We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Cliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A great family run hotel in a fantastic setting. The owners, Mark, Mike, Pippa and Toni could not have been friendlier or more accomodating to all our large party. The hotel is a lovely building and the dining room and lounge areas are stunning. The garden has wonderful views and the pool is great too and was much enjoyed all. The food is also great. Highly recommended.

Nick H

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    35
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
55
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights 14th July Enjoyable stay, nice breakfast, we did not try evening meals as they stopped serving too early for our timings. Clean room and bathroom, bedroom was pleasant light and airy. The views from the public areas are stunning overlooking the sea. Garden and pool nice too,although I wasnt brave enough ( pre warm weather) to try the pool.
Bar closed at 11pm due to quiet week from Sunday. Staff and owners were very nice and friendly which made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshladyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I am disabled and needed a hotel with disabled access and disabled rooms. Well this one was ideal. My room was very spacious, had amazing sea views, and door access to hotel garden. I shared so had too single beds. Spacious bathroom, shower is big had hand rails, and a seat for showering if needed. Toilet has a rail at the side for help, toilet may be a bit low, but could take a raised toilet seat to help. Access to dining room on same level. Breakfast was lovely, and fried bread was out of this world, only have it on holiday. evening meals available, tried it one evening, very nice. Staff very friendly and willing to help. Great history to the hotel. Overall very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Disabled room was great for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you like hotels that are just like every other chain hotel this is not for you.
The staff were great and willing to stop and chat. They were not faceless icons. The rooms were spacious and airy, The sun lounge over looking the bay was a place to relax in and forget time. Sit watching the big cruise ships on the horizon in the evenings all lit up. The little informal games and evenings entertainment were great and a good time to get to know fellow guests. The room I had was quiet, airy, great bed to sleep in and wake up relaxed. Lovely location, great staff, good food, quality bar, Great week. Will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the 6th time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. The staff are the nicest I have ever known at any hotel, they go above and beyond what any guest would expect. The views from our bedroom are just wonderful. We have always found our room to be spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is lovely (and heated), the food which is available and lunchtime and evening is excellent. The owners are investing lots of money improving their hotel and now have a couple of suites available! We have already booked again for next year and are looking forward to it - keep up the good work Pippa, Toni, Mark and Mike x x

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if you can the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Oh this is one of those review’s that I wish I didn’t have to do because the people were nice but knowing what I know now I would not have booked in the first place.
Staff –Great
Breakfast-Great
Location-Great
Rooms-Below average
Bedding-Clean but old mix match stuff
Cleanliness of rooms-Below average
Shower-In bath with mixer tap either hot or cold nothing in between
Swimming pool-Cloudy out of use and had been for some time
Bar-Well not really, prepare to go out

I booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews so really surprised, but now I see I am the first reviewer in over a year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrouchEndLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Many thanks for your candid comments. We fully accept all of them. Major refurbishment within the hotel which was still not completed meant we opened in a hurry, after a winter season full with educational groups(hence no reviews)
The problem with the swimming pool and the plumbing in your bedroom have now all been rectified. The rare comment about cleanliness being below average in your bedroom has been taken very seriously! We can assure you that we generally score very highly in this department.
We aggree the bar was very quiet, as occupancy was,due to bad weather and current climate. We are sorry that your feedback was not more positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here in May 2011 with my Family and we had an excellent stay here. We stayed here for 6 nights. The staff couldn't do anything more to help us, they were excellent. The accommodation was very good and the views out to sea were stunning. My children and my wife had a lot of fun in the swimming pool as well. We are planning to return to this side of the Island sometime next year and we will probably be staying here again as we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hall Hotel

Property: Cliff Hall Hotel
Address: 16 Crescent Road, Shanklin PO37 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hall Hotel is a traditional,family run hotel for over 12 years. Offering great breakfasts, unrivalled sea views and the warmest of welcomes. It is ideally situated for the beach, Shanklin old and new towns and all the great attractions, the island has to offer. Our sea views rooms have full frontal views of the sea and the ground floor sea views have their own outside sun terrace. All room types are available. All public areas and garden offer stunning sea views. A lovely sun terrace offers seating and seclusion. Leisure facilities include table tennis, games cupboard and t.V area. There is also a games cupboard in our well stocked bar. The garden has loungers and garden furniture to entice you to have an early evening drink and take in the magnificant sea views. Although breakfast is included we also offer a lunch menu in mid and high season and NEW FOR 2015,a half board option is available in September (between 4th - 18th September only) The half board option (£20 per person for 3 courses)can be booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants/bars and cafes. PLEASE NOTE FOLLOWING RE-FURBISHMENT THE GUESTS BEDROOM/BATHROOM PHOTOS ARE OUT OF DATE(please refer to our web site for current accommodation photos) The Cliffhall received a higher grading in 2015, as a 3 star silver guest accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing