We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shower only bath”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Crazy
Room smel of fresh paint
No shower
Hotel is old and not clean
I was not expecting anything from it but a shower is a must.
How can you sell a room with smel of fresh paint.
I know every one is desperate but please be a bit reasonable or at list phone me and tell me the issue.
I woul never have a bath in that please.
Uk do not have mix tap. Ok but a normal shower
Come on man

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel. Positves are the friendly staff, entertainment. Decoration in rooms requires a good make over. Fresh towels every day
walking distance to beach, shops, theatre. We were made to feel very welcome. Restaurant and bar staff go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

12/8/2013 to 16/8/2013 Booked just a couple of week before after trawling through lodes on Booking .com one of the few that offered parking. My wife and I booked a twin room B&B. The hotel rooms are very Wood chip / Magnolia but clean and serviced daily. We had a shower en suite, the water was hot and plentiful. Towels changed daily, soap supplied and was all clean and tidy. No. 8 our room was big enough with twin beds and a wardrobe with two chests of draws and a arm chair. However all the room windows were split in two with the top half fixed and the bottom top hung opening out but without any restriction on the amount of opening. This in our room was an issues for me in that there was a flat roof outside our window that presented us with a potential security risk as it would have been very easy to access our room. Guests with small children may well have a concern with this situation also as the sills are quite low. The TV was BBC 1 though to C4 not quite what you expect these days but didn’t worry us. Tea and coffer making in room and replenished daily. Reception was friendly and checked us in without any problems. Bar open until 11.00 and averagely priced with friendly staff. Quaintly front doors locked at 11.00 but no hassle if you wanted to be out later or indeed early for a walk you could gave a door key. The hotel is used by coach company’s and there for feels a little regimented. Breakfast 8.30 to 9.30 dinner 6.30 to 7.30 and 90% guests were there on time so the tea at breakfast was put on all the tables at 8.30 but the staff were good and no problem changing if you came later and always very efficient. The menu was good and enough to keep us going till late in the day, After eating out the first evening at Vernons Cottage Eastclif Rd, (See review) we enquired about dinner no problem, cost £7.50 each. Bargain. Set menu that changed every day, with choice of three starters, four mains including a vegetarian and three sweets or cheese and biscuits. While not gourmet or large portions but with three courses of well cooked and tasty food, and tea or coffee to follow enough to satisfy. Great value we had two evening meals at the hotel. The entertainment is in the bar with a small dance floor and stage and was ok livened up the evenings. If you are driving there don’t forget to ask the hotel if they can book ferry for you at a discount, most can.
Our last night was Shanklin regatta day so looked to eat at a restaurant on the front, Waterfront Inn (see review) vary busy down at the front all the bars and restaurant full. A great firework display to end put on by the organisers. Good to see it so well attended for all the effort put in. Would we stay there again 'Yes'.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, enjoyed it.
Room was clean & large enough with partial sea view, shower in a bath was sufficient!
The staff was top class from the manager to the bar staff to the ones dishing out the food in the dinning room!
You get what you pay for, hotel might be a bit dated but I wouldn't let that put you off, the entertainment most nights was very enjoyable!
We enjoyed our stay hope you enjoy yours, well done all the staff at the Medehamstede!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

stayed at this hotel 8th to 12th july with my sister. we travelled with David Urquart coaches and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Yes the hotel is a bit tired and the room we had was a bit grubby but the bed was clean and the bathroom was ok. The food was good and the service excellent. leah was our waitress and took special care with my sisters food as she is lactose intolerant and consequently couldnt have anything containing milk, she made sure my sisters food was suitable. we enjoyed the evening entertainment and were on the dance floor most of the night.It is in a good position for easy walking to beach,or town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubble51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for a 3 night break from July 12th to 15th. The hotel is quite basic but clean and comfortable. The meals were good and were a set menu choice of 3 different starters, main courses & desserts but these changed every day. The staff were very good and helpful especially Mitch behind the bar. Location was excellent just 300mtrs from the town centre and 500mtrs the other way to the beautiful quaint old town with it's thatch cottages.
The sea front promenade was 500mtrs away down a steep bank but there was a lift only 300 mtrs from the hotel which was good and took you straight down to the promenade. Overall a pleasent stay. Only problem was the seagulls woke you up early morning with their noise!!.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 on the 1st floor overlooking the road in front of the Hotel. I think it may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toddo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived later than planned as the ferry was late but that was no problem, our meal was very good and hot.Our room no.23 had a sea view, double bed and bath with a shower over, the bed was very comfortable. Jean our waitress was great she could'nt do enough for us as I am diabetic i asked if they had any low sugar jam she said no but said she would bring me some of hers as she is also diabetic, also I could,nt have any off the deserts lovely as they were so they gave me fresh fruit salad every night.also my husband has to drink decaffinated coffee because of some medication he has to take and they said no problem. This was our second trip with Alfa to the island ,our driver charlie was very good. On the whole we had a very nice Holiday.

Room Tip: not a good hotel for any one with difficulty walking as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewcastleEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £35 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing