We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a pleasant stay, staff was very friendly from the time we booked in, at meal times and when we left, our room was overlooking the sea with a balcony it was very clean and plenty off room.heating was on a bit high which we didnt have control over so had to sleep with windows open.Food was tasty but small portions but hotel do cater for the older generation so this might be the reason why.Would return again specially in the hotter weather

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 481frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hospitality of the hotel is well above excellent, if there was a rating above 5 I would have chosen that. The staff at the hotel is so cooperative which makes all the difference to the experience, the building or the hotel itself doesn't make any difference if that touch of hospitality by the staff is not added to it. The hotel itself boasts of ocean view and we were given a sea view room which entitled the sunrise and sunset view from our room balcony, which deserves hats off to the hotel manager. The restaurant holds a special place in the hotel and the manager so cooperative that he tried and accommodate our dietary requirement in such a short span of time. I appreciate your hospitality above everything else Mr Mark. An experience that will always stay in my memories, thank you Ocean View Hotel and the entire staff at the hotel especially Mark.

Room Tip: any room is as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on a KGB deal for less than £100 for 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. Often on these deals you are given one of the lower standard rooms but in this hotel this was not the case. We had a room overlooking the sea with a proper balcony. Our only complaint would be that the room was very warm.....we had to sleep with all doors and windows open. The food was reasonable....not five star but certainly not bad. The hotel does cater for the older generation which is reflected in the entertainment and the general atmosphere of the place. The staff are all friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay here. We would consider visiting again, but probably only if the KGB deal came up again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We've just returned from a 5 day break with Robinsons at the Ocean View Hotel and can definitely recommend this hotel and Robinsons Holidays. Most of the hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and the room had recently been redecorated and was very clean. We also had a fantastic sea view from our room on the 2nd floor. The food was basic but high quality and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GilF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I recently tried to book a coach holiday to this hotel with Robinsons Coaches. This being one of their own hotels. I requested a room with a walk in shower as my husband has mobility problems. I was told when I inquired about booking this 5 x day break departing on Sunday 20th Oct 2013 that I needed to get a Doctors note. They do have rooms with walk in showers but to get one I needed a Doctors note. I have never heard anything like it . Need less to say I won't be booking with Robinsons .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed with a friend for a girly weekend away 4-6 October and were lucky to catch the last of this years sunshine. The view from our 2nd floor balcony (room 220) looked out onto the whole of Shanklin bay and the sunsets were amazing. This hotel is central for visiting many attractions on the island and close to Shanklin town centre which was a 10 minute stroll up a gentle hill.
The hotel is a bit tired and outdated but kept as clean as is possible with dated fixtures and fittings in the room.
The beds were clean and comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water for a shower. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room was a welcome you don't always get in every hotel and reception were only too happy to top our supplies up when I asked for more. Our 2 night stay included breakfast and dinner which consisted of 4 choices for each meal, including the 3 courses at dinner. The food was always fresh and hot and the portions were adequate. We did find it a bit strange that we were asked to pre order our evening meal at breakfast, we refused as we weren't sure what we would fancy 9 hours later !! This was met with acceptance in a professional and friendly manner from a member of the waiting staff, in fact all the staff there were as customer focused. I can only imagine that this helps out in the kitchen with portion control, which I understand but it felt a bit hospitalised.
The main clientele at this time of the year seemed to be coach trips of older people, who incidentally were sometimes louder than your 'average lager lout on a benidorm booze up' especially early morning before breakfast ! At least they got us up in time for breakfast which is served at your table 8.15 - 9.00am. Dinner is also waitress service 6.15 - 7.00pm. Quite restricting but kept us organised and on track planning our fun packed days out. The biggest problem for us was deciding which activities/visits/attractions etc to prioritise during our short stay...there are so many things to do on this small island you will be spoilt for choice.
Would I go back ? If i was looking for a value for money break ... Definitely

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking the beach has fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fifty of us stayed at the OCEAN VIEW HOTEL and all came away without any complaints, the staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms were very clean and the food was very varied and good choices, well done! to the kitchen staff and waiters and waitresses for presenting the food so quickly, yes there was the odd 'holdup' but that was due to some of the staff arriving late but who hasn't overslept at some time or other? Well done to everyone and wish you well in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the Sea View rooms are fantastic 'family rooms' with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing