We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total let down!!”
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total let down!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here after seeing an advert in national newspaper.The exterior is nothing like the pictures.Very run down & needing some decorating.Parking is a joke,its just a small piece of waste land for about 10 cars.The decor inside is very old & mis-matched.Lots of dust & even some cobwebs along carpet edges.In our room the tv cable was hanging off the wall and only 1 wall light worked.Our duvet cover had large rips in the seams.We did have a shower but the esuite was very dirty.The scum build up under the tap & under the sink was digusting.The food was ok but most of the breakfast ingredients were from "Morrisons" value range.In the dining area the curtain hems were all coming unstitched so these were all held up with metal staples! We were told that there was entertainment in the hotel but even though it was fully booked there was nothing booked for the 2 evenings we spent there.We did not complain about our room as we were told by the hotel manager that the place was fully booked so knew we wouldnt get another room.Glad we only booked for 2 nights,wouldnt of wanted to stay any longer.We have written a letter of complaint to the company we booked with but they said we should of brought up any issues with the hotel manager during our stay.Needless to say we wont be going back to this hotel or be using the company from the newpaper again.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a clean room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    112
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
46
126
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
209 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Hotels exterior could do with a good paint up, this is the main thing that you notice on approaching the hotel, it is a large Victorian house converted into a large number of rooms, our room was OK but no shower only a rubber pipe type spray you had to use in the bath, the meals are small in portions but a good variety ( 3 coarse's), it is HB so the local supermarkets supply food for lunch and day outs. It is in an ideal position 200 yards to shops and a bit further to the Bus Station, 200 yards to the cliff top to the lift £1.50 return or you can walk down a steep path and steps, and about 400 yards to the Old Village, the television in the bedroom was a 12" colour TV on a bracket with 4 Channels, the Bar room has music entertainment 5 nights a week, the first night the entertainer Glenn Carrol really got everyone laughing with jokes and some great singing. The Bar prices where dearer the Pub prices but this is usual, it is mainly coach trip clientèle but everyone is friendly, the staff in the dining room are helpful as are all the staff. We had good weather so we were out every day, but if it is bad weather I don't think I would like this Hotel due to the lack of amenities, in season it is cheap and OK, out of season better to pay more for a better Hotel.

Room Tip: Mobility problems ? get a ground floor room, get a room with a shower, get a room with a large TV in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very good three night stay here. Staff helpful and friendly in all areas. Dinner Bed & Breakfast at £33 per head! Choice at mealtime, food perfectly acceptable.
Same story as many places, refurb and update needed in rooms but though basic it did the job.
Limited parking not an issue outside school holidays.
Would recommend but don't expect the Ritz!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I would fully agree with all of the points made by the review in May. The room was drab, wallpaper peeling, walls damp. The bathroom was spartan, poorly lit and suffered from damp. My main problem with the room however was the fact that whoever was staying upstairs made it sound like they were moving furniture around until well after midnight and then started again at 6am! I agree with the meal slot complaint and point out also that on day 2 to have our dinner order taken at breakfast time was somewhat unusual! Suffice to say that an indicator of our opinion is that we were booked in for 4 nights but only stayed one! We found alternative and better accommodation. I would not really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimphelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

If you had a problem with your room it would have been helpful to have reported this to Reception and if at all possible we would have moved you to an alternative room.

Unfortunately some guests are not as respectful to other guests and had this also been mentioned to Reception we could have politely advised the guests upstairs that their moving furniture around was disturbing other guests.

As a predominantly coaching style hotel, where there could be up to 100 guests, we do take the evening meal order at breakfast. This is to ensure that every guest is able to have their choice of dinner and also helps to reduce the waiting time for our guests. Once this is explained, guests are more than happy to choose their menu.

We are happy to report that we do have many guests that return to the Hotel on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent a week here with a Travelstyle coach holiday.
It proved a lovely experience. Bedroom clean and comfortable. Dining room clean .Bar, well run.
Garden lovely.Entertainment reasonable. Food good.
Well sited for beach lift and town. .
Will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank phildrowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The staff work hard to provide the best service they can and its good to see that you were able to recognise and comment on their efforts. Thank you.

We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After a long and tiresome journey we arrived after 11 hours travelling to be met by James the hotel manager. Our cases were offloaded and we were given the key to our allocated room.
Unfortunately since my booking I had a stroke and our room was No. 24 at the top of the hotel, many stairs and without a lift. My wife and I grumbled a little bit and we proceeded. We were very tired which didn't help matters but when we eventually got in our room, although previous reports left a little to be desired we were pleasantly surprised by having a proper bath albeit in a dated bathroom, the room itself was a nice twin and really spotlessly clean.
The dining room was nice and clean and we were given a choice of our fellow travellers for dining companions, we were with two people who we had been away with previously, the food was good and the staff in the dining room especially Wendy and Janice were very polite and helpful.
We celebrated our 54th Wedding Anniversary whilst we were here, Tracey from the bar staff arranged for Breakfast champagne and we were presented with a cake which had been prepared in the kitchen. All went well, Thanks to them all.
The entertainment was good, well catered for the age groups of all guests.
A memorable hotel and holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure that they know if you have a disability, I'm sure they will try and satisfy your requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COLCLOUGH187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

We do work hard to try and make sure everyone enjoys their stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to Wendy, Janice and Tracey.

It is always helpful to let the Hotel know in advance if you do have any special requirements and we will accommodate them where possible.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your holiday to the Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a cheap hotel that gives you the opportunity to visit a beautiful island at a bargain price BUT!... this is not a new building. It as seen better days including the décor, furniture, carpets and fittings but it is cheap enough to not really complain about it. It was clean and tidy. The rooms functional and the showers worked as they should. The staff are a friendly bunch and make you feel welcome. Breakfast is a budget affair so no designer sausage and best back bacon here. If you want posh ketchup take your own. I understand how these companies work and there is not a great amount of profit in this trade but to get people on the island and keep the local economy going some areas are unfortunately overlooked, refurbs and maintenance being the two prime areas. Again if you want the RITZ you can pay that on the island but if you want a cheap, friendly environment and willing to see the hotel with rose coloured glasses then this is a good bet. Would I stay again??? Yes probably

Room Tip: If you pay very little expect very little and you will be surprised. Expect too much then you going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quin2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedeManagement, Manager at Medehamstede Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are a budget hotel and feel we offer good value for money. We appreciate that you have been kind enough to recognise this and comment favourably in your review.

We hope to see you again should you decide to make a further visit to this lovely Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#42 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#44 of 52 in Shanklin
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Property: Medehamstede Hotel
Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing