We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found it better than most of the reviews”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“found it better than most of the reviews”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

arrived expecting the worst but found the hotel to be good value for money. ok yes it cud do with a make over but found the room adequate clean and comftable. the staff were helpful n although I read people saying the food was poor I thought it was fine. it was in a nice position to with a sea view (room 15) downside would be for people that found steps a problem as there was no lift !! finaly it wasn't the ritz but for the cost of the trip it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: had a room overlooking the sea. room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter and angel... h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    37
    41
    101
See reviews for
44
84
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we went on a coach trip to the isle of wight with "just go holidays" and the Mayfair hotel was where we was staying, well like everyone else I read the reviews of the hotel and though let me make my own mind up, well when we got there the driver went in and said that he would see if there was someone that could help with the cases( which didn't matter to us) but there were plenty OAP on the trip, the driver came back and said that there was no one to help with the cases, he said the owner wants everyone to come in the lounge to collect their room keys, the OAP's really struggled to get the cases up the 18 or so steps, and when we got into the lounge the owner gave out keys and the poor OAP's where put on floors where they had to take at least 3 flights of stairs as there was no lift. the dining room was down 2 flights of stairs there was no offer of help for the OAP's which we thought was disgusting. the evening meal on the first night was either chicken with vegetables or a choice of salads with Tuna Cheese or Ham and that was it the 2nd night evening meal was fried fish and again the salads,3rd night was beef or the salads. there was no smiling or eye contacts from the owners and there was this one waitress who was very stern and unapproachable, forgot to mention that the desserts was not much good cheese or biscuits which was 2 crackers I slice of cheese cut in half and 3 wrinkly grapes or ice-cream or what they called gateaux... the room well that was reasonable (Room 20 )but the first night the dog barked all night no sea view the pipe system was out of the ark it rattled and banged the bath water would not drain away, the toilet needed a good cleaning the best part about it was its a stones throw from the beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has views to die for, the Bar/ lounge & Breakfast Room are Ok , but that's it!
Our Room was very low standard, with antiquated Shower room, stained Carpets & in need of complete refurbishment. ( we had to run the Hot water Tap for 10 minutes only to get Lukewarm)
The proprietor & his Wife are very pleasant, but the place needs a cash injection as it could be fantastic with the position it is in.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went there quite a while ago with friends - this was the budget choice we had. The location is amazing and it just take about 5 min to get to the coast. The room and facilities are extremely old but usable. Shower had som problems and staff were called to resolve it. Breakfast was the average B&B type, well, you could imagine. The bars were closed (apparently already for quite a while). Staff are helpful. This would be a choice if no cheaper equivalents could be found.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-crimson-cosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If this was the only hotel with vacancies on the Isle of Wight it would be preferable to sleep rough. Probably less noisy! Room No 1 was the accommodation from hell. Situated immediately next to the dining room and directly under the bar/entertainment room - you were woken at 7am by other guests chatting, shouting and laughing while waiting to go in for breakfast. Then, joy of joys at the end of a busy day when you wanted to get some rest, you were kept awake with the awful noise from upstairs until after midnight.
Add to that the miserable, unfriendly and unhelpful staff and you have the ultimate awful holiday.
The meagre meals were tasteless, cheap quality, nasty and always cold.
Go anywhere but this dreadful hotel !

Room Tip: If you absolutely HAVE to stay here don't accept Room No. 1. You have been warned!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

owners very friendly a bit worried about what we were going to expect from the room but it was clean and the bed linen was spotless and the view was lovely.overall the hotel is in need of some tender loving care.outside there was no garden to speak of just a yard.its a shame as the location is good and with a little attention to detail this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean-ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked this hotel as it allowed dogs (although we were only informed at check in that the dog - a tiny Pomeranian puppy - would be an extra £20!). I agree with all reviews below that the electrics looked dodgy at best. The noise level from other rooms made it quite hard to get a decent sleep. Breakfast was OK - just.

The only real positives from this place was the amazing cliff top views over the Shanklin seafront (although there are plenty of other hotels nearby with the same view) and the young lad in reception. He was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, make sure you get a seaview room. What's the point otherwise? That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#45 of 52 in Shanklin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#9 of 52 in Shanklin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 29 Hope Road | Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing