We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming cafe setting in heart of Shanklin village”
Review of Vernon Cottage

Vernon Cottage
Ranked #9 of 77 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Beautiful thatched Restaurant, Tearoom & Tavern, Gift Shop and Shanklin Tourist Information with lovely sunny Tea & Beer gardens next to Old Shanklin Village car park
Reviewed 5 October 2023 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here during exploration of Shanklin and Sandown. Good range of lunch options and very friendly helpful staff that were happy to find time to chat with customers when not busy with orders

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

We stopped at Shanklin at coffee time, parking our car we saw the garden entrance of Vernon Cottage. The garden was so pretty, we chose to sit inside with a nice view over the outside gardens. The coffee was great quality with two complimentary biscuits, very reasonably priced and customer service was excellent. Their toilets were spotless, so 10/10 for Vernon Cottage, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank LeahK477
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

We are annual visitors to Vernon's cottage and this year's visit was as good as any that preceded it. Good quality tea/coffee and cakes in a lovely sheltered garden. Friendly and accommodating staff were the icing on the cake. See you next year!!!

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DRSH_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023

This is the most beautiful spot for afternoon tea. The cottage is idyllic and the decor is gorgeous. I had a tasty homemade scone with cream, jam and strawberries and my 2 girls each had a slice of delicious chocolate cake. A perfect end to our week in the Isle of Wight.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anonymous022402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Absolutely Fab Cream Tea, friendly staff, quirky Olde Cottage with nice garden.
Homemade scones in shape of IOW!
We were there late afternoon, so they popped on an extra scone too!

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L4575IXjaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Vernon Cottage also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Vernon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.