We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas at ocean view”
Review of Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2010

we have jus returned from a self drive holiday staying at the ocean view hotel over christmas and i could not fault it one bit,
from previous revies i wonderd if i was staying at the same hotel.
frome check in with luggage being taken to the rooom whic was large and with good views , to the dinning room where nothing was to much trouble and things were s offerd above and beond what was on the menu.and the portions were of a resonable size and there was no shortage of food being offerd over the entire period whilst there.
yo the good and varied entertainment provided each night..
and every where there were trays of fruit and tins of chochaltes in bar and in reception area i thought everything had been thought through. even to advertising about the outside entertainment in shanklin.
well doone to all the staff there , i enjoyed it so much am returning in the summer.

a very happy visitor and will try there other hotels if they of this standard

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blucruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2010

coach tour.
could have been a lot better standard for coach company own hotel.
it was not very good at all.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LancashirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Just came back from a lovely relaxing stay at Ocean View Hotel in the Isle of Wight, We travelled with Robinsons by Coach and had a lovely time. The staff were really helpful and friendly and I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

nice clean room food good staff very good entertaiment every night +bingo would def, stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebooth372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Having read some of the previous reviews I was a little concerned as to what to expect. Travelled with partner and teenage son for a short break.
Hotel was far greater than expected. Yes the rooms are a little tired but they are more than acceptable, with a fine view out to sea. We had room 119 and 118 and would have no problem in recommending them; the breakfast was good and fresh. A little on the small side but ample to set you up for the day. Evening meal was four course and again agreeable.
Pool and sauna/steam room are under used and that was great as we had the whole area to ourselves. All very warm and with plenty of clean towels to hand.
There is a very good snooker room. And the bar was fine and very reasonable at under £3 for Guinness, and a fair bottle of wine and three soft drinks at under £13 for the restaurant...
Quiet lounge, good bar, and entertainment room. And a fine deck area to sit and take the view and air.
Extremely good location directly opposite the cliff lift and stairs and less than 5 min walk to town shops etc.
The old town and chine less than 15min walk.

the only draw back being that this is a hotel set up for the coach firms and as such the average age was 65 but that in no way caused any bother in our break and stay and I will be rebooking again soon and have recommended it to several others.

All in all it is very good value for money at around £35 per night for dinner, bed, and breakfast. With full use of amenities and with sea view.

Please anyone who books don’t forget the staff. As they (from what I gather) receive very poor tip to service ratio.
A pound or so here and there will make them feel that the good service they give is worth the effort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This was our first visit to the hotel and we found it to be quite good,the service in the restaurant was excellent,our waiter was neil and was first class
We stayed in room 217, a lovely big room and it was very comfortable,the plumbing though left a lot to be desired, the cistern took ages to fill up, and it was imposible to control the temperature in the shower.
Our driver Neil was very knowledgable and an excellent driver.
All in all we had a good holiday,and we would go with Robinsons in the future

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have just returned from an eight day stay at Ocean View and overall it was a very pleasant experience, the room was clean but basic, and they could do with investing in a new shower system as the one fitted in the bathroom works off the taps, the food was well cooked but the portions where small and though it suited me if you where a big eater you would leave the table hungry. My only other gripe was at six people to a table things got pretty cramped. Having said all that I would stay there again as it gives excellent value for money, if you want fine dining and five star rooms you would have to dig a lot deeper in your pocket then I did, all the staff where friendly and helpful and i would like to give a special thanks to Luke our waiter for looking after us all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
6 reviews
3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1-5 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Shanklin
Ocean View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing