We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach Trip Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coach Trip Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

First thing to say is thanks to the staff at this hotel, they were always courteous, polite and friendly and always helpful, service was very good, The hotel is dated and needs certain things put right to make a stay more enjoyable, Our bedroom was medium size with a balcony, but the en-suite was small but recently re tiled, strangely the sink was outside the room in the small entrance to the room and with a very cheap plastic cabinet by it, water pressure to the shower was very low, would have been better with an electric power shower. Some others in our group had no or very little hot water and very small rooms. The mattress was very hard lumpy and old, the tag on it said it was made in 1977, not good enough, change it asap, The pillows also were dreadful and obviously old as well. Food was good but lplease don't serve frozen fish and frozen veg, they were a letdown after some very nice meals, all food was served hot and there was enough for us. The hotel has no lift and is not really suitable for the more elderly or infirm who cannot climb stairs. I feel that for the price we paid the hotel was good but the few niggles I have pointed out I have had to mark it down.Thanks again to the staff who do a very good job but the owner should be seen more often and ask customers if they are enjoying their stay at least once during their stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darylandbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
These are budget holidays and we do our very best, we always give value for money.
Also, if any guests have any complaints, they should report it to the reception and we will do our best to rectify it.
The fish we serve is fresh/frozen.
The staff in the hotel are always around, as well as the management and the owner who all work long hard hours to accommodate our guests.
The hotel has had a considerable amount of modernised work done and is looking very up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    18
    17
    15
See reviews for
19
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Auckland Hotel and found all of the staff very polite and helpful. A lot of the rooms had recently been decorated were very comfortable and had good size flat screen TV's. The meals were hot and of a good standard. There was excellent entertainment.It is a short walk to the village and sea front.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

A pot of milk for my walk was too much trouble.

The food had been measured out I think with weighing scales food was inedible in places.

The rooms looked like that had not seen any new paint in 20 years with mismatched furniture and poor decor very very basic indeed.

The staff we largely unfriendly and most things seemed to be too much trouble.

Avoid this hotel if you are going to stay on the Southern Coast of the Isle of Wight there are much better hotels than this for the same money that you pay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We would like to point out that the food is not measured by scales and find this completely untrue and ridiculous!!
The food service is quick and efficient and the meals are plentiful and of a very good standard. We also have a lot of feeback regarding the food being far too much as oppose to too little. We would also like to mention the fact that this is a BUDGET....BUDGET Holiday and that we are very generous with all food served according to the money that the hotel gets, which is very little. We are often praised and remarked upon by the guest as to how marvelous everything is and how little the guest is paying, and that it is fantastic value for money, BUDGET Break!!.
It is disappointing to receive a bad review from a guest who did not have the courage to come to the reception and remark in person. Also, who expects five star treatment when paying a very small amount for a Monday - Friday BUDGET break!! The staff all work very hard to provide a good service to all our guests.
And the Hotel has had a make-over and is looking very nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at the Auckland hotel around 4 times now on my annual trips to the Isle of Wight and have to say I'm a little shocked at some of the reviews shown on this site for it.

I'm always travelling alone so stay in one of the single rooms (usually on the 2nd or 3rd floor). The rooms are clean, never paid any attention to the TV as I'm always out and about somewhere. One of the room had a bath, no shower. Not sure about the other one as it was more than a year ago but again - no real cause for complaints.

The hotel is very well placed for a quick walk into Shanklin town centre, bus and rail connection to Ryde. I have many friends in Gosport, Portsmouth and Southampton to this is an ideal placement for me.

On my last trip in October, we were delayed on our trip down south due to missing the early ferry. When we finally made it to the hotel, the staff had stayed back and very kindly laid on a wonderful dinner for us anyway. They most likely wouldn't have done this at most places. The food is always good and although I typically don't go for dessert, that looked nice also!

I'm already looking at booking up to return at some point in May this year, possibly for a second time around October as well depending on funds and getting the time off work. The Isle of Wight is very photogenic and a very relaxing place to spend a few days away from the office.

I'd like to thank all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful time and wish you all the best.

Best regards

Gavin

Room Tip: Certainly if you are looking for a decent view, then go for a balcony room but I do believe these ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you agian in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Most rooms 60's style,old fashioned,tired,faded. Tv out of the ark had to bang the top to work. No showers,towels not changed in four days or room cleaned. Apart from rubbish emptyed and teabags replaced. Had to pull bed away from wall to plug in hairdryer,then too far away from mirror to see. Pillows old with lumps. Asked waitress if we could drink our own bottle of wine at dinner and pay corkage. She agreed and kindly brought us wine glasses. Minutes later the proprietor came over to our table,shouting very aggressivly. That we were to remove the wine from the dining room at once. He made such a scene and even threatened to call the police should we not do so. We asked him to discuss the matter outside the dining room but he continued to shout even louder at us all! Faulty Towers comes to mind!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

went to the auckland in aug this year staff and the owners the johns family were very helpful and the room was kept tidy and the food was exellent

Room Tip: go for sea view at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank williams140644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a fantastic weekend, it was a budget coach trip but far exceeded our expectations, great filling food, and welcoming happy staff. would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank darren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Owner at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#24 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#40 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Property: Auckland Hotel
Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing