We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxing place to stay”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little concerned as to what to expect. Travelled with partner and teenage son for a short break.
Hotel was far greater than expected. Yes the rooms are a little tired but they are more than acceptable, with a fine view out to sea. We had room 119 and 118 and would have no problem in recommending them; the breakfast was good and fresh. A little on the small side but ample to set you up for the day. Evening meal was four course and again agreeable.
Pool and sauna/steam room are under used and that was great as we had the whole area to ourselves. All very warm and with plenty of clean towels to hand.
There is a very good snooker room. And the bar was fine and very reasonable at under £3 for Guinness, and a fair bottle of wine and three soft drinks at under £13 for the restaurant...
Quiet lounge, good bar, and entertainment room. And a fine deck area to sit and take the view and air.
Extremely good location directly opposite the cliff lift and stairs and less than 5 min walk to town shops etc.
The old town and chine less than 15min walk.

the only draw back being that this is a hotel set up for the coach firms and as such the average age was 65 but that in no way caused any bother in our break and stay and I will be rebooking again soon and have recommended it to several others.

All in all it is very good value for money at around £35 per night for dinner, bed, and breakfast. With full use of amenities and with sea view.

Please anyone who books don’t forget the staff. As they (from what I gather) receive very poor tip to service ratio.
A pound or so here and there will make them feel that the good service they give is worth the effort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

This was our first visit to the hotel and we found it to be quite good,the service in the restaurant was excellent,our waiter was neil and was first class
We stayed in room 217, a lovely big room and it was very comfortable,the plumbing though left a lot to be desired, the cistern took ages to fill up, and it was imposible to control the temperature in the shower.
Our driver Neil was very knowledgable and an excellent driver.
All in all we had a good holiday,and we would go with Robinsons in the future

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have just returned from an eight day stay at Ocean View and overall it was a very pleasant experience, the room was clean but basic, and they could do with investing in a new shower system as the one fitted in the bathroom works off the taps, the food was well cooked but the portions where small and though it suited me if you where a big eater you would leave the table hungry. My only other gripe was at six people to a table things got pretty cramped. Having said all that I would stay there again as it gives excellent value for money, if you want fine dining and five star rooms you would have to dig a lot deeper in your pocket then I did, all the staff where friendly and helpful and i would like to give a special thanks to Luke our waiter for looking after us all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We travelled to this hotel with Yorks(Bowens).If you travelled with Robinsons you seemed to be allocated better rooms. I didn't like the fixed dining times (0845 breakfast and 1845 dinner -go in too early and you get told off), portions were small, but food good. Although we paid for sea view we were allocated a broom cupboard on the 1st floor.. However, when we complained we were upgraded to a 2nd floor room overlooking the back of the hotel with spectacular sea views. Our coach driver 'Steve' told us absolutely nothing about the Island, he was a driver not a guide.Nothing much to do on the island and far too hilly. Excursions rubbish. Not recommended

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemmo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Travelled 2 isle of wight with Bowens, what a great hotel so much better than Cygnet in Sandown. Coming back again. and staff were lovely thanks for making my daughter's 18 birthday memorable!! Love to Les!!! xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

just got back last week from this hotel and couldn't fault it really

*driver Neil very good knew things about that island that i never knew were possible!

*food was nice no moans there!

*room rather big took 3 hours to walk there as we were miles away from the lift bit nice all the same! (bathroom needs a refurb had 4 different colours of bath furniture)

*entertainment good! especially the last two nights!

*bar, well brilliant less makes a mean Vodka and J20 and the younger bar man(sorry if you read cant remember your name) great as well

only downside is the management could smile more often he looked so unhappy ! a smile goes along way!

overall very happy would go again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couldnt_realy_think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We travelled to the Ocean View with Robinsons, it was our first coach tour and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, we paid supplements for door to door service and for a seaview room, both well worth the extra. Our coach driver Neil was excellent, we found the trips out very good. The service at the hotel very good, our waitress Tasha was a little gem!
We had no complaints about the food, although we heard quite a few complaining of cold vegetables and portions not very big.
Overall an excellent holiday and we will definitely travel with Robinsons again

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Hotel
The Ocean Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing