We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily stay here again”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would happily stay here again”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very clean! Excellent and quiet location close to Shanklin beach. So happy we stayed here rather than a smaller hotel. Comfy beds, nice and easy check-in. The rooms were average size, nice flatscreen tv with freeview. Pleasant dining area, overall a good value holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    37
    41
    101
See reviews for
44
84
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waltham cross
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

having just returned from this hotel i would advise anybody who is not an athlete not to visit as there are 148 steps in this hotel 14 0f which are just to get inside. the rooms are small (room7) had a wardrobe you cant use because the doors bang into the bed. a tv that had 2 channels working, no hot water (managers reply it came from a long way away)! the bath
room small with a light that went off at will. no handle on the inside of bathroom door to shut it.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skegness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Room 32 small dirty, smelly, shower dangerous as more water leaked from the shower connection to the heater than came out of the rose. Nowhere to put soap or flannel in the cubicle, showerfloor dirty. Toiletcistern did overflow twice in the middle of the night and had to be mopped up by ourselves, it would have flooded the hotel had the filling of the cistern not been so extremely noisy.
The poky bedroom also included a washbasin sadly not hot enough water for a shave, both windows were dripping with condensation, and the frames were black with mould. The skirtingboards were thick with dust, the carpet dirty, and from the ceiling were long cobwebs swaying in the breeze. The boiler was off on our last day and night, making an unpleasant experience even worse, as we piled our coats on the bed to keep warm!!
The owners were not concerned despite our complaints.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My daughter and I shared a room for 'Disabled' people!!! The room itself was ok....the bed was very comfortable, sheets and towels clean. The walls need A LOT of attention, room smelt musty and as for the bathroom. Thank goodness we were only staying a few days. I am disabled and battled to get into and out of the shower - supposed to be for disabled people. NO WAY!!! and on top of that - the drain couldn't cope with the water in the shower - you end up standing in about 2 inches of dirty water! It was horrible.

To get to the Dining room I had to go outside and walk around the hotel to the Dining room (sometimes in the rain!!!) and wait for someone to open one of the Doors. Oh - and there's a big step down to the Dining room from outside too. There is NO WAY a wheelchair could manage in this hotel. The food was very good.....and the staff very helpful.

On arrival there was no one to help with the suitcases, so the kind gentlemen of the coach we were on - very kindly helped those of us who couldn't manage. Oh and there's LOADS of steps up to the hotel. I waited and was let in round the back entrance - my oh my!!! Really untidy and the paving is all cracked and broken - SO DANGEROUS.

No swimming pool as shown in adverts. The place is REALLY RUN DOWN and needs a lot of time and money spent on it. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ampleandcuddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The hotel is certainly in one of the best locations in Shanklin. Only a short walk to the beach.Staff were very friendly and welcoming on arival and food served was nice, although we were there only a short while I really enjoyed our stay. Stayed as part of a coach tour in October, would defiantely return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

On arrival we were faced with steep steps to the front entrance which for many of our party proved to be difficult. The staff were friendly, beds comfortable and clean as were the towells. Basically that was all that was good about the place. The decor was in serious need of an up-date, bedroom smelt musty and the noise transfer from the room above was very loud. The full English breakfast was the best food served there. All of the dinners were pretty tastless and there were no sauces e.g. tartare sauce or vinegar for the (frozen) fish portion, mustard or horseradish for the beef. The food was cleanly cooked and edible but bland.
We will not go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

How they managed 2 stars I do not know!

After climbing the front steps, I was greated by a front door that got stuck as I was trying to open it, giving the strong odour of a curry house time to seep out of the door and greet me. The unwelcoming receptionist handed over a battered room key and we climbed up the narrow stairs to our room.

The room initially looked clean with the very flattened out bed sheets and folded towels. However, on closer inspection I was very wrong. After paying extra for a sea view I expected to be able to see the sea without having to look through a film of dirt and hand prints on the glass.

After droping something on the floor I made the mistake of moving the bed to retreive it, this is when I found someone else's dirty pyjama bottoms, some sunflower seeds and peanuts, all mixed up in a ball of dust. The edge of the skirting board was thick with dust and the outline of the bedside cabnet could clearly be seen. Old sweets and wrappers were in one of the drawers.

The valance on the double bed was filthy and stained.

The bathroom (or should I say cupboard) was full of dust, mould and mildew, which they had tried to hide with a packet of toilet rolls. My knees were almost against the opposit wall whilst I was on the loo!

Light bulbs were missing.

The room key fits the room, front door, and also other rooms, what a great safety feature!

Our complaints went unheard, and little care was shown when we brought the dirty clothes to the attention of the management.

I checked out early and went eleswhere. This hotel is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tools25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 29 Hope Road | Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing