We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food not a problem”
Review of Hayes Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayes Barton
Ranked #11 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were received with so much warmth from Chris and Joan. Nothing was too much trouble, from lending maps to making a welcoming cup of tea. I am a vegan but my husband is not. I was given everything vegan without having to ask, I had mentioned my diet on the telephone when booking. Other couples we spoke to were returning guests who all said it was the delicious food which brought them back. To anyone who has dietary needs whether for the benefit of animals or health reasons or just enjoys excellent home cooked food this is the place to go. The bed was really comfortable and the whole place warm and clean. Thankyou Joan and Chris for such a lovely enjoyable stay on what must have been the coldest time the Isle of Wight has had in years. Snow and a strong easterly wind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were recommended by friends to stay at Hayes Barton after we mentioned that we were thinking of having a short break on the Isle of Wight. Staying at Hayes Barton was the best decision that we could have made. We could not fault the hospitality, the cleanliness and above all, the breakfasts and evening meals. Joan and Chris did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and we felt spoilt the whole time that we were there. Thankyou both, Joan and Chris, for all your kindness. You certainly are the best!! P.S.We will miss Katie dog as well!!
Malcolm and Thelma

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Chris, Joan and Katie welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home. Our room was large and very comfortable with every facility - even a dinner mat for Harry (our dog!). Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Their personal knowledge of the Island's attractions was invaluable. Special mention must be made of Joan's fabulous cooking - all meals were 5*. Despite the rain - and there was plenty - our stay in Shanklin was perfect in Hayes Barton.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Home from home place to stay, clean and comfortable lovely hotel with lovely friendly hosts Joan, Chris and Katie the dog, in an ideal location to explore Shanklin Old Village. Lots of good places to eat, all a short walk away.
Will definitely be going back there ... Excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caitlin020508, Owner at Hayes Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

We were delighted that Gerry and Anna enjoyed their stay with us as we only had a small double room left to offer them. However, they told us they were comfortable, the room was extremely clean and the prospect of meeting Katie, our lab x, was a definite pulling point! It will be a pleasure to welcome them back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Joan and Chris have provided us a lovely short break. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Joan, Chris and Jean are all really nice people and are really friendly and genuine. The food is fantastic too. We all had a great time and would definitely recommend to a friend. Really good value too. A+ all round

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My Wife and I, and our dog Jake, decided to take my Mother for a short break to the Isle of White, and not having any stayed at any Hotels on the Island before we took a chance on a add we saw in the Sunday papers. After looking at the other offers It was the Hayes Barton we decided on, the price which included the ferry crossing was very reasonable. We arrived early afternoon and received a very warm welcome from Chris who showed to to our room which was very clean and comfortable. We later met Joan who again gave us a very warm welcome. The meals that were served to us were of a very high standard, and plenty of if.Nothing was to much trouble to this lovely couple to make our stay as pleasant as possible. When we return to the Island, it will be to Chris and Joan we will stay with, nothing was to much trouble. Thank You.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Look no further, there isn't anywhere better. Chris & Joan make you feel like one of the family. In a quiet location within walking distance of the village. Very high standard of cleanliness and the every meal was a delight, especially as Joan understands the requirements of a coeliac diet. Nothing is too much trouble, their aim is to make your stay as pleasurable as possible & they succeed in doing so.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No.1 which is in the front and lovely and bright. It is located by the fire door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caitlin020508, Owner at Hayes Barton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dave and Carol came to us on recommendation which is a great compliment and we were delighted that the lady who told them about us also felt confident in our ability to cater to their special dietary requirements. As all our meals are home made we can easily look after any guest with allergies but have found that Coeliac guests in particular want to be confident that you are aware of the dangers of cross contamination and we are scrupulous in everything we do in the kitchen not to compromise this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#22 of 51 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Barton

Address: 7 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £57 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayes Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true home from home in a quiet area in Shanklin. Close to a local park with a childrens' play area and grass and woodland walks to take your dog. We offer Bed and Breakfast and Half Board (both inclusive of car ferry) options. We have an AA Dining Award which is given in recognition of a very special, high quality dinner, with emphasis on freshly prepared local ingredients. We have a variety of bedroom options from standard double bedroom to bedrooms with superking size beds and family suites each comprising two bedrooms with an interconnecting door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hayes Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Barton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing