We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Gem”
Review of Cliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I had a long weekend here recently with my mother. The experience started well, when I called to book to single rooms with sea view, I was offered a free upgrade on one of the singles to a small double so we could have rooms close to each other. The hotel is in a great spot with a lovely garden offering fabulous views and a clean pool surrounded by loungers. There is ample parking and it's a short and pleasant walk to Shanklin village and its wealth of shops and restaurants

The welcome at the hotel was friendly and we were shown round all the facilities and up to our rooms which were clean and pleasant. The breakfast was lovely and as a vegetarian it was a great bonus to be offered a veggie sausage option.

Whilst the hotel is a little faded in places the warmth and professionalism of the staff make this a great choice for a traditional seaside hotel. Many guests we encountered were regulars which speaks for itself

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tltprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Cliff Hall, many alterations have been taking place to which we had a preview! All the hosts and their staff were, as usual very friendly, relaxed and on hand all of our stay. Excellent food and service, nothing is too much trouble and the views must be the best in Shanklin! Along with the pool and other facilities we all had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. We are returning next year to sing along with with Dave!

Room Tip: seaview rooms well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A great family run hotel in a fantastic setting. The owners, Mark, Mike, Pippa and Toni could not have been friendlier or more accomodating to all our large party. The hotel is a lovely building and the dining room and lounge areas are stunning. The garden has wonderful views and the pool is great too and was much enjoyed all. The food is also great. Highly recommended.

Nick H

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights 14th July Enjoyable stay, nice breakfast, we did not try evening meals as they stopped serving too early for our timings. Clean room and bathroom, bedroom was pleasant light and airy. The views from the public areas are stunning overlooking the sea. Garden and pool nice too,although I wasnt brave enough ( pre warm weather) to try the pool.
Bar closed at 11pm due to quiet week from Sunday. Staff and owners were very nice and friendly which made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshladyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I am disabled and needed a hotel with disabled access and disabled rooms. Well this one was ideal. My room was very spacious, had amazing sea views, and door access to hotel garden. I shared so had too single beds. Spacious bathroom, shower is big had hand rails, and a seat for showering if needed. Toilet has a rail at the side for help, toilet may be a bit low, but could take a raised toilet seat to help. Access to dining room on same level. Breakfast was lovely, and fried bread was out of this world, only have it on holiday. evening meals available, tried it one evening, very nice. Staff very friendly and willing to help. Great history to the hotel. Overall very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Disabled room was great for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

If you like hotels that are just like every other chain hotel this is not for you.
The staff were great and willing to stop and chat. They were not faceless icons. The rooms were spacious and airy, The sun lounge over looking the bay was a place to relax in and forget time. Sit watching the big cruise ships on the horizon in the evenings all lit up. The little informal games and evenings entertainment were great and a good time to get to know fellow guests. The room I had was quiet, airy, great bed to sleep in and wake up relaxed. Lovely location, great staff, good food, quality bar, Great week. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the 6th time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. The staff are the nicest I have ever known at any hotel, they go above and beyond what any guest would expect. The views from our bedroom are just wonderful. We have always found our room to be spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is lovely (and heated), the food which is available and lunchtime and evening is excellent. The owners are investing lots of money improving their hotel and now have a couple of suites available! We have already booked again for next year and are looking forward to it - keep up the good work Pippa, Toni, Mark and Mike x x

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if you can the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
412 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hall Hotel

Address: 16 Crescent Road, Shanklin PO37 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £78 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hall Hotel is a traditional,family run hotel for over 12 years. Offering great breakfasts, unrivalled sea views and the warmest of welcomes. It is ideally situated for the beach, Shanklin old and new towns and all the great attractions, the island has to offer. Our sea views rooms have full frontal views of the sea and the ground floor sea views have their own outside sun terrace. All room types are available. All public areas and garden offer stunning sea views. A lovely sun terrace offers seating and seclusion. Leisure facilities include table tennis, games cupboard and t.V area. There is also a games cupboard in our well stocked bar. The garden has loungers and garden furniture to entice you to have an early evening drink and take in the magnificant sea views. Although breakfast is included we also offer a lunch menu in mid and high season and NEW FOR 2015,a half board option is available in September (between 4th - 18th September only) The half board option (£20 per person for 3 courses)can be booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants/bars and cafes. PLEASE NOTE FOLLOWING RE-FURBISHMENT THE GUESTS BEDROOM/BATHROOM PHOTOS ARE OUT OF DATE(please refer to our web site for current accommodation photos) The Cliffhall received a higher grading in 2015, as a 3 star silver guest accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing