We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top spot for value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Medehamstede Hotel
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
wallasey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Top spot for value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

An extremely warm welcome met us on arrival. Not knowing what to expect, we were impressed by the fact that our bags were delivered to our room. The room was quite adequate, particularly when you consider what the short holiday cost. The daily menus and the quality of food and service in the restaurant were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. I must admit that I thought that the standard of entertainment provided was variable, but, again, to be provided with entertainment at all, considering what we paid for the holiday, was a bonus. Overall, an excellent hotel as far as welcome, food and service were concerned.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    108
    64
    30
    22
See reviews for
45
122
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Just got back from a short break at the Medehamstede with eight of us in twin rooms, on a self drive break. Was very worried about it because of the reviews but was surprised. It is not a 3 star hotel, but they have 5 star staff. My room did not have a shower, but Mandy offered us another room that was away from our friends, so we said no thankyou.
Our boys offered us the use of their shower, but as there was an empty single room next door with a shower, we were given the key. The food was ok, and as it was cheap, we did not mind ordering our dinner at breakfast. The entertainment could have been better, so on our last night we went up to Daishs hotel, but their room was not so good, but the entertainment was ok, and a pint was about 20p cheaper. I would go there again in April/Summer, but would find it boring in the winter.
Clean towels everyday if required and you do not need to be a vegetarian to have a veggie meal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen17Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Your review
a great holiday‎ - ‎ - Today
We have just got back from staying in one of the most friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in The Medehamstede in Shanklin.They are the most accommidating people, you just feel at home the moment you step in the door. The food was lovely a good variation with sauces to match and always nice and hot thumbs up to the chef.(try his home made fish cakes with mild chillie sauce)The rooms are very clean and yes we had clean towels EVERY DAY unlike some hotels we have stayed in.The hotel is very clean and comfortable.Our room was always nice and warm and so was the shower. Thankyou so much for a great holiday to all the team at the Medehamstede

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the midlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

After dropping of other travellers at other hotels and arriving at our hotel we were alittle dissapointed. But never the less the greeting that awaited was wellcoming.

Our room was very basic but clean. (Need updating). The food was good, or so i thought as one couple found something to moan about every night. The staff were friendly.

The location was good just a few minutes from the shops, and the beach as long as the lift was working otherwise you need to like mountain climbing.

Enterainment ( what entertaiment ? ) The brochure from travelstyle stated entertainment. If you call one game of bingo every night that lasted all of ten mins. A singer on one occasion, who incidentley was quite good, and a quiz on another which lasted an hour or there abouts of entertaiment well i'm sorry, We were there for four nights. Whether this was the hotels fault or the travel company i dont know. But unless this changed I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karentylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We travelled at Easter time with Travelstyle. The hotel was in an excellent location, but could do with an external re-furb., as it looks quite shabby from the outside.
Internally it has been re-furbished to a good standard and both us and our friends were given family rooms with a double and single bed in each. We also had a seaview. Room service was excellent,cleaned each day and fresh towels.

There was entertainment on 3 nights but we only stayed in 1 night as it was raining,entertainment was o.k but the draught beer was not up to standard, so we ended up at the local Liberal Club for the other 2 nights.

We found all the staff very friendly and helpful apart from the Restaurant Manager who was a little surly especially when we asked for extra toast!
The food was good quality but portions were small and did not satisfy the men in our party.

The hotel was very warm and heating was left on most of the night.

Overall an excellent value for money weekend for what we paid, but not if it been full price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

one of the friendliest htoelswe have ever stayed in from arriving to leaving.agood location the room we stayed in was clean and adequate, although the the shower come toilet was small.the service was excellent,also the maid service as was the barstaff.the entertainment was on two days and was very good a quiz on anothernight and bingo throughout our stayi.the manageress wass very bubbly as was the bingo callerwith a good sense of humour the only thing is ifyou have problems with stairs ask for a ground floor room as some stairs are qite steep .food was good not a massive choice ,but overall i thought the hotel was good value for moneyand would not mind returning. but on a low floor with a bathOV we travelled with travelstyle who providedgood drivers with a varied trips out. met some lovely people terry x gail

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamTcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My wife and I with two of our friends have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel and have had a wonderful time. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable, and both rooms had full en-suite facilities, tea-making facilities and TVs.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food was well cooked and plentiful.

The evening entertainment on the three nights we were there was of a very high quality and thoroughly enjoyable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others without any hesitation, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted41blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#32 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#30 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#21 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#26 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Property: Medehamstede Hotel
Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing