We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEW YEAR AT THE HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Cwmbran south Wales uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEW YEAR AT THE HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the New Year. The hotel is very dated and needs refurbishment. Couldn't believe we didn't have a shower in our room. Food was good and good choice, the 2 waitresses were excellent. The singer on New Years eve was diabolical but the other 2 nights were good. Would not stay at this hotel again, although very clean and welcoming would prefer better rated hotel. Also there is no lift.ake su

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the ground floor if you have walking difficulty as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowpeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    110
    64
    30
    22
See reviews for
45
123
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just spent my third christmas at the Medehamstede and was as good as the first visit. The hotel is basic, very clean, food excellent and staff very helpful and friendly cannot do enough for you, also entertianment good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 673BrendaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

just spent a week at this hotel .and i must say it was very nice break there. the food was first class . and the room were bit dated ,but very clean ,and so was the the hotel .staff were the best iv come acoss anywere.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back off hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at Medehamstede for a week in October 2012. This was our first visit to IOW since our honeymoon in 1970. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again. There is free car parking although this is a little cramped if a coach party is in residence. The rooms are clean and well equipped with free tea/coffee supplied in the room every day. Meals are good with an extensive vegetarian menu (which is important to me). There were enough vege options for me never to have the same meal twice. Staff in reception and dining room are friendly, helpful and obviously happy in their work. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ANNANDOFJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites of this hotel and it was a lovely stay. We had a beautiful 4 poster bed and a lovely en-suite bathroom that was very clean and pleasant. The rooms could benefit from a bit of modernisation but the staff are so wonderfully friendly that that is negligible. Breakfast was great and just enough to make you full without feeling stuffed. There are small trinket items for sale in the foyer and there are also paintings on the wall that they sell every tuesday which is a very nice touch. The whole hotel feels very homely and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews we were a bit worried but although the hotel could do with a revamp in the rooms and updated furniture we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was adequate and nice. The entertainment was good and the bar prices were comparable to other hotels.

Hazel H.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here not too long ago with a coach party but weren't sure which hotel we were going to. We later found out along the journey what the hotel name was. I quickly looked on trip advisor to see if was any good. It from the reviews we were worried about getting there. All I can say is, do not believe all that you read! It was a great little hotel with all the basics and very clean. Meals were alright but the entertainment was second to none! Bingo was good with good prizes and there was a few singers on during the night too. We had a great stay with Mandy and mick and had a great laugh! Highly recommend going! Great hotel!!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie222, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are please that you enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#30 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#23 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#24 of 31 in Sandown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Property: Medehamstede Hotel
Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing