We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LOVELY SURPRISE”
Review of Roseglen Hotel

Roseglen Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roseglen Hotel
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“A LOVELY SURPRISE”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Chose solely on price, ie cheapest l could find but hey l've paid a lot more for this standard in the past. Lovely little B&B. Nice big twin room all to myself, clean with all the extras. Two super breakfasts no fuss about turning up late. Honesty bar if you stay up late. And the owners are friendly, sociable and nothing is too much trouble. A real gem

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for the past few years and we love it here. Angela and Wayne are the nicest people, they instantly make you feel welcome and more then at home. The hotel has a very homily feel to it and you feel really at ease with a lot of character. The food is at a high standard, the portion sizes are good and the choice and variation are always spot on.
The hotel is at a good location very close to both shops and the beach, and any help or questions you have are always welcomed by Wayne and Angela.
The rooms are spacious and there's a room for every need.
This hotel is a brilliant and very good for people of all ages...I would give it 10 out of 10 and will look forward to being able to see them next year!
xxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-S-S-P-C-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanscombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I was staying in a 2 bedded room but if there had been 2 of us we would have had to make a choice between both bed side lamps on, or the little clock, as there were insufficient electric points for all three. Used tea bags not removed, or replaced. The room needed modernising and the mattress hard and uncomfortable. Other things like broken clothes hooks, splodges on the wall paper which gave an air of grubbiness.
But my main gripe was the need to keep asking for the heating to go on, and it was a very cold weekend. No one asked if I was warm enough. I know the cost of fuel is taxing, but surely in the summer months when they do not need the heating they can re coup the extra expenditure. There was a group of very elderly ladies staying when I was , so maybe they decided to make an economy by not heating my room !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbieSwanscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I am not a big fan of small hotels and Bed & Breakfasts but was pleasantly surprised, as soon as Angela & John opened the door to us we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed for one night to attend a wedding reception and i would book to stay again if we visit the the IOW. Our room was lovely, clean & spacious, and the way the towels and toiletries were laid out was a lovely little touch. For a hotel snob as my husband calls me, this was great value, friendly & welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was also lovely and better than in some of the 5* star hotels I have stayed in. I also never review on a place I have stayed in but wanted to recommend this lovely small hotel as I was very impressed. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned after staying for a week at Roseglen; this our second visit (last in August 2011); and we do hope to book for another holiday next year. It may not be apparent to many of your reviewers that Angela and Wayne have a large body of guests who stay every year- John, for instance, has been visiting every year over a twenty year period. We have met many interesting people during our visits. I don't think that they would have returned over and over again if the hotel was as bad as some of these reviews suggest.
These guests, like us,have ignored any minor defects that may exist in this hotel. What is important to us is the ambience, the warmth, the friendliness shown by Angela and Wayne towards their guests.. The willingness to help and provide an excellent service is far important to my wife and me .
Wayne and Angela are lovely people, and have always made us feel as if we and the other guests staying at the time, were part of their family. This is their raison de'tre
Our room, which we had last year, was/is roomy and comfortable and much larger than in many hotels I've stayed in. The food is excellent and there is menu with a wide choice of meals. The full English breakfast was partly responsible for me putting on half-a-stone, which I am busily removing.
What many may not be aware of is that Wayne will collect guests from their homes and return them after their stay is over.
Barbara and Brian L

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I made my booking for this hotel before reading the negative reviews on tripadvisor so was feeling rather anxious. However it corresponded to everything I expect from a reasonably priced two star hotel: a comfortable bed in a clean and comfortable room with an en suite, hot water in the bath/shower, a tasty breakfast and pleasant service. To my mind there was nothing objectionable about the decor, and in any case I think complaints about it being 'dated' are inappropriate as they don't take account of either personal taste or the value for money factor. The hotel is also conveniently located for the sea and the high street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On the face of it this hotel is in quite a good location, only a few minutes walk to the Old Village and the owners are friendly enough. However, the property is a bit dated and in need of a refurb. The plumbing in my room in particular needs attention as the it appeared to deposit the bath waste water into the street! Also, the room fittings and appliances looked like they were purchased from a charity shop. This hotel was chosen for me as it was a business trip, I don't think I woulod choose to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 52 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#23 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#29 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#22 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#24 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseglen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseglen Hotel

Property: Roseglen Hotel
Address: 12 Palmerston Road, Shanklin PO37 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roseglen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Roseglen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseglen Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing