We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, the food, staff and entertainment ...”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved it, the food, staff and entertainment ...”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rooms definitely need updating.Fantastic food! Staff so friendly, helpful and considerate. Entertainment good. We had "Michelle" sing one night, she was outstanding, a pleasure to listen to, variety of songs and music, she should go far. A special thank you to bar staff Charlie and Chas for their consideration and entertainment and to our waiter I believe it was "Trevor" for his impeccable waiting on tables. Jean was great, did 2 birthday cakes the same day for guests when we were there. All the staff seem to have a natural empathy with people whatever their age. Well done. Best wishes "Stacey" and "Bradley" - Charlie will know who they are!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, It really makes a difference when we know our guests have enjoyed their stay. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff, Charlie sends his love and a great big kiss. We hope to see you again.
Many Thanks
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    112
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
46
126
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband & i were led to this hotel via an island coach tour, the hotels dining area & lounge\ bar area & foyer & garden area is very pleasant, the 1 thing it desperately needs is a lift.!! we are able bodied, but for any 1 that isnt , if u cant get a room on ground floor, its not good, especialy if u had to carry up youre own suitcase.!! but we were lucky to have some nice young men for that job. :-) the food we found to be very nice, but could have done with being slightly larger portions.! the twin room we were in was o.k. but the sliding door to the bathroom, altho quaint & antiquated, very noisy if you need to use the loo @ night without disturbing youre other half.!! Its nicely situated, all staff we found to be friendly & helpfull, the place has a nice informal atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egglayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton nn2 7ne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and i have just come back we stayed the 18th of July to the 22nd and would go back.The rooms need a bit of tlc but in all the staff are great and helpful and the service was second to none. Every thing is close at hand (A BIT HILLY IN PLACES) and the lift to the beach worked when we were there.I enjoyed every meal i had and so did my husband. I feel for the price it was good value and a great time was had by all. I feel people should look at the bigger picture.

Room Tip: I do feel these could be updated but they are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the " Mede" and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be updating our rooms in the near future and we plan to refurbish the bar area in January. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff as it is always a good moral booster when we know our guests enjoyed themselves. We hope you will come stay with us again.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here as a treat for my birthday. We were on a coach tour, but I can't fault anything about our stay here. When we went down to dinner on my birthday I was presented with a birthday cake and lit candle by Jean. This was quite unexpected. We had a lovely room with a walk-in shower (which I had requested by email to the hotel at time of booking).
We are taking advantage of their special this August and going back to stay with our car this time and hope to see more of the island.

Room Tip: When booking a holiday, email or phone the hotel beforehand if you have any special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshpet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

A cheap coach trip led us to this establishment. The room was below average and the pillows needed burning - disgusting. The bathroom should have been condemned by an Inspector. Conscious of the value of the overall holiday I suppose a lot of people would say it was very good value for money but there is no excuse for filth. Thank God for antibacterial wipes! The breakfasts were passable given the cost but the evening meals were inedible. Not one single meal I chose was edible. Some seemed ok but then some people will eat anything. The veg lasagne was awful, containing leftovers from the previous evening and breakfast! The vegetables were constantly awful. The waiting and bar staff were lovely young people. The big worry was that this was a hotel full off predominantly older people, some in wheelchairs, and there wasn't a staff member on duty at night. A phone number was left at reception and the doors were locked! Thankfully my room was next to a fire escape. The hotel is like a rabbit warren with no lifts so not suitable for a great number of people. The location is very good, near the cliff lift and central for Shanklin. It also has a very pleasant garden area. I suppose the big lesson here is you pay for what you get. Or not!

Room Tip: There isn't a best room in the hotel. I asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laceway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
I was very dissapointed to read your review of our Hotel, I only wish you had chosen to inform us of your issues while you were staying, as it is very hard to try and correct problems when we were not made aware of any untill you left via your comment form, I am pleased to say that we recieved other comments from the tour which were very positive As you stated in your review you do only get what you pay for and I feel we provide a excellent service in all arears of the Hotel which you may be hard pressed to find in other star rated Hotels. Our rooms may be basic but they are always clean, we pride ourselves on maintaining a high standard, and we always endevor to ensure the customer is always happy. I was very shocked to read your comments about our food, almost all of our menu is home made and you will see from earlier reviews that the soup is always commented on because it tastes so good, again our menu may be basic but I feel we provide a good varied menu and we will accomadate all special requests from our guests. With respect to the night porter we do have a staff member on duty till at least 11.00pm and the night porter lives on the premises so there is never a time when a guest is without assistance the doors are locked as a matter of security,
(I am sure you would not like anyone walking into the Hotel late at night) and all guests have the option of a front door key, if you feel your holiday would be more comfortable with a night portor on duty then maybe you need to look at 3/4 star Hotels as they provide this service. We ensure all of the companys we work with, are aware of the lay out of the Hotel so they can inform their passengers who in turn can make a decision about staying with us. The Hotel is over a 100 years old and it would be a tragedy if we tore out all that history only to replace it with yet another building which would have no caracter but be functional. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and I hope you find better accommadation on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

a value for money break enjoyed our stay friendly staff
and clean warm room,only complaint could hear
talking in next room.

Room Tip: try to get a room on lower floors no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pigeongraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We were lucky to get a downstairs room as some fellow travellers had to climb a lot of stairs to reach their bedrooms and, as the average age of coach party was well over sixty,
it was difficult for them. Food was tasty and soups ( homemade ) were lovely and there was a good choice of main courses. Entertainment was available every night we were there and, all in all, enjoyable. Staff friendly and helpful.
One problem we had was the size of the toilet/shower room in room 38 and the actual shower cabinet could do with re-newing as tiles very grubby & black fungus evident. We didn't complain as we were only there for a few days and other bath/shower rooms seemed OK.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Calamity1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#44 of 52 in Shanklin
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Property: Medehamstede Hotel
Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing