We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Have just spent seven days at the Cliff hall hotel. A brilliant experience,nothing was too much trouble, good breakfast, swimming pool excellent,well stocked bar,rooms spotlessly clean, thanks to the owners!Mark andPippa ,mike and Toni,Miss it at your peril

Room Tip: Try for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    33
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely cliff-top hotel and enjoyed it very much. We had a spacious room and bathroom, a great view of the sea, comfortable beds, complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. The outdoor swimming pool is slightly heated to a very comfortable temperature, and there are plenty of inflatable toys for the use of the guests.
There's a very nice garden with a great view where you can have tea, eat out, or play a board game (the hotel's choice of board games is quite vast indeed).
The hotel is located on the cliff where you have an easy access to the beach via a lift or a short walk. The lift is paid though, a pound per ride I think, or perhaps a pound for a return ticket. It is also within walking distance to the town centre (about 10 min one-way). There's a launderette down the road which we found very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desi_Coupland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and you kind and useful comments. We look forward to your second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently stayed here for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in a single room & a twin room and both were comfortable & clean. Breakfast was very nice. We tried the omlettes & also the poached eggs and were not disappointed. Everyone was friendly & helpfull. There was a mixture of nationalities, so the hotels fame must be spreading! Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire_Lass195725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

On our third visit to the Cliff Hall we took my elderly mother and other members of our family, we received a great welcome from Pippa, Toni, Mark and Mike, it was like meeting friends that we had known for years.
The service and food was excellent, the rooms we had had were very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was brilliant, especially as the weather was very hot and a cooling dip was much appreciated, the pool was very clean and catered for both adults and children.
My mother really enjoyed her stay as did my sister and her husband, both of them said that they would come back as they were made to feel very welcome.
The hospitality at this hotel is one of the best on the Island.
As for myself and my husband (Jackie & Len) we hope to re- book a few more days in September - making this the forth visit.

Room Tip: great hotel for familys and couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqiauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you Jackie and Len for your very kind comments and for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

we were welcomed as soon as we stepped in the door to when we left. The food was very good the room was of a good standard for its star rating. the outside sitting area was very good with a sea view the bar was also very good with lots of very comfortable seating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed for a weekend. The big thing about this hotel is the friendliness and attention of the staff. The rooms themselves are a little tired, but the hotel situation is glorious. The breakfast was freshly cooked and of good quality. Forget the buffet rubbish of the chains. They booked out restaurant, then changed it round for us when we had complications. They could not do enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your candid comments and for taking the time to review the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

15 Slightly geriatric cricketers stayed here last weekend. This was our 3rd time we have visited Cliff Hall and as usual we were treated to some superb hospitality. Mike and Mark treated us very well. Even, after a chat on Friday night, getting some beer in for the Saturday that I had tasted previously on the Island. The room rates were very reasonable and the rooms themselves were in good order. The staff cold not do enough for us, booking restaurants for us and finding pubs to show sports etc. Would highly recommend this placed to anyone who is considering a visit to the Island

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brunswick Hotel
Brunswick Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hall Hotel

Property: Cliff Hall Hotel
Address: 16 Crescent Road, Shanklin PO37 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hall Hotel is a traditional,family run hotel for over 12 years. Offering great breakfasts, unrivalled sea views and the warmest of welcomes. It is ideally situated for the beach, Shanklin old and new towns and all the great attractions, the island has to offer. Our sea views rooms have full frontal views of the sea and the ground floor sea views have their own outside sun terrace. All room types are available. All public areas and garden offer stunning sea views. A lovely sun terrace offers seating and seclusion. Leisure facilities include table tennis, games cupboard and t.V area. There is also a games cupboard in our well stocked bar. The garden has loungers and garden furniture to entice you to have an early evening drink and take in the magnificant sea views. Although breakfast is included we also offer a lunch menu in mid and high season and NEW FOR 2015,a half board option is available in September (between 4th - 18th September only) The half board option (£20 per person for 3 courses)can be booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants/bars and cafes. PLEASE NOTE FOLLOWING RE-FURBISHMENT THE GUESTS BEDROOM/BATHROOM PHOTOS ARE OUT OF DATE(please refer to our web site for current accommodation photos)AND THE HOTEL WILL BE APPLYING FOR A NEW AND HIGHER GRADING IN 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing