We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auckland Hotel
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyable holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After arriving late because of a accident we had a warm welcome the staff were help full and very friendly the rooms were homely and clean.
The outing were very good and enjoyable our driver was help full and cheer full.
The island itself is beautiful and well worth a visit.I would like to say Saturday night entertainment
At the hotel was very good
Thank you to all for making our 4days (11 Oct -14 Oct) a pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony as you are at front of hotel ,there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    18
    17
    15
See reviews for
19
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We would like to say that we are shocked to see the bad review titled 'not recommended'. We 're from Devon and we stayed at the Auckland the same time as these people.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was excellent value for money. The food was very good and served piping hot and was well presented. There was a good choice on the menu and something fopr everyone and was well catered for all types of specific diets.
The first morning we were there, there was a problem with the hot water but this was promptly rectified and was very hot everytime we used it.
The Hotel is not dated, it has a lovely refurbished bar lounge and Dining room, our bedroom had been refurbished too which was lovely.
We had an excellent holiday, fantastic value for money. We booked through our coach company and we really can not fault anything and will definitely be returning next year. We would also like to add that we were told that there was no lift!!
Thank you to all at the Auckland for a lovey, enjoyable stay, see you all next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stardom1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

did not expect much after reading reviews,any way when we got there about an hour late ,we were shown to room on top floor no lift ! made a cup of tea with the only 2 tea bags, then told if we wanted any we would have to pay for them, went down for evening meal the only meal on offer was roast turkey , it seemed if you wanted any thing other than what was on the very limited menu ,you were out of luck! second morning no hot water, then luke warm for the rest of stay hotel tired in every way !! felt more like dated residential home

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jrw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We would like to point out that a customer left the hot water tap open, diverted to the shower!! The shower hose was so twisted that no water was able to come through!! Instead the water was being sent back in to the tank which was forcing the hot water through the overflow on to the roof. As a result of this happening, the hot water was lost but within two hours the fault was fixed and the hot water was back to normal, very hot as always.
We have a varied menu but on the first evening of arrivals it tends to be a set menu just for that evening however, if somebody cant eat whats available that evening then we make sure we offer them something else to their liking as well as a vegetarian option etc.

It is extremely difficult at times to please everyone, as not everybody is as patient as others, however, we can only do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

medway kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 4 night break with just go, (30thsept to 4thoct ),what a very nice hotel,was made welcome on arrival and the whole stay,owners and staff were great ,meals were hot and ample for what I needed ,room for a single person a nice size and clean again ample for what I needed, hotel is ideally placed for the sea front and town and old town is only 5 minute walk ,didn't get the name of the lady serving at breakfast and dinner but she was great as we're all the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank post1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

stayed at Auckland hotel with National Holidays going from Newcastle in August on one of the hottest Augusts i have ever known, after almost 12hrs traveling from early morning we were soon made comfortable when we arrived at 6.40, with our cases taken upstairs for us and served dinner within the hour. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean if a bit dated and being on the second floor a lift would have been handy as both me and my companion are not in the first flush of youth, food throughout couldn't be faulted with fast and most efficient service by the staff who are most helpful through out out our stay. we were lucky to have the bus at hand for our whole stay so were ferried around the islands each day to a different location, you can pay for a boat trip to Portsmouth harbour witch was a highlight to our stay and dropped back off at Shanklin beach where we had a great afternoon in the hot sunshine just lazing, then up in the cliff lift to our hotel for tea. there was entertainment on for 2 of the nights we were there but i was so tired with so much going on during the day that i just made my goodbyes and tootled off to bed so didn't see much of that. there is one more thing i would like to comment on, at the front entrance there are some wide steps and a ramp but no handrail, now this didn't bother me but i heard a few grumbling about it from our coach party, all in all a delightful stay and would recommend the Auckland to anyone that asked.

Room Tip: we were in a side room but the ones who were in the front ones said that they were the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiegemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We went to the Auckland Hotel with National Holidays September 8-14 On arrival cases were taken in by 2 young men which was very helpful. The check in was quick and hassle free our room was clean (which is a must) we had a front facing room with a balcony which was also very nice. All the staff were very polite and friendly especially Irene who served us at mealtimes she always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble for her the meals were good and always piping hot plenty of whatever you wanted. We had entertainment on 2 nights which was also good and brought everyone together. So thanks to everyone at the Auckland for making our holiday very enjoyable. !!!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAZZA1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We always read reviews of intended stays and mostly take them with a pinch of salt. We are lucky enough to be able to travel a lot and stay at many Hotels. The Aukland is basic and as previous reviews state is in need of updating. We were taken aback on arrival when the greeting we received was more sheer panic that we hadn't paid in advance. Once settled we were promised a receipt which never arrived. The room was OK but as we only intended to sleep there we ignored the stained carpet and the DIY on the furniture. The bathroom was 'interesting' with industrial toilet roll holder and no plug for the bath (maybe the cleaner did not notice?). The toilet filled up to nearly overflowing and you dare not leave the bathroom until it finished. No hairdryer or other essentials. What was in abundance was 'signs' everywhere about what you could not do, a good read when waiting to go in for the one and only sitting for breakfast. The ladies serving were pleasant and polite and took your mind off the cobwebs over the windows. We opted for a continental breakfast one morning which 'included' two hard croissants and some jam, not quite what we expected. I would like to make it perfectly clear that 'none of this is a fabrication' and it appears the Hotel is geared up for coach parties as a captive audience. I am sure that any reply from the Hotel would include 'why didn't you report anything' the answer is simple, we didn't see anybody!. If you are on a coach party trip I am sure this will be adequate as you have no choice, if you are spending your hard earned money and want a 'little' luxury think again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank over4ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
THESE GUESTS ARE NOT FOR US AGAIN!!
We would firstly like to point out that the company that they made this booking with does stipulate in red letters that ' the balance is to be paid directly to the hotel on arrival. Thats the companies poilicy .
On arrival these guests were asked to settle the payment but refused and said that that they had already paid! However, the following morning when they were shown the paper work which stated quite clearly, balance to be paid in full on arrival, it was eveident that they did not like the fact that they had to pay!! They came across as rude and annoyed and arrogant.
We had no reason to panic as we had their full details, card details etc. There was no sheer panic what so ever as this guest implies.

There is a receptionist on duty at all times, however, the receptionist does not stand behind the reception 24 hours a day, they are in the office, but are always on duty. On the reception is a bell which states VERY CLEARLY 'please ring for assistance'!! Which means exactly what it says, as soon as the bell is rung, a member of staff is on hand within seconds.

It seems crystal clear that because this guest did not feel comforatble paying the bill, they then had to get on to trip advisor and write a bad review. Our staff would not welcome these guests back, and neither would management. Ignorance and rudeness gets you no where.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holliers Hotel
Holliers Hotel
#24 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#40 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Property: Auckland Hotel
Address: 10 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing