We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Went to the Island as a day tripper and such beautiful weather so decided to stay the night, tried to get a b&b/hotel on my Internet phone but kept losing the connection, managed to find this hotel on late rooms.com £75 for one night, this was one of the cheapest others wanted £100+, tried to book it connection failed again, decided to drive around to the hotel, met by the manager who happily booked us in for £70 balcony room with great views, very spacious room, basic but did what it said on the tin, bed, telly, bathroom and shower. We freshened up (we had a overnight bag just in case) and went out and about the village,had some food and got back to the hotel about 8 and had a great time in the bar area, great singer who catered for all age groups as the clientele were mostly 50+ she stuck with their genre of music which went down well, all up dancing and having a really good time, left the bar about 11 and our room was directly overhead we didn't hear a thing, maybe the alcohol helped us sleep.

Breakfast was served at 8.45 some of the visitors looked a bit worse for wear after the night before but all managed to make it down for breakfast the dining room was full, and the staff were so polite and helpful and the cooked breakfast was plentiful, beans and grilled tomatoes included, branded cereals to choose from and pots of tea or coffee too.

Overall the stay was a pleasant experience, yes the hotel is a bit dated, but don't believe all the bad reviews you read on here, it's a nice hotel with really good staff trying to make your stay a pleasant experience, if you want a bit more luxury book a different hotel but then you pay extra for that, I would say this hotel gives you exactly what you pay for, and I can't wait to visit again maybe for longer than just one night next time. I forgot to add there is a car park at the back of the hotel for guests.

Room Tip: Great front balcony rooms, but the sun comes up very early so be warned! No sleep in! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    68
    18
    18
    15
See reviews for
19
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have just got back from a long weekend from the Auckland Hotel, my friend and I went with Just Go Holidays. We had a fantastic time, the Hotel was very nice and clean and the rooms were very big. The food was excellent and a very good Choice. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful , nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is situated very close to the Beach , We met some very nice people, which made the weekend more enjoyable. I would definitely Recommend this Hotel , and will be going back there again , Hopefully.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look foward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I don't normally put reports on Trip Adviser but we have just got back off holiday with Just Go Holiday's, and i felt after reading what (SANDRA L) had put reguarding the Auckland Hotel was incorrect and lies. I had put up with this women (Sandra L) on the coach all the way down to the Island with her constant moaning. She mention's about the luggage, but myself and my wife can't believe her comments. As soon as the coach pulled up at the Auckland Hotel and before we got off the coach the luggage boys were there taking our luggage to reception, and within a few minutes our suitcases were outside our room, which was loccated on the first floor at the front of the hotel. (Did Sandra L not see the luggage boys?) Myself and my wife enjoyed the meals at the hotel. I am a retired chef and i know the difference between deep freeze and fresh and our food was defentley FRESH. Breakfast is at 8-45am and not 8-30 as Sandra L stated, but as our waitress informed us, the Hotel brought breakfast forward to accommodate our party and driver on our days out. Yet that is'nt good enough for some people (Sandra L). I think an hour is long enough for breakfast before we went out on our coach trips (but not for some people (Sandra L). I wish if people had nothing good to say, then they should'nt say anything at all, especially with all the lies that (Sandra L) has put. We found the Manager and all the Staff were very helpful, polite and curiosity. We thought the location of the Hotel was fantastic, about 5 minutes to the beach, about 3 minutes to the shops. We really enjoyed our stay very much, and have just booked to go to the Auckland Hotel again with Just Go later in the year!

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement for the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a lovely time at the Auckland we could not have done this for the price if we had driven ourselves.
The room we had was spacious with a reasonable bath and shower and very clean lots of evidence of recent refurbishment to ceilings etc.
Thankyou to the Staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: First floor balcony rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackandDiane2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vale of Evesham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Taking on board the fact that is was very much a bargain break coach trip woth Just Go, we found the hotel to be a great disappointment. The food was very basic, OK for the price, I suppose, but hardly any fresh food at all, mostly from the deep-freeze. The stairs were a real problem for most guests, and it was quite a struggle with the luggage. tentative offers of help, but the hotel manager was such a rude and surly man we preferred to struggle ourselves. We accept that the entertainment is something you have to take or leave - as we prefferd to leave it, there was no other room to go to, but our bedroom, which was directly above the loud noise! The coach driver was determined that each morning's tour would start at 9:30 and the breakfast time was 8:30 with no flexibiltiy on the patrt of eith the hotel or the driver, so the first part of the day was spent either suffering from indigestion, or wishing you's had time to climb back upall the stairs to get to the loo!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel iuf you don't want "entertainment" and be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just returned from 4day coach trip to the auckland hotel. Great base only a couple of minutes walk to old shanklin and beach. Rooms are basic with small tv and tea/coffee facility. Room had en suite. Choice of dinner menu had to be ordered at breakfast and breakfast ordered the night before.Food was okay don,t forget this is not 4 or 5 star. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned daily all in all great place to stay for a short break.

Room Tip: Room 101 very basic and on side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexdave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had a lovely long weekend at this hotel....the weather couldnt have been windier and the central heating was put on for us... found it very clean and all the staff very polite and helpful... the food is plain but tasty and nicely presented.. small bar with reasonably priced drinks and we had a good girl singer on saturday night ...overall good value for money .. would certainly recommend this hotel but some older people might find no lift a bit of a problem but you obviously can always request the 1st floor accommodation..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
418 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#26 of 52 in Shanklin
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensmead Hotel
Queensmead Hotel
#13 of 52 in Shanklin
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Property: Auckland Hotel
Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing