We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having read other reviews of this hotel on this site I can confirm many of their comments. Very friendly staff all extremely helpful, from management to the bar staff, Hotel rooms are clean and airy with an excellent location high on the cliffs at Shanklin with the cliff lift next to the hotel to take you to the beach. Fantastic views from our room ( I think we had one of the best rooms in the hotel with double aspect views over the sea and cliffs.) Sea facing rooms look over the quiet coastal path with no traffic in sight.

Meal times are a bit limited and the meals were ok but we would most likely have tried dining out in the local restaurants if our stay had been any longer ( 2 nights). Restaurant staff were also very friendly and efficient in serving everybody in a relatively short time.

I would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel for another short break.

Room Tip: Try the sea facing rooms. One of the best sea views on the south coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    178
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
55
185
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Widemouth Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on Saturday June 21st with a cycling tour.

Our keys were ready and the efficient manager had everything laid out, suitcases were ready in a spare room and the room was clean although dated.

Hotel generally caters for 60+ age demographic and it's 70's decor is typical of a faded Victorian seaside hotel and in honesty this is part of its appeal.

Breakfasts are small and to the bone, they are working to tight margins, the continental is a banana, yoghurt and croissant and the cooked is an egg piece of bacon and a tea-spoon of beans. Don't expect to leave full

Rooms were good size although the balcony doubles up as a fire exit route there is no privacy.

Convient location 4 minute walk from town shops and 30 seconds from the beach lift which was Excellent

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My and my friend Went to this hotel Sunday to Thursday The hotel was very nice.
The staff were great!
Our coach Driver was called Neil he was very nice.
We travelled with Robinsons On the 8th of June.
I would come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 840Nick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

i had a double room with balcony at rear of hotel. very large bathroom. the shower curtain needed replacing . and the hot water was boiling...much too hot, Décor was very dated. Bed comfortable and very clean. Staff brilliant and very friendly. Very good value for money though.. Excellent location.. Robinsons driver John was most informative and had a nice manner...

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor easier to manage if have walking problems... few steps between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the highlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from this Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone, the staff are very helpful, the food is good and the hotel is very clean. Maria and her staff work very hard to ensure that you have a very pleasant stay, We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited Ocean View 17th-24th May.After seeing Linda490s review we wondered what we were letting ourselves in for.
Well,to start with,the cleaners did not throw us out of our room in the mornings.In fact we never saw them.The only way that you could tell that they had been in the room was the fact that it was spotless throughout,towels changed every day,hospitality tray replenished and bed made.
Entertainment was provided every night catering for the more mature person but enjoyed by most of the other people.
The food was decent British fare,with a choice of breakfasts.Dinner offered a choice of four starters four main courses and four desserts.No problem there.
Now the staff.All the staff who we encountered were efficient,helpfull and pleasant.Special mention to Maria who seemed capable of doing every job in the hotel and often did!
The dining room staff were absolutely wonderful.
We had a sea view room as an extra,money well spent. The view from our room (223) had the WOW factor and then some.
We travelled with Robinsons and could not fault them in any way from start to finish.
This is an English seaside hotel,and should not be compared with west end of London hotels.
The hotel delivers.Well done Robinsons. We will use them again without doubt.

Room Tip: Get a sea view,its well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bollyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had booked 2 rooms and I must say we are quite happy. Although the hotel has old decor throughout, rooms were clean and good size with massive windows. The service fantastic and staff very nice and helpful. The down side was a food. Dinner was very basic, tasteless and not pleasant to the eye. Breakfast was much better. Majority of guests were seniors which made the hotel quiet and if you travel with family/ small children this is a definitely a big plus.
Overall good value for the money and fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slawek83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Property: Ocean View Hotel
Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing