We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hayes Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayes Barton
Ranked #11 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have just returned from Hayes Barton which we booked after looking at their reviews. it was just as good as all the positive reviews if not better. Very clean and nice rooms and the meals that Joan serves are first class.We would recommend this hotel to dog owners as well as non doggies!
Give it a try you won't regret it.
" WE WILL BE BACK "

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just returned from a break with Chris and Joan at Hayes Barton and they were very welcoming and helpful. Lovely friendly people and fantastic food, taking all the worry away from having the difficulty of fdinding somewhere to eat that would do gluten free food.
It was all such a treat.
The hotel was lovely and comfy.

Michael and Rosemary

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Since one of us was diagnosed with coeliac disease, we have had quite a problem finding appropriate accommmodation where we could eat without worries. We have just returned from a four night break with Chris and Joan at Hayes Barton. What a lovely weekend it was - great home cooked food, very comfortable, clean and warm accommodation and Joan and Chris welcomed us as though we were family. A great tea and biscuits on arrival and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We would thoroughly recommend a stay and if you require a gluten free diet, this is the perfect place to holiday with no worries about dining. Thank you very much Joan and Chris.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently. We selected it because of the highly rated reviews and the fact that it was dog friendly. We were not disappointed. Joan and Chris are very lovely kind people and put themselves out for their guests. Joan's home cooked dishes are fantastic. Our doggie was welcomed and it was a lovely break marred only by the weather which was pretty cold windy and wet. The hotel and bedrooms are spotless. A lot of guests come back time and time again which says it all really.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey in Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were received with so much warmth from Chris and Joan. Nothing was too much trouble, from lending maps to making a welcoming cup of tea. I am a vegan but my husband is not. I was given everything vegan without having to ask, I had mentioned my diet on the telephone when booking. Other couples we spoke to were returning guests who all said it was the delicious food which brought them back. To anyone who has dietary needs whether for the benefit of animals or health reasons or just enjoys excellent home cooked food this is the place to go. The bed was really comfortable and the whole place warm and clean. Thankyou Joan and Chris for such a lovely enjoyable stay on what must have been the coldest time the Isle of Wight has had in years. Snow and a strong easterly wind.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were recommended by friends to stay at Hayes Barton after we mentioned that we were thinking of having a short break on the Isle of Wight. Staying at Hayes Barton was the best decision that we could have made. We could not fault the hospitality, the cleanliness and above all, the breakfasts and evening meals. Joan and Chris did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and we felt spoilt the whole time that we were there. Thankyou both, Joan and Chris, for all your kindness. You certainly are the best!! P.S.We will miss Katie dog as well!!
Malcolm and Thelma

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Chris, Joan and Katie welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home. Our room was large and very comfortable with every facility - even a dinner mat for Harry (our dog!). Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Their personal knowledge of the Island's attractions was invaluable. Special mention must be made of Joan's fabulous cooking - all meals were 5*. Despite the rain - and there was plenty - our stay in Shanklin was perfect in Hayes Barton.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Barton

Property: Hayes Barton
Address: 7 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayes Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true home from home in a quiet area in Shanklin. Close to a local park with a childrens' play area and grass and woodland walks to take your dog. We offer Bed and Breakfast and Half Board (both inclusive of car ferry) options. We have an AA Dining Award which is given in recognition of a very special, high quality dinner, with emphasis on freshly prepared local ingredients. We have a variety of bedroom options from standard double bedroom to bedrooms with superking size beds and family suites each comprising two bedrooms with an interconnecting door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hayes Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Barton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing