We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming, relaxing, family friendly hotel, great setting”
Review of Cliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is about my 5th time staying here. we have tried it in the summer , spring and Christmas period.
The service was always marvelous lots of choice for breakfast to suit everybody.
The rooms spacious and clean and tidy with great views.
Amenities were excellent great games room and pool and beautiful views of the sea from the rooms and the garden. the Bar is so friendly and you can just hang out there on your own chatting to the staff, till the family join you.
A lift down to the beach is great for buggies and the elderly.
Staff were so friendly and helpful great service indeed.

Room Tip: ask for sea view or over pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jax63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed for 5 nights with hubby, was so welcoming. Owners and staff very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable, maybe slightly out dated but I thought it added charm. Ideal for being near the town, restaurants and bars minutes away. We had a car so no where is far on the Island! View was amazing (even when it is raining). I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyberbird44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel. As a family of 4, with a 10 and 4 year old, the family room was good. Bunk bed for the kids was fine and the room plenty big enough. Very clean and comfortable. Would have been better if tv had had freeview as only 4 channels, and if the shower had been a bit more efficient, but the pros far outweighed the cons. Breakfasts excellent and staff all very friendly. Would definitely go back again

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauraflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is our second visit to this Hotel with my husband, son and his partner. Once again we had a fabulous time! The owners and Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was very clean and the ensuite refurbished with a lovely shower. We will be going back in the future. Poached eggs.....legendary!! Sea views.....Awesome. Many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I recently visited the Cliff Hall Hotel with my family and younger sister. It was my first trip to the Isle of Wight and I will definitely return. When I arrived I received a very warm welcome and immediately felt relaxed and comfortable. The owners are amazing - I will definitely re visit. You can ask them to do pretty much anything and if they can do it - they will! The hotel was very comfortable - from lazing round the pool (which I did a lot of!) to sitting in the bar and then getting a good nights sleep!! The entertainment was very good also, within my 10 day stay there was a live musician, karaoke, a quiz night and god knows what else! The owners know the Island very well and were very helpful in advising me of fun things to do! We went tree climbing, visited the Isle of Wight pearl, went to the needles, visted the zoo's, enjoyed the water sports etc etc. I had never been before so I needed as much help as I could get! And then at the end of a busy day I could sit in the beautiful gardens and watch the ocean in peace! The hotel is very quiet and peaceful during the day time, but there is a heated pool and a games room if you get bored, or the beach just down the road. I had an amazing holiday and would like to thank everyone at the Cliff Hall for making my stay so enjoyable! See you again soon hopefully!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was the 6th time we have been to this hotel. Each year the owners have spent more and more money updating all the rooms etc. Our room (15) is exceptional. We have the most stunning views. This year we had a brand new 'king size' bed and an lcd television. Everything about this hotel is relaxing. The staff make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, old, young, with families or without. My 16 year old daughter still wants to come back next year - that says something! Keep up the good work and see you next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Stayed for 10 days with husband and 2 small children. Very friendly atmosphere and children were welcomed every morning. Family room very comfortable, and kids loved the bunk beds. Sea view fantastic! Waking up to the sun rising over the sea every morning was breath taking. Yes, the rooms could do with modernising, yes, the water pressure and shower wasn't great, but everything was very clean, and house keeping did a good job. There are always going to be people that find something to complain about, but after staying there for 10 days, there was nothing to put a dampner on our lovely holiday. I can only remember the positives which definately included the beautiful outdoor pool (which was always clean) and the marvellous breakfasts.
If you are looking for an ultra modern hotel, this is not for you, but if you want a nice quiet, clean, family friendly hotel, give this one a go!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauraflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hall Hotel

Address: 16 Crescent Road, Shanklin PO37 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £99 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hall Hotel is a traditional,family run hotel for over 12 years. Offering great breakfasts, unrivalled sea views and the warmest of welcomes. It is ideally situated for the beach, Shanklin old and new towns and all the great attractions, the island has to offer. Our sea views rooms have full frontal views of the sea and the ground floor sea views have their own outside sun terrace. All room types are available. All public areas and garden offer stunning sea views. A lovely sun terrace offers seating and seclusion. Leisure facilities include table tennis, games cupboard and t.V area. There is also a games cupboard in our well stocked bar. The garden has loungers and garden furniture to entice you to have an early evening drink and take in the magnificant sea views. Although breakfast is included we also offer a lunch menu in mid and high season and NEW FOR 2015,a half board option is available in September (between 4th - 18th September only) The half board option (£20 per person for 3 courses)can be booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants/bars and cafes. PLEASE NOTE FOLLOWING RE-FURBISHMENT THE GUESTS BEDROOM/BATHROOM PHOTOS ARE OUT OF DATE(please refer to our web site for current accommodation photos) The Cliffhall received a higher grading in 2015, as a 3 star silver guest accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing