We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definately be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will definately be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed for one week and could not find any fault whatsoever. Staff were an absolute delight, from the Manager to the waiting on staff - Trevor must have hidden roller skates. Food was lovely, rooms spotless, entertainment every night - Michelle especially fantastic. Charlie was great - tell him JLS are not dead - he will know who we are. Will certainly be back it was a pleasure to meet such happy and obliging staff. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensioner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for the lovley review, I have to say that you were all a great group of people and it was a pleasure to look after you. I remember you as you made the comment about Trevor to me one evening at dinner, I will pass on your comment about JLS to Charlie, and I will let all the staff know you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Many Thanks
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    108
    64
    30
    22
See reviews for
45
122
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Well staff was polite and great location but long waiting times for food and communication problems in the kitchen , could do with g ramsay visting, shabby rooms but ok staff shame will not be returning Manager needs to address quite serious.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
CANVEY ISLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed just up the road but had no evening entertainment ...we asked the lady on desk if we could come in as we were non residents. she was really nice .
We used this hotel most nights and really was made to feel welcome even when i won at bingo too.
Through this we would seriously consider coming back &staying here.
Entertainment was good and bar staff really polite.
just a thank you really ....
its nice to walk in a hotel & feel comfortable at all times

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MALNWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rooms definitely need updating.Fantastic food! Staff so friendly, helpful and considerate. Entertainment good. We had "Michelle" sing one night, she was outstanding, a pleasure to listen to, variety of songs and music, she should go far. A special thank you to bar staff Charlie and Chas for their consideration and entertainment and to our waiter I believe it was "Trevor" for his impeccable waiting on tables. Jean was great, did 2 birthday cakes the same day for guests when we were there. All the staff seem to have a natural empathy with people whatever their age. Well done. Best wishes "Stacey" and "Bradley" - Charlie will know who they are!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, It really makes a difference when we know our guests have enjoyed their stay. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff, Charlie sends his love and a great big kiss. We hope to see you again.
Many Thanks
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband & i were led to this hotel via an island coach tour, the hotels dining area & lounge\ bar area & foyer & garden area is very pleasant, the 1 thing it desperately needs is a lift.!! we are able bodied, but for any 1 that isnt , if u cant get a room on ground floor, its not good, especialy if u had to carry up youre own suitcase.!! but we were lucky to have some nice young men for that job. :-) the food we found to be very nice, but could have done with being slightly larger portions.! the twin room we were in was o.k. but the sliding door to the bathroom, altho quaint & antiquated, very noisy if you need to use the loo @ night without disturbing youre other half.!! Its nicely situated, all staff we found to be friendly & helpfull, the place has a nice informal atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egglayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton nn2 7ne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and i have just come back we stayed the 18th of July to the 22nd and would go back.The rooms need a bit of tlc but in all the staff are great and helpful and the service was second to none. Every thing is close at hand (A BIT HILLY IN PLACES) and the lift to the beach worked when we were there.I enjoyed every meal i had and so did my husband. I feel for the price it was good value and a great time was had by all. I feel people should look at the bigger picture.

Room Tip: I do feel these could be updated but they are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the " Mede" and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be updating our rooms in the near future and we plan to refurbish the bar area in January. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff as it is always a good moral booster when we know our guests enjoyed themselves. We hope you will come stay with us again.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here as a treat for my birthday. We were on a coach tour, but I can't fault anything about our stay here. When we went down to dinner on my birthday I was presented with a birthday cake and lit candle by Jean. This was quite unexpected. We had a lovely room with a walk-in shower (which I had requested by email to the hotel at time of booking).
We are taking advantage of their special this August and going back to stay with our car this time and hope to see more of the island.

Room Tip: When booking a holiday, email or phone the hotel beforehand if you have any special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshpet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#26 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#24 of 31 in Sandown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Property: Medehamstede Hotel
Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing