter has been several times already, which is why she chose to marry on the Island.

The only drawback we could see to this hotel was the small parking area for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a sea view. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony45_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I begin this review by saying this is a really nice hotel and, given the price you will pay to stay here, It is extremely good value and if you are visiting the Isle of Wight then there is no reason not to stay here despite what some previous reviewers have said. I write this as someone more accustomed to staying at some of the finest hotels in the world.

We arrived on the first night at 6.50pm and were greeted by name (last guests to check in so it was obvious but still a nice touch!) The welcome was very freindly. We were told that dinner was served 6.15 to 7pm so we went straight down to dinner and we were met by the Head Waiter, again by name and made to feel at ease despite being close to 'closing' time. The meal was excellent if a little small portion size wise. Most of the other guests were from coach parties and the hotel is very much geared to serving this clientel hence the regimented meal times. If you accept and understand this fact it is not a problem PARTICUARLY when we were staying at £45 a night for two nights INCLUDING dinner bed and breakfast.

We had a room on the 2nd floor. The room was large, had a balcony out to the rear, not perfect as it looks out over the car park but that was the luck of the draw. The room in terms of decor WAS dated and maybe a little tired but it was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfy, my partner declared that it was 'so much more comfy' than the bed we had slept in a month earlier at The Savoy in London which are reputed to cost £8,000 each.

The hotel is by no means perfect but is extremely good value and all the staff are freindly and welcolming.

Try to ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the view is great!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueSunbeam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Feeder Robinsons coach driver from Mansfield to services was grumpy, though main coach driver Liam was very friendly & cheerful. We were in room 206 and it was spotless, only fault was showers was either burning hot or freezing cold, so you had to do the hokey cokey in them. Showers in the swimming pool changing rooms were cold and the steam room never worked. Sauna was nice along with the pool. Waitress service from Ned was excellent and speedy. If small portions on food, we only asked for more and it came straight away. The trips were good. The Bulgarian Barman was very friendly. Overall a good 5 days stay and would go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midlandsman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

ROOM 125 -this was our second stay at this hotel and our second trip with Robinsons, after being belittled by "george" because my suitcase was to big, he was rude obnoxious and down right degrading and embarrassed both me and my partner by the way he spoke to us. he needs to go on a people skill course we set off from Lymn. We were in for a shock when we got to our room, it was small and disgustingly filthy, their was so much dust on the lamp shade that you could have written your name in it, well you could have if it hadnt been practically falling out of the sealing. The dust coming from the bathroom fan affected my chest (i suffer from Asthma) so badly i had to go out and get antihistamines, the dust on the skirting boards was disgusting, the beds were made very poorly, i found bugs in my bed one night when i pulled the sheets back. most of which i have attached photos of to prove the hotels hygene. We paid extra for a sea view, but if i was in the room all i saw was t he back of the hotel or the hotel across the street. Thank God we had good weather so I could go out onto the balcony and enjoy what was considered to be a sea view. There was glass on the stairs leading to our room the whole week we were there, so the carpets are never hoovered on the stairs. The pool area was dirty but you could cope with that because the water was lovely but some of the facilities werent working. The shower was cold, and broken there was only one height and that was at the bottom of the slider pole.

the only good thing i can say about this hotel is that the food was good its a pity the standard of the food wasnt carried out throughout the hotel, portions a bit small but that coupled with the good service from Jodie and Carol and Mary at our table, saved our stay at this hotel being totally miserable.

So my advice to anyone wanting to go on a robinsons holiday to this hotel, think carefully if you suffer from Asthma.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#18 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing