We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Cliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A great place we went here on our honeymoon the staff where great and made us feel very welcome. We was not sure about where to go in shanklin and the staff recommend some great place to visit.
The room was nice and cosy and I would recommend them a lot

Only negative is that it needs some TLC.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markvenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your candid and kind comments. A lot has happened since your stay and further refurbishment have taken place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    35
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Multan, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I had the most wonderful stay there. Best value for money, good amenities, free parking, spacious rooms, courteous staff, the hotel has it all. The hotel has a very homely feeling, And the staff is just very very helping. The most wonderful experience with the staff, everything was perfect, highly recommended for a visit to Isle of Wight :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AtaulMunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Right from the start the lady on the other end of the telephone, (who turned out to be Pippa, one of the owners), couldn' t do enough for us. She even arranged the ferry crossing which we appreciated coming from so far away in Cumbria. I have to say it was also cheaper than if we had had to book it ourselves. The welcome we received upon our arrival was so sincere and genuine. After Pippa had given us a very comprehensive tour of the hotel and explained everything very thoroughly we were shown to our room which was light and bright with a lovely sea view. That evening we enjoyed a lovely meal and the meals were of the same high standard all week. The friendliness of the hotel was amazing, fellow guests and staff alike. The location was excellent too. There was so much to do on the island and the owners were always pleased to help you with information and directions too. What a lovely weeks holiday we enjoyed and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddydavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for such a kind and honest review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have just spent three nights at the Cliff Hall Hotel and it was fantastic.
We had a family room as there were three of us, the room was bright, clean and airy as was the bathroom.
All the staff were so friendly & welcoming and we are definitely going to return. Mark, one of the hotel owners even changed the time of our ferry crossing from afternoon to evening as we enjoyed it so much that we didn't really want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you very much for the time you have spent to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester Uk
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the August bank holiday. The hotel is situated on the cliff overlooking Shanklin bay, within easy access of the lift to take you down to the beach and is about ten minutes walk away from old town. The hotel itself is oldie worldie which suits Shanklin. The pool area is beautiful and kept very clean, and the communal areas are well resourced with a pool table, table tennis table, wii consol and other games for kids. The breakfast was lovely, although as the hotel was fully booked did get a little cramped. The staff were very friendly.


The only thing that lets this hotel down is the quality of the furniture in the bedrooms. I think the trouble is, after being personally shown around the communal areas when you arrive, you forget it is only 2 star accommodation. So when shown into our standard double room with sea view, we were a bit disappointed. The bed was reasonably comfortable (2 singles turned into a double so lots of space) it was clean and the view was great but the furniture was cheap and tatty and looked like it had not been updated since the 70's. The bathroom suite was a dark pink colour, the shower was nothing but a dribble above the bath and there was carpet on the bathroom floor(!).

I am aware the hotel is slowly going through a refurbishment at the moment, and I really don't think it would take much to update the room, new doors on the inbuilt wardrobes, new bedside tables and dressing table, a more contempory bedspread and curtains to add a splash of coulour, and new bathroom suite with NO carpet! (although turning it into ultra modern would not suit the hotel!).

Overall when taking into account the location, facilities, breakfast etc. I do think £100 a night is a little steep for the quality of the actual room comparing it with many other hotels we have stayed at including London and other European towns/cities. I would have felt it was good value if we had paid about £80 a night.

I do wish the owners every success with the room renovations, as they have a lovely property and are very friendly. I think they could achieve 3 stars very easily should they wish to do so. I would be happy to return again once the rooms have been upgraded providing the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. There are still a couple of the standard seaview rooms that have not yet been refurbished as you pointed out. I think your appraisal of them is entirely fair. The cost for these rooms has been static for 2 years for this reason. The cost of the rooms does also take into consideration the location and Hotel facilities but we take on board your comments. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although the Hotel (and the entire Isle of Wight) was jammed to capacity for the scooter rally, the staff and service at The Cliff Hall were excellent.
The food was superb, including the full English Breakfast.
The rooms were comfortable and tidy and always clean when we returned in the evening.
The hotel was quiet at night, so we enjoyed a good nights sleep.
The staff were always accessible and smiling, ready to help whatever we asked.
Our whole stay was full of happy memories and we will return in 2014, and also recommend The Cliff Hall to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedzeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent two nights here in a standard double room. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the en-suite – shower only – looked recently refurbished. We had two opening windows and a side sea view which was lovely, but the room itself was very very hot!
The garden has spectacular views over the sea and the hotel is fabulously situated right on the cliff path with the cliff lift nearby. The pool area is a little gem of a suntrap, with loungers and parasols and the pool is heated which was lovely.
They have a Games Room down beside the pool area with a full sized billiard table, table tennis, and a Wii.
The breakfast buffet was good with the usual selection – eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding etc, with kippers and omelettes cooked to order. The dining room is totally glass fronted, with no opening windows and it was SO HOT, which made eating uncomfortable, so we took our plates and went out to eat in the garden. Opening windows or aircon would make such a difference.
The snack menu was good as was the evening menu – although only served until 7pm when we were there. With a young child, that was no problem for me and we liked that it so informal and served in the bar, conservatory or garden. Although the hotel is so perfectly positioned for all Shanklin has to offer, we chose to have all our meals at the hotel as the views from the garden and conservatory are so spectacular that we preferred to just ‘stay home’ relax and enjoy.
We enjoyed our stay very much, which was partly due to the glorious weather, but I do feel that £94 per night for 1 adult and 1 child is a bit steep – although I realise it was peak season.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank macsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffhall, Owner at Cliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review and for all of your positive comments. The price you paid is the price for a standard double room per night for 2 adults. Children will get discounted when sharing a family room with bunk beds and 2 adults. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hall Hotel

Property: Cliff Hall Hotel
Address: 16 Crescent Road, Shanklin PO37 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hall Hotel is a traditional,family run hotel for over 12 years. Offering great breakfasts, unrivalled sea views and the warmest of welcomes. It is ideally situated for the beach, Shanklin old and new towns and all the great attractions, the island has to offer. Our sea views rooms have full frontal views of the sea and the ground floor sea views have their own outside sun terrace. All room types are available. All public areas and garden offer stunning sea views. A lovely sun terrace offers seating and seclusion. Leisure facilities include table tennis, games cupboard and t.V area. There is also a games cupboard in our well stocked bar. The garden has loungers and garden furniture to entice you to have an early evening drink and take in the magnificant sea views. Although breakfast is included we also offer a lunch menu in mid and high season and NEW FOR 2015,a half board option is available in September (between 4th - 18th September only) The half board option (£20 per person for 3 courses)can be booked directly with the hotel. The hotel is central to many restaurants/bars and cafes. PLEASE NOTE FOLLOWING RE-FURBISHMENT THE GUESTS BEDROOM/BATHROOM PHOTOS ARE OUT OF DATE(please refer to our web site for current accommodation photos) The Cliffhall received a higher grading in 2015, as a 3 star silver guest accommodation provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing