We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medehamstede Hotel”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would fully agree with all of the points made by the review in May. The room was drab, wallpaper peeling, walls damp. The bathroom was spartan, poorly lit and suffered from damp. My main problem with the room however was the fact that whoever was staying upstairs made it sound like they were moving furniture around until well after midnight and then started again at 6am! I agree with the meal slot complaint and point out also that on day 2 to have our dinner order taken at breakfast time was somewhat unusual! Suffice to say that an indicator of our opinion is that we were booked in for 4 nights but only stayed one! We found alternative and better accommodation. I would not really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jimphelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

If you had a problem with your room it would have been helpful to have reported this to Reception and if at all possible we would have moved you to an alternative room.

Unfortunately some guests are not as respectful to other guests and had this also been mentioned to Reception we could have politely advised the guests upstairs that their moving furniture around was disturbing other guests.

As a predominantly coaching style hotel, where there could be up to 100 guests, we do take the evening meal order at breakfast. This is to ensure that every guest is able to have their choice of dinner and also helps to reduce the waiting time for our guests. Once this is explained, guests are more than happy to choose their menu.

We are happy to report that we do have many guests that return to the Hotel on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent a week here with a Travelstyle coach holiday.
It proved a lovely experience. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Dining room clean .Bar, well run.
Garden lovely.Entertainment reasonable. Food good.
Well sited for beach lift and town. .
Will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank phildrowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The staff work hard to provide the best service they can and its good to see that you were able to recognise and comment on their efforts. Thank you.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After a long and tiresome journey we arrived after 11 hours travelling to be met by James the hotel manager. Our cases were offloaded and we were given the key to our allocated room.
Unfortunately since my booking I had a stroke and our room was No. 24 at the top of the hotel, many stairs and without a lift. My wife and I grumbled a little bit and we proceeded. We were very tired which didn't help matters but when we eventually got in our room, although previous reports left a little to be desired we were pleasantly surprised by having a proper bath albeit in a dated bathroom, the room itself was a nice twin and really spotlessly clean.
The dining room was nice and clean and we were given a choice of our fellow travellers for dining companions, we were with two people who we had been away with previously, the food was good and the staff in the dining room especially Wendy and Janice were very polite and helpful.
We celebrated our 54th Wedding Anniversary whilst we were here, Tracey from the bar staff arranged for Breakfast champagne and we were presented with a cake which had been prepared in the kitchen. All went well, Thanks to them all.
The entertainment was good, well catered for the age groups of all guests.
A memorable hotel and holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure that they know if you have a disability, I'm sure they will try and satisfy your requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank COLCLOUGH187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We do work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to Wendy, Janice and Tracey.

It is always helpful to let the Hotel know in advance if you do have any special requirements and we will accommodate them where possible.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your holiday to the Isle of Wight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a cheap hotel that gives you the opportunity to visit a beautiful island at a bargain price BUT!... this is not a new building. It as seen better days including the décor, furniture, carpets and fittings but it is cheap enough to not really complain about it. It was clean and tidy. The rooms functional and the showers worked as they should. The staff are a friendly bunch and make you feel welcome. Breakfast is a budget affair so no designer sausage and best back bacon here. If you want posh ketchup take your own. I understand how these companies work and there is not a great amount of profit in this trade but to get people on the island and keep the local economy going some areas are unfortunately overlooked, refurbs and maintenance being the two prime areas. Again if you want the RITZ you can pay that on the island but if you want a cheap, friendly environment and willing to see the hotel with rose coloured glasses then this is a good bet. Would I stay again??? Yes probably

Room Tip: If you pay very little expect very little and you will be surprised. Expect too much then you going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quin2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are a budget hotel and feel we offer good value for money. We appreciate that you have been kind enough to recognise this and comment favourably in your review.

We hope to see you again should you decide to make a further visit to this lovely Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I revisited this pleasantly run small hotel in May this year. Though the rooms are a bit dated they are very clean and functional with a small collection of toiletries (bring your own!!). The bar is well run and well stocked bar though it has a limited(in my view poor) choice of beers- I hate John Smiths!!. Staff are very friendly especially Pam on reception and everywhere else!! James the Manager is very accommodating and will help if he can. Please staff -don't think I am neglecting you as its a team that makes things work not just the front people.... Hotel is just 5mins walk from centre of Shanklin, the beach via a walk of the Cliff lift, and not far from Shanklin Chine. The overall experience of the food-most enjoyed it and can say it was very good. Good value for money, would recommend but don't expect anything fancy or luxurious.I stayed at this hotel in September last year and I think it has pulled its socks up and hit the road running. As per most small seaside based hotel I expect a hotel with rooms which are clean but usually small and of varying shapes and dimensions. This is what you get here. Remember-there is No lift - essential for those of a more mature age or with mobility issues. There are ground floor rooms which have to be accessed via a maze of corridors and the restaurant to reach them but they are accessible so noting the 'elderly' lady with husband who could not negotiate this hotel my advice is to maybe travel with a company tailored to your mobility needs.
Again with coach parties (parking for at least 2 coaches!!) on arrival a smell welcome talk is presented by James, then the bags were portered to the rooms which helped, as did the same on departure if it was required. As previously mentioned the rooms are a little small but adequate for your needs unless you wish to hold a conference or party! They are clean and comfy.
As my previous review the hotels BT Hot-Spot Wi-Fi is poor and can rarely be accessed. If required they will let you piggyback their own private business system but this also was poorly received it's the network which is poor!!
This hotel is a typical seaside hotel.It still has small TV's but you dont come to Shanklin / Isle of Wight to watch TV... The usual tea/coffee facilities were provided.
As stated previously the food was very good-breakfasts with 6 choices plus toast and typical for this type of hotel with brilliant poached eggs. When finished you ordered your dinner for that night, (this is essential to ensure prompt freshly cooked food at dinner time) which on the whole were very tasty and enjoyable. Dinner consists of three starters, four mains (one of which is salad - choice of ham, cheese, tuna and I think egg), and four desserts or cheese and biscuits which consisted a slice of cheddar, a slice of red Leicester or similar, and 3 assorted biscuits. Not the most exciting selection.The food was fine, plentiful, and hit the spot.
The entertainment was of a reasonable standard(different every night) with bingo every evening for half an hour, Staff very pleasant, and it appeared you got dedicated staff to serve you in the dining room. The location, near the beach is a real bonus it is only five minutes gentle walk (out of the hotel and down to the right) got you to the promenade, where you have a choice of a lift down to the esplanade, or 2 paths (1 with steps, 1 without). The esplanade has an amusement arcade (penny falls!), the standard seaside tat shops, a cafe, and a wonderful beach. 10 mins out of the hotel and to the left got you into the old village. This has lovely thatched cottages and is very picturesque. Fantastic rock shop selling a mix of traditional as well as modern sweets, beside rock in all sorts of shapes and flavours. Overall a nice place to visit. Nice friendly hotel in a pleasant location.
Enjoy ...

Room Tip: Just relax maybe bring your own dongle if Wi-Fi is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such great review.

We hope that people will take the time to read your review and recognise that we provide very good value for money. When we have had negative comments in the past we always try to rectify these and improve things which you have obviously seen since your last visit.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and functional.
They have a well stocked bar. Staff are friendly.
Hotel is just 5mins walk from centre of Shanklin.
Food was good.
Good value for money, would recommend but don't expect anything fancy or luxurious.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hayley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we booked for a week from the 23rd may to the 30th may 2014. at 1st we had a room on the 1st floor. single beds. but that was my thought .then they moved use to the ground floor as soon as a double room was free. tv only has 4 channels. but not a problem rearly. tv is to high on the wall. could do with a shower mat for out side shower. rooms cleaned every day.with tea.coffee milk & sugar put in rooms every day. it does need a bit of work .but I looked at it as being a nice cozy hotel. workers very friendly. they do every thing for you. breakfast nice. chairs a bit close together. when your going to your room, just look out for the steps going from the dineing room. I fell down the last step as you cant see it. doors very noise"s . very hot in rooms. but we ask for a fan & got one asap. mitch the bar man is great. pam the lady at the desk is lovely. always ready to please. near the town & seafront .theres a lift to get down to the seafront & back up. £1 single or £1.50 return. all in all,a lovely friendly place to stay. but if you wont all modcons.then go some where else. but you mite find another hotel isn't as friendly.had a great time. will defo stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor & a fan.you will injoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: £32 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing