We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

stayed here 8 nights on a coach trip but wished we hadn't the room was smelly and musty, the bathroom was a disgrace, the taps were caked in limescale and was fearful of cleaning my teeth from the water that came out of them. We also had no hot water for 2 days.when we asked to change rooms was told there was none available. couldn't wait to come home again.

Room Tip: dont think there are any good rooms, the whole hotel needs a lot of money spending on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

Having previously booked hotel deals through Travelzoo and having found the quality to be consistently excellent, we were very disappointed in this similar deal from KGB Deals.

Our room was very tired looking, with a particularly lurid-coloured and slightly damp smelling bathroom and parking lot views. Breakfast and dinner were included in the deal, but having arrived late we were informed we’d missed our 6.30pm slot for dinner. Having seen the food on offer and subsequently ‘enjoying’ breakfast the next morning, this was not necessarily a bad thing. I (accidentally) mistook the fruit and juice laid out on a big table for a help-yourself buffet and was told in no uncertain terms that it was not help yourself and we should wait for service. I wish we had left at that point, as what we were served was, quite frankly, dire. Clearly they were catering for large groups and therefore preparing the breakfasts en masse, but literally everything on our plate had been nuked, and don’t get me started on the smiley-face hash browns… The couple next to us actually complained about their rock-hard poached eggs, only to be given exactly the same again, leading to an exchange of wry smiles (possibly the highlight of our stay).

Despite having booked the deal for two nights, we checked out shortly after breakfast, as we couldn’t face another night there.

From a fairness point of view, I should mention that we clearly weren’t the target guests for this hotel, as the prominent chair lifts and (literally) coachloads of pensioners made clear, and it was also a relatively cheap deal - so I guess the old ‘pay peanuts..’ adage applies. Lesson learned for next time...

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, you should aks for a seaview room. Ours faced the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SophDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

With just 3 weeks to go to our sea view hotel room we received a telephone call to say that due to a double booking with a coach party they had to cancel our booking! At least they offered to book us into another hotel so we at least had our holiday. We had stayed at the Ocean View Hotel before but the hotel they booked us into was so much better and we will be going back there in future.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the ocean view for 8 days and 7 nights...we paid for a premier room and with a sea view and thats what we got.The food and the service from the hotel and staff was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. We will stay there again and would definatley recommend it......

Room Tip: I would recommend room 225 because this is a lovely sea view and the sun hits the balcony in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

stayed at the ocean view for eight days .this was our third visit.we found most ofthe staff polite and friendly and the food good .also excellent service from neil the waiter .the only fault we had was we paid extra for a premier room and we thought it was not worth the extra money as bathroom was very dated .

Room Tip: end sea view rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

on the 2nd to 9th june we went on a coach holiday with robinsons to the ocean view hotel shanklin isle of wight this is one of robinsons own hotels firstly we had paid for a front sea view room ad as myself and my friend are a little disabled we asked for a room with plent of room to manouver about what we got on arrival was the pokiest partial sea view room possibe i went to reception to complain and they said they would try and move us to a more suitable room next day as there were no available today the next day we were move to a much better room that had the sea view we paid for the hotel was quite nice but when we went down to the dinning room we did not get a table for two but had to share which we didnt really want but luckily the couple we shared with were nicethe food was adequetnothing more the service was good and the entertainment was also good the excursions were excellent so all in all it was a reasonable holiday but dont go if you are expecting luxury but for what we paid it was ok

Room Tip: dont get put in room 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank thetelephonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Similar to the previous reviewer, we too had a KGB deals voucher which we used last weekend, as a family of four adults and a child. I had no problems booking the weekend of two nights, and we found the hotel fine. Have to say right at the onset that the staff at the hotel are friendly, nice and accommodating. I think it is the management which is an issue, and the chef!

My biggest grouse is that the food that was served at breakfast and dinner was worse than you can ever imagine. Cold, not seasoned and really small portion sizes which keep you feeling underfed. The fruit cocktail was tinned fruits served with a small scoop of icecream. Fruit juices were served in the smallest glasses you can imagine. and ... ENGLISH BREAKFAST comprised of 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 half tomato, 2 spoons of bakes beans and 1 egg... really looked miserable!

Not a good experience, have to say when a good aspect of one's stay in a hotel is the breakfast (and dinner, if that is part of the deal).

Other than that enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna (the steam room was not working). The rooms were okay, a bit cold but they came around with blowers. Helpful staff as I said earlier.

Room Tip: Room 240 is good, as a non sea facing room.. very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Templefortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £44 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing