We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hayes Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hayes Barton
Ranked #12 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A Warm Welcoming, Child Friendly, Family Eating, Super Cooking, Dog Loving, Good Staffing, Super Cleaning Hotel for all the Family. A great place to take you family if you want to go around the Island and have a look around. Super!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Really enjoyed our week here. Room was very comfortable & clean. We were made very welcome & felt really at home. The food was lovely. My husband is Lactose Intolerant and the were very helpful with his diet, he was really impressed with the selection as usually he is limited for choice. If we are back in shanklin this would be our first choice to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Joan and Chris make the Hayes Barton THE place to stay on the Isle of Wight. Their personal service is second to none and nothing is too much trouble, Joan's cooking is excellent - it's very difficult to decide what to have for dinner each night, and Chris makes a mean breakfast! The whole house is spotlessly clean, and the rooms are very comfortable.

We decided to get married while on the Isle of Wight. Joan and Chris made our day so special, we can't thank them enough.

All in all, why would you want to stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I found Hayes Barton in my WI book, we took a chance and booked. It could not have been better, Chris and Joan, and Jean made the stay greatly enjoyable. Joan cooks such delicious dinners it was difficult to make a choice for dinner as everything is so good. Chris and Joan make you welcome and look after you so that you have time to relax and enjoy your holiday. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I have just spent our second holiday at Hayes Barton. Joan and Chris are such a welcoming couple and nothing is too much trouble for them. The whole hotel is spotless and very comfortable. Joan's cooking is of top quality, which makes it very difficult to choose from the menu each day! The service was also excellent. This is definitely THE place to stay in Shanklin, and very likely in the whole Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay. Same warm welcome as ever and nothing is too much trouble. Joan's home cooking is superb and Chris's porridge still Takes some beating.
Spotlessly clean everywhere and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you have special dietary needs, or even if you enjoy good food, then this is the place for you. My husband and I have just returned from spending four nights at the Hayes Barton Guest House which is conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the old town in Shanklin. The accommodation is spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and friendly hosts. We were welcomed with a hot drink which we had whilst relaxing in the beautiful garden. Due to an auto-immune condition I have to avoid several foods including gluten and dairy. I am used to being served plain food, which I accept, knowing that I am difficult to cater for. However, I was in for a treat. Joan is fully aware of the need to avoid cross contamination of foods and each day came up with an amazing menu for me using the list of foods I could eat sent in advance. Each meal was absolutely delicious. I am limited as to what vegetables I can eat but Joan managed to produce a varied selection which was always cooked to perfection. Nothing plain about these meals either and portions were very generous! I have not eaten as well for more than twenty years since first being diagnosed. It was so good to tuck in without being afraid of being ill. I ought to add that my husband’s meals were delicious too and that the breakfasts were equally as good. We certainly hope to go again and wholeheartedly recommend Hayes Barton.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayes Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayes Barton

Property: Hayes Barton
Address: 7 Highfield Road, Shanklin PO37 6PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hayes Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true home from home in a quiet area in Shanklin. Close to a local park with a childrens' play area and grass and woodland walks to take your dog. We offer Bed and Breakfast and Half Board (both inclusive of car ferry) options. We have an AA Dining Award which is given in recognition of a very special, high quality dinner, with emphasis on freshly prepared local ingredients. We have a variety of bedroom options from standard double bedroom to bedrooms with superking size beds and family suites each comprising two bedrooms with an interconnecting door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hayes Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayes Barton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing